We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely room and good food”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We booked our trip to Kangaroo Island at quite short notice so didn't do as much research as usual regarding where to stay. We opted for All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge for 3 nights, as it was one of those advertised on the Kangaroo Island Tourism website. We weren't disappointed. On arrival, a very warm welcome awaited us and we were shown to our room. Although we had booked a Pool Room, we were taken to a Seaview Room. This was a really good size, with a large comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, TV, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery and utensils, + iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. The shower room appeared to have been fairly recently refurbished and although rather on the small side, was perfectly adequate, with a plentiful supply of hot water. Sliding doors, with mesh screen, led onto a small patio with wonderful views across the bay. There were a few ants in the room, but a large can of bug spray was provided, and this quickly sorted the problem. Overall, we were very impressed.

As there were very few eating places in the locality, we opted to have dinner in the hotel restaurant each evening. The food was wonderful – tasty and well presented, with plenty of choice. Breakfast was also very good and the cooked breakfast kept us going all day. All of the staff were polite, friendly and very helpful. The hotel will organise trips if requested and as our hire car was not insured between dusk and dawn, we opted for the Evening Excursion to Penneshaw to see the Little Penguins. It transpired that January was not really a good time to see them and that it was likely that we would only see a handful. However, our driver made a point of stopping off both on the way there and back, so that we could see Kangaroos out and about, and marvel at the night sky away from any back-light.

KI Lodge is ideally placed if you are looking to Bush Walk and have a keen interest in flora and fauna. The Pelicans and Black Swans at the quay are amazing.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are very spacious and can easily accommodate 3 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunL0ver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    188
    88
    26
    14
See reviews for
68
259
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Average hotel. Came back to the hotel after a day of quad bike riding and sand surfing needing a hot shower but to no avail. On ringing reception we were advised plumber would be there in the morning to fix the problem so only a very lukewarm shower could be had. At the price we paid an offer to reduce the tarif would have been appreciated!!
Dishes in room to use but no toaster and no tea towel.Noisy fridge throughout the night.
A cold breakfast was $18 per adult. Not cheap for a family of four including two in their late teens who can eat alot.

Room Tip: This hotel is a fair distance from anything so spread your stays around the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janemtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and found it comfortable and relaxing. The island is beautiful with much to offer. We ate at the restaurant on one night and found the food tasty and enjoyable with the local wine. The staff were friendly and helpful. Planning your routes around the island is important to avoid duplicating journeys. Use of the hotel BBQ worked well. Highly recommend visiting Pennington bay, Stokes bay, the remarkables, Dudley WInery, Koala walk, Oysters at AMerican River, Seal Bay (board walk self guided only), Vivienne Bay just to name a few. Don't forget to check your petrol tank we almost got caught out. Highly recommend hiring a 4WD to see more wildlife on the gravel roads. Kangaroo Island is a worthwhile visit and this lodge helps satisfies it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember072520171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We recently stayed three nights over the New Year period at the Lodge. Wow the changes you guys have made in the last 12 months have really showed! Well done!
It's time to put this convenient venue on the world wide map of a great place to stay and enjoy the feeling of what KI is all about!
Clean rooms, great views and a sparking pool to match!!
Food in the restaurant was well-priced, very yummy and with great choices of local wine to match.

Loved it from the time we walked in. Friendly, smiling staff throughout the venue who were happy to share their local knowledge of the island and the surrounding attractions. Thanks guys...Bottom line is....would we do it again?? Absolutely!! See you again in 2013. JTD

Room Tip: Both our family and friends of ours have stayed here, and would recommend any room, as we have no co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in 2013!
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Booked last minute for Christmas as nothing else was available. Staff was friendly, but rooms were average as was the location ( a fair drive from almost all parks, cannot swim on the beach but plenty of birds to watch). Got killed my mosquitos at night in the room, a 4 star claimed place could have had a repellent plug-in.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Christmas is a very busy time on Kangaroo Island and peak rates apply. We are located half way between Kingscote and Penneshaw on the Eastern side of the Island, only a short 25min drive. Our website has maps which explain where we are and where the main sights on Kangaroo Island are. Most of the National Parks are located at the Western end of the Island however there is plenty to see and do in and around American River. Our rooms are in the process of undertaking a soft refurbishment however we believe we offer value for money. All rooms contain bug spray for those pesky mosquitoes, however we recommend keeping your window and door screens closed to avoid any unwanted visitors.
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had a 3 night stay booked at the KI Lodge. Upon arrival, we were advised that our room was double booked for the last night and asked if we wouldn't mind moving our last night to another lodge. We accepted. To our surprise, they tried putting us in a room which was far less nicer than the one we had at their place. This was a shocker considering what they asked of us. We complained and they made a few calls and found us another place which was actually nicer than the KI lodge. The place was the Wanderer's Rest. That's where you need to book. Wish we found them first.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveandApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your post. We apologise that you were inconvenienced by having to move. Unfortunately rooms do become unavailable at hotels due to various reasons and overbooking is a policy at most hotels to counter last minute cancellations. If an overbooking has occured we always ask our guests if they would like to move in the first instance and offer suitable compensation. In your case we offered a $107 per night increase in room value at an alternate hotel very close by. If guests are not happy with moving and would prefer to stay at our premises, then we ask alternate guests.
Once again apologies for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay on Kangaroo Island.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
9.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
384 reviews
56.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
19.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Property: Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing