We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax on kangaroo island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“relax on kangaroo island”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for three nights as a basis for a number of beautiful tours on the island.
It was very relaxing with a great guide.
The B&B is a bit uphill but it gave a beautiful view on the beach. The evening we made a walibi safari in the B&B's neighbourhood and we saw a lot. But than we had to climb back...
The atmosphere is very pleasant with Ros and Chris as very good hosts who were extremely helpful in making our stay comfortable. Breakfast was very good, dinner was simple but good.
The rooms were simple but comfortable and clean.
The whole of the accommodation is a bit outdated, though.In a way it is charming but some refurbishment is nevertheless to be done.
Therefore I give it a "very good" and not an "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harrielux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the Easter Break and really enjoyed it. The hosts, Ros and Chris, were very friendly and happy to accommodate any extraordinary requests. The food cooked in the restaurant by Helen (sorry if I have her name wrong) was simple fare but extremely delicious - tasty local fish, succulent steaks and delicious desserts. Breakfast was equally good. The rooms are getting a little old in the tooth but are very clean and comfortable. The view across American River from the balcony was superb, especially the sunrises. The only slight criticism is the value for money. We paid nearly $250 per night with meals extra, which was a bit much. All in all though, I'm glad I stayed and would stay again but I'd try and get a better deal from the booking website.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderersrest, Owner at Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thanks for the lovely review Leerja74, it was an absolute pleasure to host you and no trouble to accommodate your requests. Your spelling is perfect and our cook is appreciative of your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed at Wanderer's Rest of Kangaroo Island based upon reviews on Trip Advisor and another web site. Reviews are subjective of course, and in this case the reality did not hold up to the reviews.

This motel is showing it's age and definitely need some work. The bed was so hard both of us had trouble sleeping. Free internet did not work. It just wasn't a good pick for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderersrest, Owner at Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to learn that you didn't find the bed as comfortable as our other guests have found them to be. Regarding the wi-fi internet, as far as we can tell, it was working throughout your stay in the public areas (guest lounge, dining room, balcony). We don't guarantee reception in the rooms given their location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Scenic views, peaceful setting, clean and comfortable room, wonderful breakfast and dinner - all handled with warm and guest centered hospitality by the proprietors Chris and Ros - it is hard to imagine a better place to be on Kangaroo Island than the Wanderers. This is not a large resort but more of an intimate inn with about 10 rooms, so book early or you'll miss out on this gem!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderersrest, Owner at Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thanks, Martin B, for a lovely review. It was a pleasure to host you and we're delighted you appreciate our efforts to provide welcoming service and delicious dining experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is a "Mom and Pops" operation where the husband and wife do everything with a little extra help. I think this couple is a little overworked. The grounds needed major work. The breakfast and dinner were just fair. The rooms were pleasant, but "tired". It would not be my choice again.

Room Tip: Nothing more to say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poodlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Kangaroo Island is unbelievable and Chris and Ros, owners and gracious hosts of Wanderers Rest, made it even more extraordinary. 2 day, 1 night stay- Their accommodations are quite comfortable with great views and bird sightings (glossy black cockatoos), with nice added touches including large private balconies, mini bar, and heated towel racks in the bathroom. Even more satisfying was the extraordinary company Ros and Chris provide. They are wonderful hostesses who engage each guest with us much or as little conversation wanted. Chris brought us a map to find wallabies in our surrounding area and provided the torch to go after dark. Every attention to detail is provided including the excellent meals hand prepared by their chef in the evening or Chris himself for breakfast! We left feeling like we were leaving behind old friends even after just one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Great place to start our stay on KI. Lovely food, b'fast and dinner with the dining room providing impressive views over the water. Ros and Chris look after you well whilst you gain your bearings on the island with their helpful suggestions. Our room had fanatstic views of the river through the trees. The birdlife around was terrific with several glimpses of the rare Glossy Black Cockatoo a great highlight. The whole place is clean, comfortable and well looked after. A highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
414 reviews
56.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
10.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
832 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
19.9 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island

Property: Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Address: Lot 2, Bayview Road | American River, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderers Rest Of Kangaroo Island American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing