We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury mountain getaway”
Review of Spicers Peak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Peak Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Spicers peak is a great place to relax and recharge away from the city. The accommodation is superb. We stayed in the one bedroom private lodge and couldn't fault it. Our lodge had a private spa overlooking the forest. The food and service are outstanding throughout our two night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Max2962,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review. The team are so pleased to hear you had a great stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night to celebrate our 25th anniversary. How beautiful! The journey there was an adventure:pretty, peaceful and reasonably remote although not too far from the main highway. We felt a million miles from civilization! Awesome! The service is friendly, professional but not arrogant...perfect! Our car was parked and luggage transferred to our room in an instant. We enjoyed a welcome drink on arrival in their striking reception room. The rooms are spacious and a highlight is the fireplace in the room. Even though it is summer, we still used our fireplace. It is cool on the plateau! Order a picnic lunch. It is lovely! Well worth the money. We sat on the grass outside our room and enjoyed breads, salami, cheeses, sun dried tomatoes and quince and pear paste to die for! Yummy! We went for a walk, took lots of photos and just relaxed. Dinner was beautiful. The service was great and the food was so well presented. Asian influences but not completely....the pork belly was soooooooo awesome! Get the matching wines. It was interesting to see how professionals match fine wine with fine food. Breakfast was great too especially the freshly poached fruit. We spent quite a sum of money ($1000!) but it was well worth it and I would do it all over again. In fact, we want to go back in the winter!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise01Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Louise01Australia,

Thanks for the great review. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your 25th wedding celebration at Peak Lodge.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

From the minute you arrive at the top of the plateau and are greeted with a smile and a welcome drink, you know that you've escaped to somewhere special and in truth, those moments never stop your whole time there.

From watching the sun setting while you enjoy evening canapés in front of the fireplace, to the five or seven course degustations and scrumptious breakfasts. Sitting in a jacuzzi and watching birds of prey on the winds, playing pool or browsing through an amazingly varied and fascinating book collection. There's also the tennis court, the mountain bikes and some well mapped out hiking or trail-running to be done if you're so inclined (& we were).

So yes the location is wonderfully remote, the food divine, the rooms well appointed and the activities varied but honestly, its the staff that make it perfect. They really go so far above and beyond and we remain very grateful for the attentive and professional service.

In summary, all I can say is we weren't even half-way down the bumpy track back down the mountain before I was consulting my diary to book again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skydivej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Skydivej,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the Peak Lodge experience and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night getaway at Spicers Peak Lodge. Oh my goodness, what an amazing stay.

From the moment we arrived the customer service was outstanding. Our room was beautiful and had amazing views. The hotel, food, wines, customer services and surroundings are nothing short only spectacular.

We had the 7 course degustation each night and wow is all I can say. The food was out of this world!!! I am quite a fussy eater but loved every meal. The different menu every night is a fantastic luxury.

We went for a long bush walk with a packed lunch provided by the hotel and have a picnic lunch with a superb view. Having a few horses there to do trail rides is really the only thing missing.

Spicers Peak Lodge is the perfect place to getaway and relax. The surroundings make you feel at ease from the moment you get out of your car.

We were very thankful however we didn't take our sports far as the 12km of gravel and dirt roads is not ideal for a nice car! Apart from that Spicers Peak Lodge us pure luxury, romance and relaxation.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brooke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Brooke Z,

Thanks for the fabulous review. The team are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food, wine and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peak Lodge soon.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here on Saturday night for our 1st anniversary. The drive up the mountain was long and bumpy but very cool, makes you feel like you're away from everything in the world, which you pretty much are. The lodge is lovely, filled with books and a fireplace and a bar, upstairs there is a pool table, telescopes, chess. Our room was very nice, big comfy king bed which you could stay in for ever, jazz playing on the flat screen tv, a fire place and a day bed where we sat to enjoy our cheese platter and champagne.
There is a cute little balcony which looks out over the grassy fields to the mountains. The pool and spa are lovely, we had wine in the spa as the sun was setting which was really nice.
Dinner was cool, we had appetizers in the lodge first, and then the degustation meal with matching wines. everyone is seated and served together which is different, but i liked it. Dinner was good, some of the dishes were a little too adventurous for me but my husband loved every one of them. The wines were amazing.
Breakfast was delicious, with a meal you can order and a bar for cereals, cheese, ham etc.
The customer service is amazing, the German girl (sorry i can't remember her name!!) is a gem, just lovely and sooo helpfull.
Why my rating is not "excellent":
We were told on the phone that we could check in at two but they may be able to get us in earlier. We arrived at 2:30 but our room wasn't ready until 3.
All of the lights in our room flicker. It was hard to read and sit with the lights on as they ALL flickered. The desk lamp blew when we were there. One light near the entrance was pulled out completely, leaving a cord hanging from the roof.
Housekeeping were vacuuming the hallway outside the rooms at 7am on Sunday morning. NOT COOL!!!! The rooms can hear everything that goes on through the walls and after matching wines at dinner the night before you don't want to be woken up by a vacuum at 7am!
If these hadn't have happened the review would have been excellent, but unfortunately when you are paying over $800 for a stay for 1 night, everything should be perfect. I would stay there again but would probably try other places first.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, go for one of the private lodges, away from the main lodge. They look amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvwblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear tvwblog,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Peak Lodge. Lovely to hear you enjoyed the arrival experience, food and I have passed on your kind words to our team member Marleen.

Our sincere apologies regarding the late check-in and vacuuming early in the morning. I have since spoken to our housekeeping team and we have put measures in place to ensure this does not happen in future.

We hope to welcome you back to Peak Lodge or another Spicers retreat in the future.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Spicers Peak two weeks ago for our 20th wedding anniversary. What an amazing property, perfect in every way!!! We only stayed for 1 night on the special occasions package. We were lucky enough to book into our room early, as it was ready, and then had a lovely picnic lunch by the lake, The 7 course dinner was exceptional from service to the quality of the food and just the right size portions. We did not match the wines, but brought several bottles from the extensive wine list. A lovely touch after dinner was going back to your room to bottles of water and chocolates waiting for us. The room was tastefully decorated with the most amazing view out to the range on our verandah. We also had an open fire in our room which added to the ambience of the room. My only criticism was the renovation of the pool, I was picturing myself laying in that lovely pool just like the advertisements. We will be coming back one day to enjoy this property. Once again, to all the staff at Spicers thank you for our fabulous experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee-ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Lee-ann m,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your anniversary celebration at Peak Lodge.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My stay was for work and it was a very peaceful setting which facilitated a productive working environment. I will definately consider returning with my husband for a break away as it was incredibly peaceful and private.

Room Tip: For complete privacy choose the rooms away from the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JYCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_peaklodge, General Manager at Spicers Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear JYCS,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a great review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your conference at Spicers Peak Lodge.

We hope to welcome you back for a conference or leisure stay soon.

Warm Regards,

Leasa Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryvale
13.0 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
22.4 mi away
Abbey of the Roses
Abbey of the Roses
#3 of 13 in Warwick
136 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
19.4 mi away
Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
24.6 mi away
Ketchup's Bank Glamping
Ketchup's Bank Glamping
#1 of 1 in Cannon Creek
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Peak Lodge

Address: Wilkinson's Rd, Maryvale, Queensland 4370, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Maryvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Maryvale
Price Range: £527 - £815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Peak Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and spectacular settings, Spicers Peak Lodge is an intimate destination for those who want a peaceful escape with all the perks. Overlooking the Great Dividing Range and Main Range National Park, this secluded, mountain-top retreat is the highest non-alpine lodge in Australia and just two hours' drive from Brisbane. But with the stunning views and rolling mists, it feels a world away from everyday life. It's relaxation, beauty, service, cuisine and luxury - all elevated to new standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing