We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

View of the Bay from our room was beautiful, dinner and breakfast were delicious and Ros and Chris were most gracious. We stayed one night and it was most pleasant. The room was simply furnished with a small bathroom and shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderersrest, Owner at Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your comments, Kangaroo Island does need more than one night to enjoy completely, but I guess you can always come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

As many have said, the owners are fantastic. Ros and Chris were both very welcoming and helpful with suggestions of places we might go throughout our stay, and also very good humoured and pleasant.

The accomodation is good; air conditioning and heating both were briefly used whilst we stayed (the weather can be like that!) and worked well. The room was clean and modern - and the whole place feels "looked after". In some hotels I have stayed in, there are scuffs on the paintwork from people moving their luggage in and out. Not here.

Location is great; possums and wallabies can apparently be seen at night/dusk and the owners will even provide you with a map and torch for this purpose.

The food was also a treat. The menu is (I suspect deliberatly) quite small, but what they do they do brilliantly. We ate at the Wanderers Rest on two evenings, and had breakfast there one one morning. All were excellent. Especially try the lemon delicious pudding if they are doing it.

We briefly used the pool, which isn't heated but is perfectly warm enough for a dip on a hot day. It was very pleasant.

We also used the wifi, which doesn't reach to the rooms but works very well in the restaurant/lounge - especially considering the distances of phone lines involved in getting it there! It isn't massively fast - perhaps a couple of megabits/second or thereabouts, but we found it perfectly reliable for facebooking and emailing/skyping.

Finally, we both found we slept very soundly indeed, and our room (and I suspect all rooms) had a fantastic view through the trees onto the water. Wonderful. I have already recommended it to my parents who will be staying there next year.

Room Tip: We had room 3. But I bet all the rooms are equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThatHairyBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderersrest, Owner at Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed your company

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was the upgrade to "deluxe" rooms on our tour. The rooms here are just like you remember from the 1960's. Small, wood paneling. Quant, one might say. They do have ac/heat both of which you may need. The veranda in our room looked over the bay and there were birds. Very nice. The owner came to greet us, took our luggage, gave us the nickel tour, took our dinner order. The menu is small and if you are there for more than 2 nights you may want to try some neighboring restaurants. There is a lovely walking trail along the bay where you will see black swans and pelicans. I do not exaggerate when I say it was very windy, rainy and chilly while we were there. KI can be that way apparently and I would not expect to be without a jacket.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffreyjonkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed only one night on our way to Flinders Chase, but found the service and accommodations pleasant and comfortable. This is not a luxury resort by any means, but that is not why we went to Kangaroo Island. Our hosts, Ros and Chris, were friendly and cooked up a storm for breakfast. They even hoisted an American flag for the two Americans staying the night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaReston_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for three nights as a basis for a number of beautiful tours on the island.
It was very relaxing with a great guide.
The B&B is a bit uphill but it gave a beautiful view on the beach. The evening we made a walibi safari in the B&B's neighbourhood and we saw a lot. But than we had to climb back...
The atmosphere is very pleasant with Ros and Chris as very good hosts who were extremely helpful in making our stay comfortable. Breakfast was very good, dinner was simple but good.
The rooms were simple but comfortable and clean.
The whole of the accommodation is a bit outdated, though.In a way it is charming but some refurbishment is nevertheless to be done.
Therefore I give it a "very good" and not an "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harrielux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the Easter Break and really enjoyed it. The hosts, Ros and Chris, were very friendly and happy to accommodate any extraordinary requests. The food cooked in the restaurant by Helen (sorry if I have her name wrong) was simple fare but extremely delicious - tasty local fish, succulent steaks and delicious desserts. Breakfast was equally good. The rooms are getting a little old in the tooth but are very clean and comfortable. The view across American River from the balcony was superb, especially the sunrises. The only slight criticism is the value for money. We paid nearly $250 per night with meals extra, which was a bit much. All in all though, I'm glad I stayed and would stay again but I'd try and get a better deal from the booking website.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderersrest, Owner at Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thanks for the lovely review Leerja74, it was an absolute pleasure to host you and no trouble to accommodate your requests. Your spelling is perfect and our cook is appreciative of your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed at Wanderer's Rest of Kangaroo Island based upon reviews on Trip Advisor and another web site. Reviews are subjective of course, and in this case the reality did not hold up to the reviews.

This motel is showing it's age and definitely need some work. The bed was so hard both of us had trouble sleeping. Free internet did not work. It just wasn't a good pick for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderersrest, Owner at Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to learn that you didn't find the bed as comfortable as our other guests have found them to be. Regarding the wi-fi internet, as far as we can tell, it was working throughout your stay in the public areas (guest lounge, dining room, balcony). We don't guarantee reception in the rooms given their location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
455 reviews
56.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
10 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
922 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island

Address: Lot 2, Bayview Road | American River, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in American River
Price Range: £98 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderers Rest Of Kangaroo Island American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing