We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and pleasant, but facing water supply issues!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
brisbane
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Old and pleasant, but facing water supply issues!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights. The building is old, but rooms were refurbished. It comes with a little kitchenette; including microwave oven. No WiFi in the hotel! Outside swimming pool wasn’t operating. Our deal included continental breakfast; which was ok.
We also had dinner at their restaurant which was a little pricy, but good!
Most of the restaurants in American River were closed on the days we were there.
During our stay, on both mornings, we were facing a problem of no running water in the rooms.
No apologizing curtsey phone call from reception! Only after calling to query about the problem, that we heard they already knew about it. It took a long while to be fixed on both days.
We were upset by the inconvenient. No compensation was on offer though.
On the positive side, It is well located and rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your post. Unfortuantely, during your stay with us, we did experience a water fault and apologise for any inconvenience this caused you. Please be aware we did everything possible to rectify the situation as quickly as possible. With regard to your comment about WiFi, it is available in the main building near reception or alternatively we have a computer available for guest use. We like to encourage our guests to mingle in the lounge area or bar where WiFi is available and swap stories of their day on the Island. We consider our restaurant prices are suitable for the quality and quantity of food you receive. The meal prices on Kangaroo Island as a whole are generally higher than the mainland due to operational costs. Once again thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    185
    88
    26
    14
See reviews for
67
251
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

a quiet relaxing location with great outdoor/indoor eating area. The food over three days was tasty and varied. Slept very well and good feedback from other guests. Lots to see and do. Only drama was distance from Kingscote.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and on Kangaroo Island. We believe our location of American River is an advantage in that we are half way between Kingscote and Penneshaw (the two main hubs on Kangaroo Island) but we offer a peaceful getaway in a true waterfront location. We are only a short 25mins drive to Kingscote but most things you may need for your holiday can be found in American River including a small store.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had a great time at the All seasons Lodge. The staff were particularly friendly and more than willing to assist our every request. There was a problem with their hot-water system, but we were shown to a lodge close-by to use their bathrooms for showering, and were pampered and offered dinner and a breakfast as compensation, which made us forget about the off-site shower. I imagine it's hard to have such major appliances fixed quickly in remote location as Kangarro Island, but we really commend their efforts and the manner in which the problem was dealt with.

A cosy, clean and friendly place that I highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BristolMr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We do apologise that we encountered an issue with our hot water system during your stay and thank you for your understanding.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I booked this hotel as part of a Sealink ferry & stay, self-drive package. We stayed 3 nights at this hotel as a family with a 18m old baby. At first we were shown to a room with a queen bed. Before I remembered that I'd booked a room with a queen bed and a single bed. This was quickly resolved when we told the staff and we were moved to the correct room configuration. Our room had sea view in the distance, a walk-in wardrobe to put our stuff in and a kitchenette area which was handy for making up baby formula and washing up baby bottles. We asked the staff whether we can drink the tap water and they said it was fine, as they have their own filter system. So we drunk it for the time we were there and didn't have any problems. Being August time, KI was quite cold and it was especially cold in the bathroom, as it doesn't have heating in there. It felt like I was taking a shower outdoors, thank goodness the water was warm. The hotel restaurant serves excellent food, it's just a shame we didn't discover this until the final night of our stay. They also give guest 10% off the bill, but I forgot to bring the voucher. That or my baby ate it, I'm not sure which.

Room Tip: Go in winter and you almost have the whole hotel to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kittyra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. It can get very cold at night on Kangaroo Island! We recently upgraded our air conditioning systems so all rooms are cosy and warm during this time. And as mentioned in your review, all showers produce nice hot water.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

The hotel was VERY run down.

It was a suprise that Accor would hold on to a property of this standard. Obviously staff are hard to secure in these remote locations so alot of consideration was given to this factor, but to feel like I had to motivate and put the spark in to the "Good Mornings" and "Enjoy your days" was annoying.

We had a lunch meal at the restaurant which was fine but using our advantage plus card for the dinner still didn't bring near compensation for the rubbish we were served. Pork belly where the skin was so under done it couldnt be eaten. Kids sauages and mash - the sausage (not eaten), looked like the meat was from chicken nuggets and squashed to replicate a sausage shape and chips on the side (not mash). My steak and local maron was served as over cooked steak (ordered med rare) with 2 prawns smothered in a BBQ sauce. A simple "I'm sorry we have run out of ........" would be fine and fully understandable given location, but when nothing is said and the plated plonked down????

Breakfast very basic and not inviting - staff didnt help.

Blocked sink in bathroom - which was fixed on notification.

Bill on checkout was wrong with many incorrect charges.
As a silver level A Club member I was most dissapointed

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to read your post. Maintenance of the hotel is ongoing, we recently painted all rooms and the interior of the main building. The All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge is a traditional hotel offering four star facilities. We do not advertise ourselves as having modern decor as with most other city located All Seasons hotels, however our facilities are modern with flat screen TVs in all rooms and everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our decor is traditional with a warm feel, from comfortable leather couches in the bar area to wooden furniture to match in with our natural environment. The All Seasons hotels through the Accor network generally offer bright colours throughout and are generally located in cities. Given that we are in a regional location, we offer a different type of All Seasons product with more tradition. We apologise if you were mislead as to the decor of the property.
Our restaurant food is considered a high quality on Kangaroo Island so it was disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We have taken your comments on board and have made any necessary changes.
Thank you once again for your comments and please be advised we will endeavour to make changes as necessary from your review.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
56.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
9.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
19.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Property: Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing