We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Instant relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spicers Hidden Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Currumbin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Instant relaxation!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have stayed many many times at Hidden Vale.
The location is fabulous.
The staff are excellent, they simply cannot do enough for their guests!
We stayed in the Red Angus suite and the suites are great, lovely verandahs and just a little bit more privacy than the others.
We always return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    126
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
172
385
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fantastic property. Improve the horse riding and the size of the meals and this place would be excellent in every aspect. The service was amazing. The little cottage we stayed in was delightful. It had gorgeous beds, an upstairs loft and a spa bath. It was extremely well maintained. The view from the pool was spectacular and the animal petting area was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmwoods, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our stay at Spicers Hidden Vale delivered just the standard of luxury and service we've come to expect from this unique hotel chain. The food was exceptional too! There is an intimacy at Spicers retreats that we appreciate, but with superb professionalism. You don't feel like you're going to get charged for every tiny extra thing you need, but that staff are ready and willing to help you in any way they can. Just the way it should be!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joyous R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights with friends.

Maybe not quite the "polish" of the other Spicers properties we've stayed at but very good nonetheless.

Plenty of included activities - archery, skeet shooting, tennis, boules etc.

Restaurant was a highlight - while it's apparent Andrea and Ash are still ironing out some of the wrinkles, the pork belly on the degustation was the best I've had.

Some great staff like Michelle in activities and Camille in yoga & restaurant.

Our room (4) and our friends (5) we're quite pokey and the country decor thinly veiled the need for a good freshen up - which we understand is coming.

Being so close to Brisbane this is a must do for a weekend at least. We will certainly be back - probably 'en famille' in a family room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Peter K

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your weekend away with your friends and were able to experience our wonderful restaurant and many of the outdoor activities that Hidden Vale has to offer.

We are carrying out an ongoing refurbishment programme this year to bring upgrades to our lovely property.

Our property and Team strive continually to provide excellent customer service and we hold regular Team training and feedback sessions.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay in the not too distant future,

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I dropped in to Cotton's restaurant for lunch. We had a great experience.

All of the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

We chose the lighter lunch menu, but you can have something more substantial. My wife had the tempura fish and chips, which was delightful, particularly given that it was not the same old "mostly heavy battered" fish. I chose the beef burger and chips. Good choice. Great sauce, great beef patty, soft (rather than hard toasted) bun. If anything, the chips were a tad crispy. All accompanied by a nice Tahbilk sparkling wine, a Margaret River red, great 2 piece band on the verandah, and the valley views.

Overall, a great getaway lunch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericguy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ericguy19,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch dining experience in Cottons' restaurant. With the jazz on Sundays from 12-4pm lunch is certainly very popular!

Thanks again,

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We would not fault Spicers Hidden Vale overall, but the room we stayed in was "tired" and in need of a revamp. The property is "old style" but modernisation of the bathrooms would not hurt. We do not like the shower in the bath tub with a shower curtain. However pleased we did not know this otherwise we would not have gone to experience this lovely property. Staff fabulous. We enjoyed activities we have never tried. Restaurant and food excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DEMOGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear DEMOGC

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the property activities and experiences available and that you are recommending the Restaurant.

We are fortunate at Hidden Vale to be surrounded by a variety of buildings, all within the Heritage Cottage style with varying interiors styles and designs. When booking, please be sure to enquire as to which room types are available to suit your requirements.

We are currently carrying out an ongoing refurbishing programme throughout the property which we hope to have completed by next year. This is to enhance the already beautiful interiors.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Spicers Hidden Vale in the future,

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in the Red Angus luxury suite. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay including the food, activities and accommodation. The kangaroos grazing outside our room was especially magical. Breakfast was amazing! Staff bring a platter of warm pastries, Bircher and fruit to the table before taking your hot breakfast order. Every meal we had was sublime with all ingredients sourced locally and cooked to perfection. The freshness and quality of produce are highly commendable. We had a lot of fun horse riding with our instructor Michelle who took us for a slow ride for an hour around the scenic property. Our room certainly was a luxury suite with a spa bath, king bed looking over the country side, flat screen tv and mini bar. We loved our experience at Spicers Hiddenvale and look forward to visiting again with our family and friends. I highly recommend Hiddenvale to anyone looking for a luxury getaway and enjoys quality cuisine!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GailChasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear GailChasley,

Many thanks for your wonderful recent review of your stay at Spicers Hidden Vale. It is great to hear that you managed to experience so much of what Hidden Vale has to offer during your stay here.

We have recently upgraded our breakfast offering and it is good to hear you found it so enjoyable.

Cottons' restaurant is certainly a property highlight and I am delighted that you will be recommending your experience to your family and friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the property,

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandchester
14.1 mi away
Woodlands of Marburg
Woodlands of Marburg
#1 of 1 in Marburg
43 reviews
19.2 mi away
Oaks Aspire Apartments
Oaks Aspire Apartments
#4 of 7 in Ipswich
179 reviews
19.0 mi away
Quest Ipswich Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Ipswich International
20.6 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
18.2 mi away
Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Hidden Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Hidden Vale

Property: Spicers Hidden Vale
Address: 617 Grandchester Mt Mort Rd, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Ipswich > Grandchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Grandchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Hidden Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Brisbane set on a stunning 12,000 acre property, Spicers Hidden Vale is a true hidden gem. The retreat is centered around a stunning historic homestead with wide verandas providing views over the little Liverpool Ranges and infinity rock pool. Hatted restaurant Homage is housed inside the homestead where a dedicated team of chefs create masterpieces based entirely on local produce. The original barn is still standing and has been restored, now a place to lounge and relax by the fire, or have beverage or two looking out over the 89 bed market garden. You can set your own pace - for those wanting to relax, there are picnic points, Spa Anise Day Spa, and two beautiful pools with mountain views to relax in. For those wanting a faster pace, there are mountain bike and bush walking trails, 4WD property tours, laser clay and archery. Being a nature refuge, the land is abundant with native wildlife including hundreds of Kangaroos and Wallabies and regular koala sightings. Spicers Hidden Vale has 31 rooms. Choose from Valley View Rooms which overlook the mountains, each with their own private veranda, Heritage suites which stand alone and have their own spa, a cottage for 4, 8 or even 12 guests or for the ultimate experience, Luxury suites which are stand alone, with spacious lounge, spa and private veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Hidden Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Hidden Vale Hotel Grandchester
Peppers Hidden Vale Grandchester
Spicers Hidden Vale Grandchester, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing