We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glamping at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Canopy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryvale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spicers Canopy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glamping at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I took my partner to Spicer's Canopy as a surprise gift for Valentine's Day. We had a lovely time and were treated like special guests at every point. From the 90min eco walk (though ours took 2 hours due to regular pausing for stories) to the fresh baked scones with jam and cream and the glass of bubbly waiting when we arrived, it was all so perfect. Our hosts were attentive without being overbearing and the whole atmosphere was so laid back, relaxed and enjoyable. As usual, the Spicer's menu lived up to my expectations again.....so yummy! Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotus_Blossom_Cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoey82, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Lotus_Blossom,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Canopy experience.

We look forward to seeing you at Canopy again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
25
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend at Spicers Canopy very much. We came with another couple to celebrate a 60th birthday. We were warmly greeting by Chris on arrival at the white house where we left the car and handed over our bags to be delivered to the Canopy. Russell expertly guided us on a very pleasant bushwalk for about 2 hours into Spicers Canopy where a wonderful afternoon tea including champagne awaited us.

Throughout our stay the staff were most attentive with very pleasant attitudes. We thoroughly enjoyed the great food and wine. Our tent was comfortable and the main area with the log fire was very cosy especially when the weather deteriorated off and on. We had all weather conditions with sun, wind, thunderstorms and varying temperatures through the weekend. The outlook toward the Scenic Rim was stunning. On Saturday afternoon Russell drove us up to a breathtaking peak at Ryan’s lookout in the 4WD and then showed us the magnificent Peak Lodge where we warmly welcomed by Leasa and enjoyed a glass of champagne. Very tempting for another time!
The only downside at Spicers Canopy is the bathroom situation. The three separate single bathrooms situated in the central main area are not adequate to cater for up to 20 guests as well as staff. On Saturday night and Sunday morning with 14 guests plus staff and it was not comfortable. We have experienced similar accommodation in remote Australia and on safari in Botswana and all had en-suites attached to each luxury tent. It would obviously be more comfortable to be able to leave personal toiletries in one’s own ensuite and avoid running out of the tent in the rain wondering if you have to wait to get access to the bathroom.
Other than the lack of a private ensuite, we would highly recommend Spicers Canopy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Annagram09,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review. I will pass on your lovely feedback to Chris, Russell and the team. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, food, wine and service at Spicers Canopy. That is great you also enjoyed your visit to Peak Lodge too!

Thank you for your feedback regarding the bathroom facilities, I will pass on your suggestion about having ensuites attached to our tents to the owners for review. We are an advanced eco-accredited site and Spicers Canopy has been designed to meet requirements and ensure we limit power usage.

Thank you once again for your great feedback and we hope to see you at Spicers Canopy or another Spicers property soon.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We just had a few days at Spicers Canopy and were thoroughly impressed. We went mid week and had the place to ourselves for most of the time. Our host, Chris, was attentive without being in your face all the time. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The food was excellent and plentiful. The accomodation was comfortable but the shared bathroom might be a turn off for some people. I think the tents might be a bit cold in the middle of Winter but the hot water bottle in the bed was a pleasant surprise. The guided walk was informative but not too challenging, although the excuse of having to walk for an hour and a half to get to there to "minimise the carbon footprint" was laughable since the bottled water on the bedside table comes from Norway. The view from the tent over the rolling hills was calming, and an entire morning lolling about on a beanbag under the shade of a few gum trees was very relaxing. I highly recommend Spicers Canopy and will likely return.

Room Tip: Tents further from the main lodge will be quiter I guess but you need to walk further to use the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnno_Groates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoey82, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thanks for your lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Spicers Canopy.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the water bottles, we have since changed our water to a brand that is local and Australian. We appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you at Spicers Canopy again soon!

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We spent three nights at Spicers Canopy with freinds of ours, and were very impressed with the quality of service. The meals were excellent, and the chefs were very good hosts, who not only knew food and how to prepare it at the highest level, but also knew how to act as a good host. Recommend that you go on a guided walk with Russel, as his knowledge and manner will make your experience at Spicers Canopy all the more enjoyable. This is "camping" at its very best!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoey82, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear George,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Spicers Canopy in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

What a wonderful place to getaway! We had the pleasure of a three-night relaxing stay at Spicers Canopy, and could not fault it. The tents were very comfortable (even for a non-camper like myself), the food was fantastic and every meal was quite substantial. We took the option for a full day guided walk with Russell, which was an experience we highly recommend.

Thank you to Leasa, Chris and Russell, the Spicers Canopy team, who looked after us extremely well. We came away not only feeling relaxed, and complete recharged, but also like we'd made new friends.

This is a great mini-break for any city dweller that spends too much time in the office. Turn your phone off and leave your laptop/tablet at home, this is a holiday to disconnect from your day-to-day life.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam-and-Damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

From the pumpkin scones on our arrival, to the wood-fired pizzas on departure, our stay was a relaxed, gourmet delight. Daniel and Angela greeted us with sparkling wine and afternoon tea (with superb chocolate brownies and carrot cake as well as the scones) after our guided walk onto the property.
Our "tent" and view were lovely-just as it looks on the web site !!
We had a wonderful 24 hours and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoddsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoey82, General Manager at Spicers Canopy, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay at Spicers Canopy.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

What a wonderful experience this Eco resort offers. The service and food was outstanding. The tents (if you could call them that) were luxurious to say the least. The Temp was cold but the King size beds were warmed with hot water bottles. I did need to sleep in a beanie as my head did get cold through the night.
The walk in was great about 1 ½ hours leisurely stroll through the bush and along cool running creeks. The guides were a fountain of knowledge and made the walk in a great experience, one of the guides when we stopped for a rest, gave us a great rendition of “Clancy of the Overflow”. On arrival at Canopy there was afternoon tea, sparkling wine or a cold beer. The scones and home baked biscuits were great.
All our luggage was waiting for us in our accommodation ready for a shower if you wished. We decided to play a game of croquet using our own rules whilst quenching our thirst.
Before long we were having pre-dinner drinks and canapés in front of the open fire in the lounge area inside. The dinner was fantastic meal of 3 courses followed by port coffee or tea.
A fire was blazing away in the fire pit in front of the lodge and a few went down to roast a few marshmallows and partake of a port or two.
As the night got cooler we moved inside to the fire and music and knocked back a few more reds.
Breakfast was good both cooked and cold fare. The home made condiments were fantastic and are for sale to take home.
Another walk before lunch was the order of the day so we headed off through the bush to take in another creek on the property and a cave. It was a nice walk of around an hour and a good way to walk off some of the calories taken in the night before.
After the walk we had some free time to relax and read or have a little shut eye.
Lunch was again a 3 course affair and the standard we had become use to was maintained. Before long it was on to the mini bus and back to our cars for the 1 ½ trip back to Brisbane.
We have now stayed at a 3 Spicers resorts and the standard set by this company is second to none. I will return and have infact returned to Clovelly after our first visit and also attended a cooking school with Cameron Mathews.
All in all a great weekend away in the country.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APRBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryvale
16.9 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
1.6 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
18.8 mi away
Killarney View Cabins and Caravan Park
5.4 mi away
Goomburra Forest Retreat
Goomburra Forest Retreat
#2 of 3 in Goomburra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Canopy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Canopy

Property: Spicers Canopy
Address: 1095 South Branch Road, Maryvale, Queensland 4309, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Maryvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Maryvale
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Canopy 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect antidote to the stress and pressure of city living, a luxurious eco camping escape in the heart of the Queensland's naturally beautiful Scenic Rim region just two hours' drive from Brisbane. Surrounded by 5000 acres of private nature refuge, beneath a canopy of endless skies, Spicers Canopy offers an unforgettable eco-tourism experience that sets hearts and minds free and sends spirits soaring. Spicers Canopy a part of the Scenic Rim Trail by Spicers and is also available for group bookings from Monday through Friday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing