We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclist Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casuarina Coastal Units
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in American River
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a great one night stay, very reasonably priced for Kangaroo Island, ken & Kim were SO helpful, particularly with the bicycle, all the facilities you require, large refrigerator, two burner stove and microwave

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmcian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Casuarina Coastal Units
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed four nights here and used it as a base for exploring Kangaroo Island. The owners were really friendly, and had even made some ice cubes in the freezer ready for our arrival. We really appreciated this as we were hot from driving down from Adelaide and crossing on the ferry. The unit was great - dated decor, but clean and spacious. No aircon, but the fans were sufficient so we could sleep even during the heatwave that struck the island while we were there. It was great having a kitchen - we suggest you buy some seafood from the oyster farm shop and cook it up one night of your stay. Delicious!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natasha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Ken the owner could not have been more friendly and helpful (Kim was away so didn't see her - next time !). The units were perfect to kick off your boots and relax after a hard days walking ! The kitchen units etc. are not modern but very well maintained and clean. The kitchen had everything you could need to cook simple meals on the 2 ring hobs and microwave. The wildlife around the property was special, sightings aided by Ken's excellent knowledge.
I would definitely stay here again. Many thanks Ken - it could not have been a better stay for us. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herowConsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Casuarina and it was a perfect. Ken and Kim are good hosts, Kim provided us all the info we need to explore KI. The unit is nothing fancy but has everything we wanted for a comfy stay. If you can watch sunrise at the lagoon nearby,plenty of beautiful black swans...
We would definitely come back:) good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lihn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

From the other reviews of Casuarina units, it sounded like the perfect spot for us and I can tell you we were not at all dissapointed. It was perfect! From the first interaction to the last, Kim and Ken were immensly helpful and friendly without being intruding or pushy. One of the main reasons we went to KI was to relax, try some fishing and see some of the beautiful island. For this purpose the units was a perfect 10 out of 10 match! For fishing, plenty of close options, the beach (2 minute walk), the jetty (10 min walk) and charter boats leaving from the jetty as well.
Having heard of our first days unsuccessful nature, Ken delievered us one of his catches. Very unexpected and welcomed!! There is a great fish cleaning area at the units, with a free lesson off Ken to get us started. After a few days we managed to catch fish everyday for dinner.

American river was also a great location as it was a 25min drive to Kingscote for supplies and closer to Penshaw although we generally always went to Kingscote. American River was so peaceful and quiet, the people friendly. We had initially planned to stay half our time in American River or Kingscote and then stay on the other side of the island the rest of the time. We were so happy with our first 4 days at Casuarina units that we decided to stay all our days there PLUS extended our holiday for a few more days.

The units were clean and well maintained. The kitchen was COMPLETE as any I have stayed. We didn't need to have brought as much stuff as we did with us as everything was there.

We had a koala in the tree outside our unit for most of the stay, wallabies visiting nightly for a drink, and the sound of the birds in the morning just spectacular!

As you can tell, we loved it and will not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who is headed to KI.
IMO: Do not book anything with Sealink, after buying your (VERY expensive!!) ferry ticket, they try to sell you insurance, they try to convince you to book accomodation through them (at a higher rate of course),...like the $390.00 you got out of us for a 30min ferry ride isn't enough already!! come'on?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aussieinturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I took my Mum across to Kangaroo Island as I had not been there before and I wanted to show her something different other than our usual Barossa and Handorf outings. I wanted a self contained unit without a big price tag. This was perfect for us, it had a good size fridge and freezer which meant we could keep our costs down by bringing our own food with us. The kitchen is small but very practicle and everything worked well. The unit was clean and tidy, beds were comfortable. The water pressure is very low, however as I have grown up in the country this is something that I understand comes with having to capture your own water and not having any mains. The really great thing was being able to get up close to some wallabies. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My daughter and I stayed for three nights and found it suited our needs perfectly. It was budget priced but was cheery, comfortable and homely. It was much nicer than staying in a park cabin. We were able to keep food fresh in a large modern fridge/freezer and use the small stove top and microwave to prepare our meals. The kitchen had everything we needed. We were able to watch TV on a modern good size TV. Kim and Ken were very friendly and had a great knowledge of Kangaroo Island. We found it a great place to access all the attractions and not far from Kingscote for supplies. It was in a quiet area and it was easy to get a good night's sleep in the warm comfortable beds. We would highly recommend it as value for money for those on a budget.

Room Tip: Bring food supplies with you. Kingscote is the cheapest place to shop on the island.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tubbystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
56.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
0.1 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
416 reviews
9.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
844 reviews
11.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Coastal Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Coastal Units

Address: 9 Ryberg Rd, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in American River
Price Range: £55 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casuarina Coastal Units 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casuarina Coastal Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Coastal Units Kangaroo Island/American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing