We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting - but much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
Reviewed 26 February 2013

FCBR is a very friendly and wlecoming place. The studio apartments are new and clean. It was wonderful to be invited to raid the vegetable garden at any time. Dave and Chloe (the dog) welcomed us and showed us around the place. There are millions of stars and a printine environment to enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 438Cheryl438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

G'day mate, thanks for your response. More fish yesterday by guests at beach. Having on BBQ tonight. Looking forward to 'lamb on spit" at "yours" in June and of course buggy ride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

lour Cask Bay Retreat is the place to stay on Kangaroo Island; it’s perfect!

Full marks to Dave, Jeannie and their adorable dog, Chloe.

You’d be hard pressed to find more charming hosts. Dave and Jeannie’s
pride in KI is evident in everything they do. From the warm, friendly
welcome to the sparkling clean and very well equipped accommodation,
Flour Cask Bay Retreat deserves the highest accolades. Dave's
effervescent personality, combined with his impressive knowledge of
the island, makes for great conversation. His advice on the places to
visit is spot on.

The location of Flour Cask Bay Retreat is wonderful, enhanced by its
stunning pristine private beach! Wildlife abound, especially kangaroos
and wallabies, adding a truly memorable touch to the KI experience.
The night sky was also the most beautiful we've ever seen.

What more can we say? Flour Cask Bay Retreat is a really special place to stay.

Our only regret is that we couldn’t take Chloe with us! We’ll have to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddiePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thanks for review Eddie. Yes we are so blessed to be living here in paradise. School of 20 or more dolphins frolicking in waves this morning so we are aware of how special this part of Kangaroo Island is. Look forward to email with photos..... D & J & C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Asked booking office for a beach front place. A little disappointed when we arrived and the beach was very short drive to the end of the property. This soon turned to joy when we saw the beach and how secluded it was. Enjoyed being the only ones on the beach, being able to wander off leaving camera etc unattended. Beautiful rock pool to sit in together, with the waves just lapping the edge, very romantic. Great hosts very friendly, supplied maps and info about the island and invited us for a wonderful fish dinner. They even took us for a drive to see a beautiful sunset. We enjoyed their company so much we have invited them to visit us when they come to N.S.W. The price was great for what was included. Even the room we stayed in was nice with full size fridge, kitchen lounge, bathroom etc. Even though we come from a 3,000 acre property where we run a Scenic Dune Buggy Business we found the views on the property breathtaking. A very special part of Kangaroo Island, we would highly recommend it.
Mark and Cheryl Cravino

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

G'day Mark, thanks for a lovely review mate. Loved having you here and look forward to seeing you both in June. Get that young goat ready for spit mate, and engines tuned. Mouths are watering already. Will give you dates soon D,J &C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at FCBR early in the new year for 4 nights. Our stay was brilliant! The hosts were extremely friendly and they welcomed us into their little piece of beauty which is FCBR. They did everything they could to make sure we had a great holiday, including inviting us into their home for an evening meal. The location is remote but central to all sights and you have access to a private beach with no other people and lots and lots of wildlife is on your doorstep. If you want to stay in a remote, peaceful and beautiful location which is surrounded by wildlife, with extremely friendly hosts, we would recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay at FCB in Jan 2013. It's in a beautiful secluded spot and lived up to the reputation of KI - in that we saw kangaroos and wallabies every evening on the driveway! Dave and Jeannie are wonderfully welcoming hosts with plenty of advice on how to make the most of your trip, no matter how long or short your stay. They clearly love KI and want to make sure you fall in love with it too - which we certainly did! The room was great, with everything we needed in the kitchen and a beautiful veranda on which to enjoy some al fresco dining (quite a treat for a Londoner!). Highly recommend a stay here if you're heading to KI.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cluckin_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thanks so much for review. Jeannie and I loved having you hear. Having heard all about London, crowds and hectic lifestyle I think we'll just kick back here and enjoy the serenity. Hope to see your relly's soon. Take care and hope to see you next time in Australia... Dave, Jeannie and Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at Flour Cask Bay in December 2012 for 3 nights. I'm so happy we found this little piece of heaven it was absolutely beautiful. If you are looking for hosted b&b type accommodation with access to a private beach and with expert KI knowledge then definitely stay at Flour Cask bay with Dave and Jeannie!! We have beautiful memories of our stay, especially cheese, wine & crackers on the private beach!!!! lots of kangaroos at night!!! we were even treated to a beautiful home cooked meal on our last night!!!We will definitely be back next time we are in KI!!!!!! Thanks for our stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CairnFoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thanks for your review guys. It was great having you here. Hope all well in job search and all settled in new environment. Come back soon, another feed of fresh KI whiting awaits Cheers for now till your next visit . LOL Dave, Jeannie and Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Flour Cask Bay is ideal for couples who like to stay in a place far away from anywhere. The hosts Dave & Jeannie are very welcoming but not intrusive. Dave is a good source of information on what to do on Kangaroo Island. There is a wild & secluded beach close by but access probably requires an average level of fitness. We had some of the best sleeps ever - absolutely quiet apart from a few native animals & the ocean. Although the accommodation is very clean & comfortable you will more than likely sit outside much of the time.

Room Tip: Rooms are bed sit style with a good size kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 124Ces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thanks for review Ces. Have just figured how to reply to reviews. You know we are 20 years behind the times on KI just like our computor skills, in fact we only heard of Trip Advisor just before you came to stay. Looks like everyone pretty happy with Flour Cask Bay Retreat. Hope you are getting some good sleep home now with hustle and bustle of your city life. Don't reckon Jeannie and I could handle it too well. Look forward to seeing you next time Cheers Dave Jeannie and Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American River
51.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
7.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
433 reviews
16.8 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
14.5 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
877 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flour Cask Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flour Cask Bay Retreat

Address: 383B Old Salt Lake Rd | Haines, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in American River
Price Range: £76 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flour Cask Bay Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flour Cask Bay Retreat, affordable solar eco retreat built 2006. Views, absolute peace and serenity [max 2 couples at any one time], Beach access by road 2kms, complimentary tour of property. Ideally situated as a base from which to explore K.I. Located on 200 acres in total and adjoining approximately 1000 acres of native bushland, 2 kilometres from the south coast of the island, our greatest drawcard is the abundance of kangaroos and wallabies that migrate from the bushland onto the property and can be easily seen in large numbers at dawn and dusk. Echidnas, endangered Rosenberg's goannas, a great variety of birdlife can be encountered on this rural estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Flour Cask Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flour Cask Bay Retreat Kangaroo Island/American River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing