We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casuarina Coastal Units
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in American River
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I took my Mum across to Kangaroo Island as I had not been there before and I wanted to show her something different other than our usual Barossa and Handorf outings. I wanted a self contained unit without a big price tag. This was perfect for us, it had a good size fridge and freezer which meant we could keep our costs down by bringing our own food with us. The kitchen is small but very practicle and everything worked well. The unit was clean and tidy, beds were comfortable. The water pressure is very low, however as I have grown up in the country this is something that I understand comes with having to capture your own water and not having any mains. The really great thing was being able to get up close to some wallabies. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

My daughter and I stayed for three nights and found it suited our needs perfectly. It was budget priced but was cheery, comfortable and homely. It was much nicer than staying in a park cabin. We were able to keep food fresh in a large modern fridge/freezer and use the small stove top and microwave to prepare our meals. The kitchen had everything we needed. We were able to watch TV on a modern good size TV. Kim and Ken were very friendly and had a great knowledge of Kangaroo Island. We found it a great place to access all the attractions and not far from Kingscote for supplies. It was in a quiet area and it was easy to get a good night's sleep in the warm comfortable beds. We would highly recommend it as value for money for those on a budget.

Room Tip: Bring food supplies with you. Kingscote is the cheapest place to shop on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tubbystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

When our family travel we do it on a budget and I am becoming tired of places that begrudge everything they provide for you. Casuarina is the opposite, everything you could hope to find in accommodation and providing extras that places far more costly don't. Plentiful linen and artisan soaps as well as large quantities of small wrapped bars, spacious floor plan, well equipped kitchen, dozens of extra blankets and all set in delightful grounds so you can breakfast in the sunshine just outside the unit. Ken and Kim are superb hosts, always helpful, but not intruding. A beautiful location in quiet surrounds. Definitely recommend it.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank CaT0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at Casurina Coastal Units for 4 nights having a great time at the K.I Cup(horse racing)What a great place to stay and great value for money.The units were clean and tidy and very quiet.I cannot say enough good things about the owners Kim and Ken.They are so friendly and helpful even supplying fresh seafood fron K.I to cook on the bbq.My stay was fantastic and so much fun.The wineries that Kim recommended were fantastic,Scenery was amazing and the beaches were so beautiful and most times we had them to ourselves.I will be returning here for sure and certainly staying here again.Thank you Kim and Ken for making it so special. Janine

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
158 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We spent two nights here - which we thought was enough to cover the main Kangaroo Island sights. The location is perfect - and is close to all of the Kangaroo Island attractions, especially if you have rented a car (you really have no other option on Kangaroo Island). The island itself only has approximately 4000 people so staying in one of the "bigger" towns like Kingscote or Penneshaw really doesn't make much of a difference in terms of things to do. There is a small shop nearby which has basically everything you need (including petrol), which stays open until around 8PM.

The room was basic but clean, with a slightly odd (but interesting) colour scheme, and provided all required amenities (cooking etc). Some locally handmade soap was provided which was a nice touch, and the beds were firm and comfortable. My only complaint was that the automatic air freshener was very strong, but it was able to be turned off :) Yes, the water pressure is low - but that's because they run on tank water - it's still adequate for a shower.

The hosts were very hospitable and were helpful in providing suggestions on where to eat and visit. I would stay here again :)

Room Tip: There are only a handfull of units, so it doesn't really matter which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We spent 4 days staying in these units with our children. My parents also had a unit next door. We found the units well stocked with cutlery, pans etc and plenty of blankets. Kim explained the highlights of the island and had suggestions for eating out. The children were please to find a small playground. As you need to watch water usage, don't rely on washing clothes at the unit, and the machines at Kingscote were expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cadbury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had never been to Kangaroo Island before, and though we were expecting a rustic atmosphere, we were a bit surprised at the lack of amenities...heat being one! I'm sure the CC units are more pleasant in the summer season, but with one small space heater to heat 2 bedrooms, it was a long four night stay. Color scheme was unusual but lively. Possums dancing on the roof at night (but we came for the wildlife!) With that said, the owners were friendly and pleasant when we checked in.

Room Tip: If going in winter, layer up! And ask for extra heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank live2travel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kicu, Owner at Casuarina Coastal Units, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. This July on Kangaroo Island, was indeed cold and had some of the coldest daytime and nighttime temperatures for some years. Additional heaters are provided when requested but are not kept in the rooms as space is an issue. There are lots of blankets provided in the cupboard for the extra chilly nights.
We can not do a lot about the possums on the roof as they are wild animals and unfortunately at times they do sound like they are having a party with all their mates -but that is nature!!
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
56.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
11.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Coastal Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Coastal Units

Property: Casuarina Coastal Units
Address: 9 Ryberg Rd, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casuarina Coastal Units 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casuarina Coastal Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Coastal Units Kangaroo Island/American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing