We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pretty and welcoming retreat for country-lovers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Hidden Vale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spicers Hidden Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Cabarita Beach NSW Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pretty and welcoming retreat for country-lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

I was given a gift voucher to spend a night at Hidden Vale by a friend of mine, so my husband and I took the opportunity to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. We always enjoy exploring and particularly love visiting the country and quieter, perhaps what some might consider 'a little out of the way' places, although it's surprisingly not that far away. When we stayed, there was only another couple of cabins occupied, so the whole property was virtually ours. Table tennis, a couple of rounds of pool, and watching the sunset as we gazed at the view by the pool deck set us in just the right mood to enjoy a beautiful dinner at the restaurant where we were looked after and made to feel comfortable. I can imagine how beautiful this place would be in winter with the novelty of the fireplaces burning - don't get much opportunity for that on the east coast of Australia. The weather was a bit rainy so put a dampener on the activites we wanted to do, but we'll just have to go back another time!

  • Liked — The location - so peaceful and down to earth
  • Disliked — The wet clay due to the rain! Nothing they could do about the weather for us.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly_2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    122
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
167
367
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

Peppers Hidden Vale is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for somewhere just to relax. Its situated on a working cattle property, so you really feel like you're in the country, even though its only about an hour from Brisbane.

Most of the accomodation is in old timber Queenslander style cottages. Our room had a beautiful high ceiling, with an amazing view out over the nearby countryside.

There is plenty to do here, including horseriding, walking, mountain biking, archery, massages, four wheel drive tours, tennis and swimming. There is also a games room with pool, ping pong and darts. The infitiy pools are pretty stunning.

It really is the perfect place to wind down and take it slow. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinnner.

Make sure you get a room with a view. Its lovely to sit out on the verandahs, where you can see for miles.

The rooms themselves are very good. Not 5 star standard, but not far off, and very comfortable. Our room had a bar fridge, TV (no cable channels), DVD player, iron, bath robes and a big bathroom. The cottage we stayed in also had a communal sitting room with a fireplace, which would be handy in winter.

We went for a horse ride, and there are plenty of kangaroos on the property that stand there and watch you go past.

The only problem we had was with our booking, where the resort messed up the dates and activities twice, but managed to sort out everything before we arrived.

For somewhere that's so close to Brisbane, its the perfect place to escape from all the hustle & bustle for a few days. A fantastic place to stay.

  • Liked — Relaxed feel, horse riding
  • Disliked — Having our booking messed up twice before we arrived
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardofusball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2008

After driving down from Cairns to Brisbane we were looking for at hotel located at the countryside. Since we already had booked at Peppers in Palm Cove, I found Hidden Vale at the website. It looked cozy and as we later found out, that was an understatement. This is definately the ultimate quiet hotel. When stepping out of our room/bungalow in the evening, the silence was deafening! No cars, no people, no planes, nothing.

The view is breathtaking, almost unreal. After an tasty breakfast I went for a horseback ride for a couple of hours with other guests. We got a good look at the local surroundings and our guide was very pleasant. Later in the evening we had an excellent dinner and a chat with the manager in the livingroom.

Next time we go to Australia, staying at Peppers Hidden Vale is a must. We were sad to leave this beautiful place on earth and miss it, still now 8 monts later! We have not felt such a 'belonging' to any of the other hotels we have stayed at during our trips the last 5 years.

Special thanks to Simon and Joanna: great and professional staff! Keep my horse ready, we are coming back!

Tom & Synne, Norway

  • Liked — Surroundings, staff!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pims2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2008

Middle of nowhere by US standards.
Property manicured brilliantly. Location is beautiful, calm, elegant and magnificent. Infrasture well maintained, clean, modern, efficient and excellent. Restaraunt was good, efficient and went out of our way to accommodate us.
This is place you just have to see and stay to appreciate, their brochure DOES NOT DO JUSTICE. One of those rare occasions where what you get actually beats the brochure.
Staff friendly, efficient, courteous, and helpful.
You run out of adjectives describing this place. Trust me, it's good.
Drive from Brisbane to Ipswich to Amberley to Rosewood to Grandchester to Hidden Vale. Its in the middle of nowhere, but not impossibly so. The area is trying to break from their seven year drought so was brilliantly green with fresh vegetation. View spectacular from the top of the knoll where they sit.
The buildings and lodgings were spectacularly maintained and their furniture very comfortable. I have not had a better night of sleep away from home than this place. It is incredibly quiet. The place is Montana quiet if not more so. No planes, cars, trains, people, anything. The sound the place makes is natural... parakeets (which I guess were loud sometimes), some mooing and insects. The view from this place is breathtaking. Stars at night were spectacular. Learn your southern star charts, you will enjoy it even more. (For those from equatorially north like me).
The cabin was nicely furnished and extremely deluxe.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Cannot visit more often.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QZOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2007

Peppers Hiddenvale is divine.....my only complaint is the expensive restaurant !!..We ventured out to Forest Hill ??..past Laidley about 20 minutes and had the best cafe lunch ever at the post office coffee shop .It was so god we got them to bundle up some take away and had dinner back at the resort !!
I am a flight attendant and have stayed many places , but this resort is truly gorgeous .....go for the cheaper cottage rooms ....stunning views ....its purely to laze around and swim in the great infinity pool .We
Would like to get married there , ???If anyone has done it could you pls email us your thoughts .....am a little scared of the expense and restrictions on where you can actually have your wedding on the property ..
Thanks and enjoy.

  • Liked — stunning location
  • Disliked — the male receptionist was a little unhelpful when we tried to organize a possible wedding there
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank karenmurray747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
243 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2007

Stayed here for 3 days - and did find it to be a nice place - but given the distance to other alternatives the kitchen / menu needs some work: Either improve the selection and quality significantly - or change the theme from an attempt to do finer cooking and instead focus on country cooking, using the raw materials available here.

Otherwise, OK activities - but the location is a bit far out. I would consider going here again if I where from the area and wanted a quick get-away - but for out of towners / out of country visitors I would go elsewhere.

  • Liked — Activities
  • Disliked — Kitchen
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THN_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2005

Really loved this little place. decor is a little country/granny but otherwise a great spot. There's only 30 rooms across different cabins so I cant imagine it feeling crowded, although we were there on a sunday night and in our cabin, where there would normally be 4 hotel rooms full, we had to ourselves.

Rooms quite small but lovely and large balcony overlooking the countryside is fantastic. There was also a shared lounge area with an open fire place in our cabin. It was too warm to light a fire but good spot to sit with a book and relax.

Food & service lovely, if not totally 5 star, and pool is just gorgeou - falling away over a hillside. Even got in a hit of tennis!

For the package we had (A$350 meals & accom) this was an excellent value romantic escape and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbGal1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandchester
19.0 mi away
Quest Ipswich Serviced Apartments
19.2 mi away
Oaks Aspire Apartments
Oaks Aspire Apartments
#5 of 7 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
19.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Ipswich International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
11.1 mi away
Hatton Vale Motel
Hatton Vale Motel
#1 of 1 in Laidley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
18.3 mi away
Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Hidden Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Hidden Vale

Property: Spicers Hidden Vale
Address: 617 Grandchester Mt Mort Rd, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Ipswich > Grandchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Grandchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Hidden Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Brisbane set on a stunning 12,000 acre property, Spicers Hidden Vale is a true hidden gem. The retreat is centered around a stunning historic homestead with wide verandas providing views over the little Liverpool Ranges and infinity rock pool. Hatted restaurant Homage is housed inside the homestead where a dedicated team of chefs create masterpieces based entirely on local produce. The original barn is still standing and has been restored, now a place to lounge and relax by the fire, or have beverage or two looking out over the 89 bed market garden. You can set your own pace - for those wanting to relax, there are picnic points, Spa Anise Day Spa, and two beautiful pools with mountain views to relax in. For those wanting a faster pace, there are mountain bike and bush walking trails, 4WD property tours, laser clay and archery. Being a nature refuge, the land is abundant with native wildlife including hundreds of Kangaroos and Wallabies and regular koala sightings. Spicers Hidden Vale has 31 rooms. Choose from Valley View Rooms which overlook the mountains, each with their own private veranda, Heritage suites which stand alone and have their own spa, a cottage for 4, 8 or even 12 guests or for the ultimate experience, Luxury suites which are stand alone, with spacious lounge, spa and private veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spicers Hidden Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Hidden Vale Hotel Grandchester
Peppers Hidden Vale Grandchester
Spicers Hidden Vale Grandchester, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing