We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flour Cask Bay Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge(American River)(Great Value!)
US$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Links Lady Bay Resort(Normanville)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casuarina Coastal Units(American River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
30
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour of the propertyplaces to visitbeautiful sunseteach eveningwonderful hostsunsealed roadcomfortable roomkangaroo islandkarontoasterdrivewayduskechidnaverandakangaroos2kmbird
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had a fantastic time at FCBR. Stayed 4 nights. Fabulous hosts (Dave, Jeannie and Chloe (the beautiful german shephard)). Dave's local knowledge is priceless. Great bloke, shared a moment 'sheep herding'. Jeannnie's fruit/veg garden was a pleasant surprise. They made us feel like part of the family. The accommodation was very well appointed and clean. Hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gandjodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

G'day Grant and Julie. Thank you for your review and kind words. Jeannie and I certainly loved having you both here and hopefully we can catch up for more laughs in September. Yes we are real sheep men now mate. A horse and arkubra each would seal the deal. Hear from you soon re next trip. Cheers for now D,J &C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Flour Cask Bay and enjoyed every minute of our stay! Our hosts, Dave and Jeannie, were absolutely fabulous!! We felt very welcomed and at home (which after a few weeks of travelling was really nice). Our room was clean and comfortable and it was great to be able to cook our own meals. We were lucky enough to have a home cooked meal made by Jeannie as well (the fish was AMAZING!). I am a dog owner and was missing my guy so being able to go out into the garden and play with their dog Cloe was a great start to my mornings!

The beach was a little further than I had originally thought it might be, but it was completely private and I was able to still walk down. On one of my walks down I had one of my most amazing wildlife experiences... I was about half way when I noticed a roo down the path in front of me. I stopped behind a bush and grabbed my camera and to my surprise the roo kept hopping towards me (I was hidden behind the bush and down wind...). I was patient and the roo hopped within 2m of me which is when I decided to make myself known... the roo turned direction and went into the bush and I was super excited about the encouter! Completely made my day and a highlight of my trip to Australia :-) Wish my hasband had been there to see this roo but he was off on a run... we saw heaps of roos coming into the property each evening as well.

Our stay was great and we would book again in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssmiley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thankyou for your feed back guys. Wildlife experiences happen each day at FCBR so I guess we take it for granted but we are truly blessed here. Keep safe and hope to catch up when in Canada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

FCBR is a very friendly and wlecoming place. The studio apartments are new and clean. It was wonderful to be invited to raid the vegetable garden at any time. Dave and Chloe (the dog) welcomed us and showed us around the place. There are millions of stars and a printine environment to enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 438Cheryl438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

G'day mate, thanks for your response. More fish yesterday by guests at beach. Having on BBQ tonight. Looking forward to 'lamb on spit" at "yours" in June and of course buggy ride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

lour Cask Bay Retreat is the place to stay on Kangaroo Island; it’s perfect!

Full marks to Dave, Jeannie and their adorable dog, Chloe.

You’d be hard pressed to find more charming hosts. Dave and Jeannie’s
pride in KI is evident in everything they do. From the warm, friendly
welcome to the sparkling clean and very well equipped accommodation,
Flour Cask Bay Retreat deserves the highest accolades. Dave's
effervescent personality, combined with his impressive knowledge of
the island, makes for great conversation. His advice on the places to
visit is spot on.

The location of Flour Cask Bay Retreat is wonderful, enhanced by its
stunning pristine private beach! Wildlife abound, especially kangaroos
and wallabies, adding a truly memorable touch to the KI experience.
The night sky was also the most beautiful we've ever seen.

What more can we say? Flour Cask Bay Retreat is a really special place to stay.

Our only regret is that we couldn’t take Chloe with us! We’ll have to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddiePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thanks for review Eddie. Yes we are so blessed to be living here in paradise. School of 20 or more dolphins frolicking in waves this morning so we are aware of how special this part of Kangaroo Island is. Look forward to email with photos..... D & J & C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Asked booking office for a beach front place. A little disappointed when we arrived and the beach was very short drive to the end of the property. This soon turned to joy when we saw the beach and how secluded it was. Enjoyed being the only ones on the beach, being able to wander off leaving camera etc unattended. Beautiful rock pool to sit in together, with the waves just lapping the edge, very romantic. Great hosts very friendly, supplied maps and info about the island and invited us for a wonderful fish dinner. They even took us for a drive to see a beautiful sunset. We enjoyed their company so much we have invited them to visit us when they come to N.S.W. The price was great for what was included. Even the room we stayed in was nice with full size fridge, kitchen lounge, bathroom etc. Even though we come from a 3,000 acre property where we run a Scenic Dune Buggy Business we found the views on the property breathtaking. A very special part of Kangaroo Island, we would highly recommend it.
Mark and Cheryl Cravino

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L, Owner at Flour Cask Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

G'day Mark, thanks for a lovely review mate. Loved having you here and look forward to seeing you both in June. Get that young goat ready for spit mate, and engines tuned. Mouths are watering already. Will give you dates soon D,J &C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews