We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bestbrook Maryvale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Bestbrook Maryvale”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

On arrival at Bestbrook I immediately noted how exceptionally informed the other parents that were at the camp ground were. "that is a cute cow, what a strong horse, and a healthy duck". Not dissimilar to the affection shown by the staff who affectionally named the cattle "Cheese Burger and Big Mac". The kids wandered the grounds in gumboots and thongs, getting dirty and playing in the creek and with the cattle, while the parents seemed to prefer to keep wearing their RM Williams or latest running shoes and tap away at the blackberries, using the free WIFI at the cafe, bar and restaurant. While the Kids were not using their iPods , many a parent remained on their iPads googling the cost of the parent lead horse rides, the hour long horse trek, the damper making and cattle feeding, guide walks around the mountains etc - many of which were free . Amongst the Jeeps and Pajeros and Hiluxs was our modest Mitsubishi Outlander - while there were some more adventurous 4 WD tracks the roads were in great conditions so a standard city car had no problems negotiating the terrain. We came for 2 days and stayed for 4. Enjoying the peace and tranquility. On one occasion I thought the serenity had been compromised by an influx of Utes with Dirt Bikes with cartons of beer stacked around their young ones, however the size of the property meant that we were able to relax and read our books and climb the mountain without being interrupted by the louder campers.
We used an unpowered site for our modest 5 man tent. A wander of the grounds showed that there were ample sites for pop up tents, caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents with compartments for everything, and tents that sit on the roof of the car ??. With the assistance of the staff, the kids fed the goats and cows and chickens, while the parents wikipedia searched the information the staff provided on the types of cattle and feeding habits.
At night the sky was peaceful, except one night when there was a school camp in attendance and then the sky looked like a battle of light sabres. Apparently it is all about the Lumes and LEDs. Families scavenged the mountain for camp fire wood, scavengers were shown up by axe wielding youths who took the fallen branches with gusto, they only gave way to the chainsaw wielding characters ( the same that had the beer and dirt bikes). But there was a strong sense of community, extra cuts of wood were given to those of us that were less prepared. At night the camp fires were spotted along the creek line, this is another test of manhood, not only starting a fire, but making it combust half a forest an hour. Our site was much more modest, enough to toast some marshmallows, bring the billy to boil and warm us as we sat under the stars.
We will most certainly go again, in fact we started to plan our next visit by marking on a map the next camping spot within the extensive property. By the time we left - 2 days later than planned, the iPhone & blackberry wielding designer dressed parents were in thongs and singlets, patting "cheeseburger" and feeding the chooks. While we didn't get to take the horses for a ride nor try the damper, or bar or restaurant, the property and staff were exceptional. I highly recommended best brook, we will be going again - M. Hill

Room Tip: We used an unpowered site, a wander around the property however shows that there is a mixture of pow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATT H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Matt H,
Great that your family enjoyed the campgrounds, activities and restaurant and that you were obviously very observant on your stay. Look forward to you returning.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    119
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
299
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Pines, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our 2nd trip to bestbrook mountain resort, and again we did not want to leave to come home, a very short trip from Brisbane but you feel like you are a million miles from home.

Lots of family activitys to do or you can sit back and relax next to a open fire and roast some marshmallows.

Highly recomend this resort as a family stay or some ware you can meet your friends and get back in touch with nature.

Room Tip: Have not stayed in the cabins but have done the camping thing, very hot over summer tho, would recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi Nigel P,
Great that you have again enjoyed your stay at Bestbrook and all of our activities or just relaxing by the campfire. Hope to see you again soon.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Hinterland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My family and I have been coming here for years after discovering Bestbrook by accident, I don't want to rave too much because we want to keep Bestbrook all to ourselves.
Ray and Elise are the Best hosts, nothing is any trouble, and if you want to experience the Best country hospitality go no further.
Hey, it's not five star but who cares,Bestbrook could be Best described as rustic old country charm as it was before bricks and mortar and modernisation took all this away from our new generations.
Take your kids here you wont regret it, rough it up a bit, crack a whip, feed the baby animals,milk a cow, try Cyril's Best made damper and Golden syrup it's free too!! Also try Donna's brekky scrambled eggs at the Coach house restaurant , you have to pay but I would pay double, Yum!!
Hop on a horse ride with Bruce the Best trail boss ever, what a nice bloke!!
Join Ray at the bar as the sun goes down, meet the locals, make new friends and say G"Day, let Ray spin you a bush yarn or a joke or too. Enjoy your stay, we always do, leave room for us, Richard and Liz and family

Room Tip: I would recommend the Best cabins but I don't want to give away my secret location, there are te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hi richard h,
Sorry but you can't keep Bestbrook to yourselves but there will be room for you. It's great that you enjoy the restaurant and activities, yes we do not advertise ourselves as 5 star but we are clean and comfortable, I like your rustic old country charm description. Hope to see you soon.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Bestbrook is big enough so that even during peak holiday periods you don't feel crowded by tents! You can participate in a variety of fun activities that are offered a number of times each day so you don't have to get up early or rush to catch them.. if you miss your activity, you just participate next time round. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, plenty to do - or you can just chill out - and the environment/scenery is gorgeous. Shower and toilet facilities clean. We did horse riding, two wagon rides, damper making and went for 1.5hr bushwalks up the 4WD track, playing by the creek.... we have been twice and will go back. A fantastic camping destination!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 616Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi 616Rachel,
Great that your family enjoyed the activities and farm and we hope you return.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you are looking to get away from it all with the family and tent, look no further than Bestbrook farm. Situated on a plateau at the top of the Great Dividing Range just beyond Cunningham's Gap, this scenic property offers powered and unpowered camping sites and seclusion ( if you avoid the Easter long weekend). We have been going out to Bestbrook for a few years now and have camped right on the creek both times. The creek has yabbies, and giant barred frog padpoles about 10 cm long, little fish, and fresh water shrimp. You can have a campfire under the stars, and bring your dog along too.
Up at the homestead you can buy coffees and devonshire tea and scones, dinners, and the often have entertainment. There are horse rides, cow milking, chickens and turkeys, a small swimming pool, tree swings, jumping castle and old fashioned play ground, and trailer rides with whip cracking and boomerang throwing lessons. All free aside from the horse rides.
There a numerous cabins on the property that I have only ever seen from the road and cannot comment on.
The campsites have portaloos that are serviced frequently and several shower blocks up near the homestead. These are fairly basic and require a bit of a wipe down on your part after using.
Firewood is available to purchase or you can collect it from the pile - byo chainsaw!
Most importantly, the staff are really lovely and helpful.
This is a wonderful family holiday if you like camping, and like camping with a bit of optional luxury. We love you Bestbrook!! See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieBFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi GracieBFree,
Thanks for your review and comprehensive list of activities and details on our restaurant. Great that your group enjoys yourselves and you return regularly and we look forward to you returning. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We camped at Bestbrook over the Easter period for the first time. We absolutely loved it. There are so many different activities for the kids & adults, staff are amazing, the farm is gorgeous and very picturesque. We are definitely going back and can't recommend it enough. Was our first camping trip with our kiddies (1 & 2 years old) and was fabulous and very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Julie L,
Great to hear you enjoyed the staff and activities and we look forward to you returning.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After viewing the resort then staying, it was a lovely place to stay. Loads of fun things for the kids and very welcoming staff. The camp site is well looked after and loads of sites near the creek for the kids to have fun in. Thanks for an awesome Easter break weekend stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Darren W,
Glad your family had an awesome Easter and that you enjoyed the campgrounds and activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryvale
17.6 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
5.6 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
18.7 mi away
Killarney View Cabins and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Goomburra Forest Retreat
Goomburra Forest Retreat
#3 of 3 in Goomburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bestbrook Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bestbrook Mountain Resort

Property: Bestbrook Mountain Resort
Address: 9790 Cunningham Hwy, Maryvale, Queensland 4370, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Maryvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Maryvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bestbrook Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bestbrook offers you a unique weekend escape or holiday package in self contained farm stay cabins, bunkhouse back packer style rooms or camping by Gap Creek. Bestbrook is an Australian owned and operated farmstay property where everyone joins in the fun. Only 90 minutes from Brisbane or 126 minutes from the Gold Coast, Bestbrook offers a perfect break from the city to enjoy relaxed country living. Horse riding for all levels from parent led rides, lessons or trail rides. We have regular free demonstrations of milking cows, making butter, boomerang throwing, Australia stock whip cracking, billy tea & damper & a brief presentation of local history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Bestbrook Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing