We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish country retreat with amazing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spicers Hidden Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stylish country retreat with amazing food”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the kind of place you can either relax and enjoy some romance or go for an action and adventure stay or do both. My wife and I did the latter. We started with Champagne on the deck at sunset before an amazing dinner at Cottons Restaurant which could more then hold its own against the best restaurants in Brisbane. It was a big surprise for a 'country restaurant'. We would come back for the dining alone. This was followed with coffee and star gazing, being far enough away from the city to see the Milky Way. Next day was action day with another fantastic breakfast (don't miss the house made crumpets with honey) followed by archery and clay target shooting, a visit to the animal nursery then morning tea. We did the 4WD tour later in the day that takes you around the property. It was okay but if we had bought the right clothes with us we would have done the mountain biking instead. The property is a favorite for hardcore mountain bikers with some amazing trails but there are easy ones too and the scenery is stunning. Biggest tip would be bring a hearty appetite and get into the activities as they are loads of fun.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Liverpool ranges
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-TEMPLEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    123
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
168
374
5
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hemmant
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A great location / facility for outdoor adventure activities away from the city life.
There are a wide range of activities to do with a range to suit all types of fitness levels. Catering for the hard core fitness junkies right down to the "I just want to relax" level.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gowrie Junction
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent 2 nights in a heritage suite which was lovely. Open fire and very large spa bath with a beautiful view over the Liverpool ranges. The staff were very professional and helpful and the activities were varied and enjoyable! Definitely worth going!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in room 8 'Charolais' heritage suite. Spicers Hiddenvale had something for both of us... Mountain bike trails and great food for the hubby and a fireplace, spa bath and treatments at the day spa for me (although I thoroughly enjoyed the food and walking along some of the trails too!). We chose the room for the fireplace and bath and because it was not as pricey as the luxury suites. I'm pleased we ended up booking the heritage suit as it really suited the 'country stay' theme. We couldn't fault the service, from restaurant staff to groundsmen to spa therapist, they were all so friendly, helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay special, hassle-free and very comfortable. Well done Soicers Hiddenvale! I didn't want to leave and we're looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraCham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A great weekend away with luxury galore. Worth spending extra for excellent food and service. A beautiful location with plenty of relaxation and adventure combined. A 1hour drive from Brisbane and feels like you're in the middle of Australia.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Less than 2 hours drive from Brisbane is a hidden gem called Hidden Vale, a wonderful spa resort with old-world charm and hospitality but here's the twist - a sensational series of trails surrounds the property established for the mountain bike adventurer or trail blazing horse rider. We were there for a mtb product launch and I couldn't think of a better spot in Oz for such an event. If you haven't been, what are you waiting for?

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank iksl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I love Spicers, we feel part of the Spicers family, and they always treat us special.Food is the best along with the bar selection. We enjoy the country charm, with the executive feel. Place to go and unwind.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank explorer4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandchester
14.1 mi away
Woodlands of Marburg
Woodlands of Marburg
#1 of 1 in Marburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
19.0 mi away
Quest Ipswich Serviced Apartments
19.2 mi away
Oaks Aspire Apartments
Oaks Aspire Apartments
#5 of 7 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Ipswich Country Motel
Ipswich Country Motel
#1 of 1 in Raceview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
11.2 mi away
Hatton Vale Motel
Hatton Vale Motel
#1 of 1 in Laidley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Hidden Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Hidden Vale

Property: Spicers Hidden Vale
Address: 617 Grandchester Mt Mort Rd, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Ipswich > Grandchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Grandchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Hidden Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Brisbane set on a stunning 12,000 acre property, Spicers Hidden Vale is a true hidden gem. The retreat is centered around a stunning historic homestead with wide verandas providing views over the little Liverpool Ranges and infinity rock pool. Hatted restaurant Homage is housed inside the homestead where a dedicated team of chefs create masterpieces based entirely on local produce. The original barn is still standing and has been restored, now a place to lounge and relax by the fire, or have beverage or two looking out over the 89 bed market garden. You can set your own pace - for those wanting to relax, there are picnic points, Spa Anise Day Spa, and two beautiful pools with mountain views to relax in. For those wanting a faster pace, there are mountain bike and bush walking trails, 4WD property tours, laser clay and archery. Being a nature refuge, the land is abundant with native wildlife including hundreds of Kangaroos and Wallabies and regular koala sightings. Spicers Hidden Vale has 31 rooms. Choose from Valley View Rooms which overlook the mountains, each with their own private veranda, Heritage suites which stand alone and have their own spa, a cottage for 4, 8 or even 12 guests or for the ultimate experience, Luxury suites which are stand alone, with spacious lounge, spa and private veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Hidden Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Hidden Vale Hotel Grandchester
Peppers Hidden Vale Grandchester
Spicers Hidden Vale Grandchester, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing