We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“picture perfect.”
other travellers have booked this property
Alfresco dining over the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alfresco dining over the sea
Dining over the ocean
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Alfresco dining over the sea
Dining over the ocean
Huge deck for lounging and dining
Sea views from kitchen
Lounge view
Comfortable furnishings
Open plan living
Views right down the bay!
Western's Rest with council reserve beside it.
Plenty of room to relax
Awaken to superb sea views
Second bedroom
New well appointed kitchen
New bathroom
Bunk room
Alfresco dining over the sea!
Penneshaw Bay
Penneshaw beach
Penneshaw Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sydneysid...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“picture perfect.”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A beautiful, clean house that commands amazing views of beach and water. Well equipped, including a fire which the kids loved.
We very much enjoyed our stay at Westerns Rest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and modern clean decor
Liked least: no shampoo or conditioner provided.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the views, the amenities and cosy fire at Western's Rest!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex B
South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Sunlit space, wall of windows, panoramic views.”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The web site photos promised much. We were not disappointed. Waking to see the sunrise colour the sea and sky and hearing the waves lapping the shore was memorable. The furniture was comfortable and the decor showed an owner that cared about making a stay here a comfortable one. The modern, well equipped kitchen had just as good a view as the front rooms (handy when making toast whilst simultaneously watching travellers disembarking from a Dutch cruise ship just outside the front door!)
We enjoyed what KI had to offer, but dare we say it, we equally enjoyed coming back to the house and hope to come again. Thank you Jan and Peter for your friendliness and help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Thank you for your feedback! So glad Western's Rest more than lived up to your expectations. Yes, one can really appreciate sunlight, colours of sunset and landscape inside and out. We hope you get the chance to revisit Western's Rest in the future!
Jan and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenella B
Bellingen, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great views and a fab kitchen”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was our second stay at Western's Rest and we found it just as comfortable as the first. The kitchen facilities are outstanding - with everything you need to cook an evening meal, and the IGA has all the supplies you might want. In spite of the proximity of the ferries, and the small road in front of the house, all we ever really heard was the gentle sound of the waves. Buy some local wine and produce and sit out on the deck and watch the coming and going of the ferries. It became quite an obsession with us.

Be sure to drop in at Island Pure for your sheep yoghurt and cheese supplies, and the KI Spirits honey walnut liqueur affogato on local honeycomb ice-cream is divine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and the views
Liked least: Slippery bathroom floor
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We try hard to ensure our guests have everything required for comfort and cooking meals. Yes, the views are great.....even whilst cooking!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elam47
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

WE thoroughly enjoyed Kangaroo Island in general and WESTERNS REST in particular. Enjoyed watching the ferries coming and going. We also enjoyed the fire which we lit each night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position and outlook.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TinyWizar...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for group of 6 (3 couples)”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodations are fantastic at Western's Rest! The location is easy to find and very convenient to the ferry and several Penneshaw sites (eg. Frenchman's Rock, the beach, the Penguin Center, and the IGA grocery store). The house is well-kept with plenty of room for cooking and laundry if needed. The weather was a little out of sorts while we were there so we were able to use both the air conditioning unit and the fireplace, and both worked well. Finally, since we were a group of 6 adults (3 couples), we were slightly concerned about having 1 bathroom, but it's really 1.5 bathrooms. There is one full bathroom with a toilet, sink, and shower, and there is another half bathroom with a toilet, and you can wash your hands in the sink in the kitchen if needed. Therefore it fit our needs perfectly!

The only confusion we had was how to pay (pay upon checkout), and there was some miscommunication with the owner so be sure to understand clearly ahead of time how your payment process is arranged.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are very glad Western's Rest was ideal accommodation for your group. We also have an outdoor hot and cold shower for beach goers. We organise payment of cash on arrival just for overseas visitors as this avoids expensive bank fees for both parties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S997
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for four days after witnessing the slaughter of our cricket team in Adelaide. It was just what we needed to recover! The property is beautifully appointed, and everything about the place looks new and well cared for. We particularly liked the decking with the great views over the bay, a couple of times we saw a pod of dolphins splashing about. The local magpies are 'friendly' and hopped onto the table given the chance. A car is essential, or we found it so, to get to the great attractions on the island, which is really quite large! Sea-lions, NZ fur seals, and Vivonne Bay are all at the other end of the island and quite a long drive. However, Chapman River winery is just up the road to Cape Willoughby and was a really lovely visit for us, with friendly owners and great wines, and coffee-----and cake. Very highly recommended!
Wallabies found the grass just in front of the decking appealing after dark, which we loved.
A very comfortable house indeed and very good place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing