We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, view and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. We were upgraded to an ocean view room for free on arrival (presumably as it was winter so they had spare rooms, although it seemed fairly busy). They also gave us a late checkout on request which was lovely.
Staff were absolutely lovely and the view from out room was a great bonus.
Room was large with comfy bed, air conditioner (essential during winter), kitchenette including bar fridge, microwave etc digital tv and big bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant twice and thought the food was very nice and reasonably priced. Service again was wonderful.
Only complaint would be the shower. It lacked pressure, as most hotels do, but worse was that I was only using hot water and it was still only luke warm which was a little unpleasant in winter.
The location between Kingscote and Penneshaw meant it was easy for us to choose different places to visit for dinner and during the day.

Price was also very good and the hotel outdid my expectations for what we paid.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was obviously great but I expect all would be good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princess_trayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your response. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. In response to your comment about the shower, we are disappointed you had a poor experience. We have installed water saving shower heads in all rooms to assist the environment however we have found most guests are happy with the water pressure. Also we have investigated any hot water issues in your room and this has been rectified. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda8220
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyBlack75
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My partner and I got a fantastic off season deal to stay 3 nights for about $240. At this low price my expectations were not high at all.
We were pleasantly surprised to a welcoming smile, upgraded room and free wi-fi.
Our package did not include breakfast but I am gluten/dairy free so I asked about the possibility of a toaster in my room. They took me to the dining area where I could help myself to bowls, plates and toaster etc- even asked if I wanted jam or Vegemite.
Dinner in the restaurant was the only dining option in American River. Limited menu but very nice food.
American River is a little out of the way but we had a very pleasant stay here. All the staff were friendly and professional.
Go to Kangaroo Island while the specials are available!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules014Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Reviewer,
We were happy to hear you were able to enjoy our low season value for money prices. During the low season we do operate a lighter dinner menu however there is still something for everyone. American River is half way between Kingscote and Penneshaw and a great gateway to all the sights that Kangaroo Island has to offer. As you suggested it is a great time to come to Kangaroo Island during the low season. Not only are the price cheaper but there are less tourists and more animals out and about. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again one day.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

beautiful location. rooms very comfortable. A highlight for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and management who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, nothing was too much trouble. Meals in the restaurant top class. Will go back next time in KI, No hesitation in recommending to everyone as the ideal place to stay on KI

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Thankfully we only stayed one night...upon arrival, we were told that all restaurants on the island were closed so our only dining option would be the hotel restaurant. Reluctantly, we agreed to return for dinner after dropping our bags off in our room. Upon arrival in the dining room, we were offered only 3 menu options. Considering this was the hotel restaurant, I would have expected a few more options. I do have to say, the food was very tasty, I just wish I had a few more options besides, lamb and chicken.

Upon returning back to our room we started to look around and noticed a ton, and by ton I mean well over 20 (yes, we actually counted) millipedes. SOOOO disgusting. At first we weren't too concerned with them until we noticed that some of them started moving! They weren't dead as they appeared to be. The hotel supplies bug spray in the closet so we quickly took that out and started spraying away. This would have been the end of it, but the bug spray started smelling our room up and we weren't willing to open the windows for fear of more millipedes coming in. After about 10 mins of spraying the millipedes, and noticing that more were coming in we decided to call the front desk. Clearly the room had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. We called the front desk and explained what was going on in our room. We were told that they were harmless and that they are all over the island. I don't care! They shouldn't have been in our room! And especially not 20 plus! Finally the lady decided to come to our room to take a look. I fully expected to be relocated to a new room (our trip was during the low season and there were only 8 our of staying at that time so I know they had other rooms we could have been moved to). We were not offered a new room, the hotel receptionist merely picked up the millipedes and dumped them in the trash. This was fine until more came in through the windows/doors during the evening. We woke up to find more millipedes in our room. So disgusting.

The next morning we woke up and had their continental breakfast which consisted of rye, wheat or white toast, yogurt with honey, 3 types of cereal, a plate of about 10 pieces of fruit, teas and coffee. A really poor spread for the price we paid for breakfast. Since there were not very many of us staying at that time, there wasn't a lot of food set out so once the fruit was gone, it was gone. No one came out to check to see if anything needed to be replenished.

It's a super cute hotel, the room size was decent, I was just really disappointed in the service and cleanliness of the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Reviewer,
We were disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. As this is low season we do operate a smaller menu as do most establishments on Kangaroo Island. And as you mentioned many places even close their doors over the winter months. In response to your comments about the millipedes, unfortunately the Island does from time to time have an outbreak. We do spray the hotel and endeavour to do everything possible to eradicate them. Please be assured rooms are cleaned prior to guests arriving but unfortunately the occasional millipede may find its way in. Our continental breakfast consists of Kangaroo Island yoghurt and honey, Kangaroo Island Bakery toasts, cereals, fresh fruit, cheeses, fruit juices, teas and coffee. If any of the supplies run out we replace them. However should we not get to this quickly enough we ask that you inform us and we will rectify this immediately. Once again thank you for your review.
Kind reagrds
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janmaree2323
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
56.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
9.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
399 reviews
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.1 mi away
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range: £103 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing