We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living Social Package”
Review of Tanglewood Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanglewood Gardens
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife & I went for a 2 night mid week package that included breakfast and dinner. Ann, the owner, was very attentive and went to a lot of trouble to supply food suitable for my wife who is on a gluten free diet. I found the bed comfortable, my wife found it a bit hard. The cabin was in the rainforest and quite private and pleasant, although it was showing a few signs of age and needed some minor maintenance.
Overall a pleasant break away form home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isobel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had a very memorable weekend at Tanglewood Gardens for my Mums 80th birthday. We found the accommodation to be clean, quiet, comfortable, roomy & had everything we needed. The conference room was a great setting for our family celebration & it was great just to be able to stroll back to our rooms after & not worrying about drink driving etc. The pool & spa is lovely as are the gardens. Treat yourself!!!!! You'll love it!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneETakubarPNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Cabins in a rainforest setting, idon't think so, more like shacks in the scrub. booked a room for 6 and got squashed into a cabin meant for four. cobwebs, mould, loo made a hell of a noise through the night, dead insects in the kitchen, bookshelf full of water, no water preasure at all, screen door fell off when entering, the kids playground is a nightmare, rusty hoop bolted to a tree for basketball, swing set nearly fell over when trying to push, bbq area absolutely disgusting, chairs should go to the tip. Would not ever go back. It was probably beautiful in its heyday, but should not be in business now...

Room Tip: maybe a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanglewoodgardens, Owner at Tanglewood Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Can’t believe you say this is the BBQ area, you did stay here and you DID have your own Gas BBQ area and outdoor table and chairs!!
So did all cabins, units have as you can see on the photo’s attach did you have it or NOT?
As you can see I advertise on my web site this 2x bedroom unit’s you stayed in is for up to 6x people
It shows 1x Queen bed,2x Single Beds,(Double sofa in Lounge for small kids 2x )
Please next time when you book a place to stay make sure about the beading configurations!!
The dead Spider, our place is in a Rainforest so after we cleaned cabins, units the cleaner sprayed if for insects before customers arrive.
How water get on the book shelf?
If cabins or units showering at once some will lose pressure, we use pressure pumps for water to go from one to another.
The toilet, fly screen if no one tells me about a problem we can’t fix it because I don’t know about the problem!!!
In your case I have to read it on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Went to celebrate 10th wedding anniversary.Had beautiful wedding and honeymoon there.What a major dissapointment!Owners are rude and dont care! Honeymoon suite should be the divorce suite!Damp, leaking loo onto floor,no ventilation,giant slugs in room,out of date tea coffee and milk,gardens are a jungle.left early before we were sick!Check out 1pm. no way we were gone at 7.30am.What a shame it has been left to deteriorate.Owners away for the weekend and useless caretakers were like dealing with dumb and dumber.Just yuk! We complained and tried to get a different room.No joy.And no customer service.Would like a part refund but they just hang up on us!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanglewoodgardens, Owner at Tanglewood Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

You said you won’t let your dog stay here
Well I’d Rather let a dog stay here!!
Why didn’t you booked out immediately,
We would have happily refunded you 100%
We booked out that weekend if you booked out immediately
I could rent out this place to some-one ells.
After you spend your one night here, you
leaf all your dirty dishes in the sink and towels all over the floor
Drink the champagne, stay the night and want a refund sorry that’s not Right.
You say the Gardens are a Jungle?
No its a Rainforest where slugs and leeches love to live!!
It was a very, very wet weekend as you know.
The toilet was not leaking, water must come out of the hand basin
when used. Sorry that there was a “Few” milk, coffee out of date
I will keep an eye on that.
Check out time is 10:00am not 1:00pm
You say I’m rude because I don’t want to refund you after your stay,
But I think you are very, very Rude to call someone dumb & dumber
Not even know the people and call them that!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were looking for somewhere inexpensive around Montville to stay and came across Tanglewood Gardens online..

After looking on trip advisor we were initially hesitant to stay but thought we would give the accommodation a chance..

What we found was wonderful accommodation with a great layout.. the rooms are simple but most have a fireplace, kitchen and full facilities.. the rainforest cabins are awya from each other and set amongst trees and winding paths..

Granted there are some small defects like minor discolouration on top of the bathroom mirrors but these can generally be expected in a rainforest stay..

very impressed.. will definately stay again..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeannyM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

TERRIBLE- thats all i can say,smelt like OFF MOULD,hundreds of bugs dead on floor,sticky mess on chairs and in sinks,non functionable smoke alarms,2 coffee satchets,6 milks-work that one out,biscuits on poorly folded towels,towel on floor for door mat and guess what this was THIS WAS THE HONEYMOON SUITE,JUST GLAD IT WAS'NT ACTUALLY MY HONEYMOON, my partner said "it was like a dungeon"$200 dollars a night i was ripped off !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: HIGHLY RECOMEND DO NOT STAY HERE!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank couplebrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanglewoodgardens, Owner at Tanglewood Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Of course you’ll get bugs at night if you leave the lights on and doors open
We live in a Forest !!
The chairs you say is stink I can show you when you stayed here when I bought it, it’s still new chairs?
Battery out, people before you must taken it out while cooking.
Extra towel on floor because of wet weather to wipe your feet!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly woman who offered us lawn bowls to play on the bowling green. She also suggested we take a swim and make use of their outdoor facilities.
The pool was not hygenic looking, and the spa looked like something out of a horror movie with built in metal chairs which looked much like torture devices.
The Bowling green had clearly not been maintained for at least 20 years, possibly 30, although we did get a laugh out of playing, - sometimes all you can do is laugh, especially when aiming your balls at the dead cane toads.
The other outdoor facilities consisted of a trampoline filled with months worth of sticks, leaves and insects, some broken & dirty furniture.
The room was OK, very dated, not the freshest of smells but it was usable and the sheets and towels were clean.
The grounds are in DIRE need of maintenance. The owners could make this place something special but clearly just aren't trying at all.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bada81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanglewoodgardens, Owner at Tanglewood Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

The Spa looks for you like ( Torture devices) The metal chairs in there is for the disable people!!
The bowls, pool was dirty because the we had a lot of “RAIN” and washed the dirt down onto it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mapleton
2.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
459 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mapleton Cabins & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
BIG4 Forest Glen Holiday Resort
5.7 mi away
Rainforest Holiday Village
0.2 mi away
Eden Lodge B&B
Eden Lodge B&B
#1 of 3 in Mapleton
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglewood Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Gardens

Address: 136-146 Flaxton Dr, Mapleton, Queensland 4560, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mapleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mapleton
Price Range: £58 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanglewood Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanglewood Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing