We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont pay full price if you can help it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dont pay full price if you can help it!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights with a friend while we toured around KI. I had purchased a voucher for a 2 nights in a "superior bayview" room, with 20% off dinner one night in their restaurant and breakfast included, half price room rates.
To begin the room was neat and tidy, 2 single beds, small balcony basic TV, bathroom, tiny fridge (not even mini-fridge size). Would have been very unhappy to be paying full price (advertised $300 per night) as there was no room to spread out or relax apart from on the beds or on the tiny balcony. No hairdryer in bathroom, no room service for meals either. Had dinner in the restaurant both nights as there are no other dining facilities in American River. Service and food was excellent however menu was very limited and to my surprise the "locally Caught" fish was almost the most expensive dish on the menu at over $30! We had breakfast included in our voucher, otherwise we definetly would have eaten elsewhere for breakfast. At $18 I thought it was far too expensive for basic bacon,eggs,toast, cereal buffet. What fruit was on offer was either tinned or frozen. No undercover parking available and you are unable to park by your room as the hotel is built into the side of the hill.
To conclude, staff were very friendly, rooms were neat and clean but very basic and meals good. Overall though was overpriced for what was offered, Avoid paying full price if you can!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    187
    88
    26
    14
See reviews for
68
255
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I waited till I had gone off the boil before I wrote this review. Give it the benefit of hindsight, I thought! But really, you deserve better ... choose somewhere else.

One of the reasons that I delayed writing my review was because the desk & restaurant staff tried so hard ... but this was a nightmare ... the holiday you don't want to have. Really, by the end, I suggested that the staff just wear badges that said "I'm sorry" to save them time. And as good as the staff were, the management level was useless.

Perhaps our problem was that we stayed 6 nights so the problems were very apparent. if you only stay a couple of nights you might just think it is a mis-step, a passing glitch, an unforeseen problem. But if you are stuck there for 6 nights, it is like a recurring nightmare.

On our first morning we woke up to fine we had no water at all. None. So no flushing, no coffee, no cleaning. We went out for the day and returned at 3 in the afternoon to find buckets of effluent still sitting outside rooms. Water was back on that afternoon but cold water only.

During our 6 nights we only managed to have hot water for showers twice. Twice! Not because others had used up the hot water but because there was none. None.

Meals were mainly fine but very inconsistent. And there is no choice in American River. If you don't eat there you will need to watch out for roos when driving (to Kingscote or Penneshaw) elsewhere for a meal. I notice that the Accor site now shows that a breakfast discount is not part of the Advantage Plus, but it was when we were there but they refused to honour it until I made a fuss.

Before our stay I had emailed to ask for a room that was accessible without stairs as my husband has mobility issues. According to the manger we were given an upgraded room (torn curtain and dingy bathroom) .... right above the rooms that were being renovated. So far from being relaxing, it was necessary to get away during the day to avoid the builder's boombox and noise. The strategy recommended by his doctor is for my husband to rest each afternoon. We would go out for the day and return at around 3pm ... to find each time that our room had not been made up. It seems that they make up the rooms that are getting new guests. During our stay our bed was made twice (I don't mean the sheets changed but the room actually cleaned and the bed made)

Accor have been good about acknowledging the problems. Not so much the manager who saw the above as "inconvenience".

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank julnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was overall very pleased with my 2-nights stay at this hotel!
I was upgraded to a very spacious room overlooking the water, with a nice balcony and huge windows to enjoy it! The room in itself was quite simply furnished, but very comfortable. The walls were a little thin though, as we heard a baby crying in an adjacent room.
The restaurant was really good, the food excellent and the service friendly. The breakfast was very tasty.
The staff of the hotel was also very nice and helpful!
The hotel is located a little far away (35 min) from the main towns of the island, and there is not much to eat or buy in American River itself!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver island
Level Contributor
164 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable, there was enough room but none to spare. It has a pleasant view over the lagoon. However it is starting to show its age. Other than the bed (which was comfortable) everything in the room should be replaced as it it is worn and old fashioned. We ate only 1 meal there on steak special night. We got a huge porterhouse with a lot of fries for $20. The steaks were a bit too rare for us but this maybe just the way Aussies like their meat since we had similar experiences in other places. Some of the staff seemed inexperienced while others were very helpful. American River is out of the way and there are hardly any services for tourists.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vanisle_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our room overlooked the river and was nicely appointed,we stayed in a non standard room for two nights and found everthing satisfactory.FreeWiFi in the lobby area was helpful and after a full day sightseeing we were happy to sit on the balcony and watch the birds. Staff were friendly , and a nice pool area and seating area for the summer .

Room Tip: It would appear by the reviews that non standard rooms are a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canaryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Can't say anymore than disgusted.Ruined our whole weekend.No hot water.Food was raw.Pool was filthy.Poor service ,rude waitress.bed was two singles pushed together one higher than the other no spa which is still advertised.will not be returning again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kuzick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
56.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
19.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Property: Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Address: 73 Scenic Dr, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing