We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We enjoyed the whole time we had at Kangaroo Island All Seasons Lodge. We had a large comfortable room with water views. The breakfasts were fresh and varied. The restaurant meals were good potions, delicious and good value featuring local produce and complemented with local wines. The staff exceeded all expectations and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and meet our needs.I would highly recommendthis lodge

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. Our restaurant produces some of the best meals on the Island and is such great value for money. We are happy you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again one day soon.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    187
    88
    26
    14
See reviews for
68
255
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Location is Beautiful. Comfortable beds, Clean linen, Quick Service, Very Nice Staff. Recommended for a peaceful romantic stay. Enjoyed my stay with my family. American river is the beginning point of KI so you have Kingscote very close to it and all other attractions are close as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. American River is such a tranquil place to stay and is great for getting away from it all. All with the convenience of being half way between Kingscote and Penneshaw.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

What a friendly lot at this heavenly peaceful Retreat. Great accommodation with all the right mods and cons. The food is excellent, prices are fair and service is warm and friendly. A truly beautiful and pristine environment is Kangaroo Island; a touch of NZ in Aussie.
We will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the Bay - try room 33.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to tell your friends and family about this unknown gem on Kangaroo Island. We hope to see you again one day.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Gambier
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Room-large, clean, well appointed, lovely view. Staff-friendly and helpful. Reception/lounge/dining area-warm and inviting. Exceeded expectations. Breakfast-everything you could possibly want and plenty of it, including local produce. Dinner/dessert-exceptional both in taste and presentation. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsons-mtgambier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your response. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. We were upgraded to an ocean view room for free on arrival (presumably as it was winter so they had spare rooms, although it seemed fairly busy). They also gave us a late checkout on request which was lovely.
Staff were absolutely lovely and the view from out room was a great bonus.
Room was large with comfy bed, air conditioner (essential during winter), kitchenette including bar fridge, microwave etc digital tv and big bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant twice and thought the food was very nice and reasonably priced. Service again was wonderful.
Only complaint would be the shower. It lacked pressure, as most hotels do, but worse was that I was only using hot water and it was still only luke warm which was a little unpleasant in winter.
The location between Kingscote and Penneshaw meant it was easy for us to choose different places to visit for dinner and during the day.

Price was also very good and the hotel outdid my expectations for what we paid.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was obviously great but I expect all would be good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess_trayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your response. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. In response to your comment about the shower, we are disappointed you had a poor experience. We have installed water saving shower heads in all rooms to assist the environment however we have found most guests are happy with the water pressure. Also we have investigated any hot water issues in your room and this has been rectified. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
56.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
19.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Property: Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing