We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy and well placed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island
Goolwa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy and well placed”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Nice and close to the Sealink Ferry, all seemed clean and tidy, Kitchen good for a backpackers, and only a short walk to an excellent beach. Hotel, Cafe and takeaway close by but don't expect too much night life.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
8
19
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I arrived at night after a stormy ferry passage to be greeted by friendly Helen on reception who was very welcoming. As I was travelling off peak I was lucky enough to have the whole female dorm to myself! It was really spacious and neat and so great to snuggle up under a warm duvet!

The YHA is located right across the street from the Penneshawe Penguin centre, and as these Penguins are very fragile and few and far between, you shouldn't go and look for them on your own, so it's really worth heading to the Penguin centre there on your first night and paying for a guided tour. There's an educational talk and the guides are very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and the money goes direct to helping to preserve these tiny blue fairy penguins, whose numbers are declining. If you have paid for one tour ($13) they welcome you back for more penguin spotting free if you'd like to go again.

At the end of my trip on Kangaroo Island I went back and stayed at the YHA for a couple more nights. I did the Island highlights tour (if you book it last minute on the day before during off peak season it's a lot cheaper but I guess in busy times you have to book far in advance) I also brought along some friends I'd made and the YHA staff were really helpful and great at booking in people at the last minute and booking tours for them. The hostel also has a lounge room with tv and a really cute Kitchen with tables inside and out. Although I went at the end of June so there was some wild weather, it was still such beautiful scenery and you can get up and walk down to the beach which is just a couple of minutes walk from the hostel. The air on Kangaroo Island feels so fresh and I slept so comfortably at the YHA. The YHA in Penneshawe is a great place to stay, you can walk from the ferry to the hostel, there are some amazing country walks from there, you can do the penguin tour at night and there's also a great fish and chip shop, pub and coffee shop all just around the corner from the YHA.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hostel is not flash but it's got everything you need. It had a comfortable atmosphere and the manager was very friendly and helpful. A hop away from the beach and the local supermarket.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandjill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

As other travellers said, we reserved a double ensuite and got a bunk room with one double bunk, which is not quite very cosy. But it was quiet and clean. And Helen, the owner, was really kind with us and good fun. We stayed three nights, one day we had a tour and the next it was raining,so we stayed in the room for almost all day. Nice views from the window, and clean and well equipped kitchen. And 2minutes walk through the village, with good food at the pub (we didn't try the other restaurants). We definitely would recommend this for families, single travellers and couples who do not dream of a princess room with nice decoration everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Super Clean. Quiet.

Helpful and friendly front desk (Thanks Libby and Helen).

Across the street from the beach and ferry terminal. Grocery around the corner. You will need to hire a car.

Laundry and well equipped kitchen.

A nice retreat and cheap internet

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lve2travel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We needed to stay in Penneshaw for our last night in the island as we were taking the ferry early the following morning. I had quite a shock when attempting to book accommodation over the internet. Everything was totally overpriced...apart from the YHA, which offered a family room for a reasonnable price. I was slightly worried about it during the trip but needed not have been. It had a separate double bedroom (no closing door, mind you) and 2x2 bunks in the main room, a table and chairs, a fridge and a very clean bathroom, with bedding and towels provided. All very basic but perfectly suited to 2 adults and 2 teenage kids. The only issue we had was the other noisy, partying lodgers of the hostel, but then again we were somewhat expecting it. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a no-thrill room in Penneshaw and doesn't want to feel ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank froggy45500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. The accommodation is basic but fine for a couple of nights. The shower provided hot water albeit not at much power. The rooms have a fridge and there is a communal kitchen and laundry.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penneshaw
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
382 reviews
66.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
17.4 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Backpackers - Hostel
1.0 mi away
Lindsays of Kangaroo Island
Lindsays of Kangaroo Island
#2 of 2 in Penneshaw
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island

Property: Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island
Address: 33 Middle Terrace, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia (Formerly Kangaroo Island YHA)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Penneshaw
Hotel Class:3 star — Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tandarra Lodge Kangaroo Island Penneshaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing