We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for but not 5 stars, but worth a visit”
Review of Dudley Cellar Door

Dudley Cellar Door
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Penneshaw
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dudley's cliff-top Cellar Door is situated on Kangaroo Island's stunning North Coast, just a few minutes drive from the Ferry Terminal in Penneshaw. Open 10am-5pm daily. Taste handcrafted K.I. wines in a spectacular location while enjoying a gourmet K.I. pizza or platter. Browse through our exquisite range of wool and natural fibre clothing, K.I. produce and artworks. Coffee and beer also available.
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The views are suburb, go for that alone, we had the gourmet meat pizza, nice but overpriced. The freshly cooked bread with the choose your own condiments is a winner, the bread was gone in no time - hot and fresh. What surprised us was the lack if help with the wines. Not even an offer for a tasting - it is a cellar door? We picked a Shiraz and a Cab Sav which were fine, but it would have been 5 star if a tasting was offered before sitting down to the food or selecting a wine with lunch, maybe staff a bit disengaged that day due to bring busy?

Thank SMJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam H, Manager at Dudley Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our "create your own platter" option with local & regional produce. This has certainly been a hit! We are sorry that you felt that our gourmet pizza's were overpriced. We certainly believe that $28 for a gourmet pizza incorporating Kangaroo Island produce that serves two people is good value for money. We are shocked and sorry to hear that you were not offered a wine tasting as soon as you walked in our doors as our wines are our top priority. We too can only put it down to that we were run off our feet the day you visited and we wish you had of brought this to our attention at the time as we would have loved for you to have tasted all of our wines. We hope to see you again some time soon.
Cheers!
The team @ Dudley :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

This winery has everything going for it except they need a cook!
The views and location are superb, the wines are ok for KI
The service was average.
The bucket of prawns, well it was more like a prawn entrée or prawn cocktail, I think a bucket is a bit misleading.
Don't bother with the whiting pizza, I thought there were small slices of cheese on the pizza but they were miniature slivers of whiting. You would think for the price & location, they could at least put some fish on there.

Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam H, Manager at Dudley Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hi Wayne.
We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our Cellar Door when you visited just under a year ago. We are intrigued as to why it took you this long to review. We are a Cellar Door, offering a light lunch menu to accompany our wine and never portray our venue as a restaurant with a chef. We are constantly praised about our gourmet pizzas (especially our King George Whiting Pizza) from happy customers, who are satisfied with the locally inspired food menu that we offer. We also believe that our bucket of S.A. King Prawns is great value at $25 (it has been this price since we opened our first Cellar Door over 10 years ago)! We are sorry you didn’t feel the same way. We hope to see you again sometime and hope your next visit is a better one.
Cheers,
The team @ Dudley :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We called in to get some wine as we had tried it elsewhere on the Island. So very glad we did! We had a late lunch out on the deck, the views were amazing. Walking in, you have no idea of what awaits, so seeing the incredible view was a real bonus. There were some great pieces of art for sale and a range of clothing which was just too tempting. Definitely worth visiting even if you aren't a wine lover! Speaking of wines, we left with quite a few of them as well.

Thank Rosalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam H, Manager at Dudley Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at our Cellar Door and so happy that you made the trip out. We hope you enjoyed your stay on the Island and look forward to having you come back and visit again real soon. Cheers, the team @ Dudley :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The staff here were super friendly. We had coffee and cake. Sat outside on the deck soaking up the sun, the birds and the views. Just a relaxing place.

Thank nek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam H, Manager at Dudley Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Chocolate Fudge Cake and your time at our Cellar Door. We hope you will return again soon. Cheers, the team @ Dudley :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Brochure at the visitor centre lead us to this gem. It was a very quiet Saturday morning when we walked through the front door and were greeted with the most wonderful view. Had a tasting and decided on the nice shiraz, a lighter style than we had in the Barossa and a perfect drop to accompany the KI beef pizza. A nice range of art works and souvenirs to browse after our meal capped off the experience. Would recommend driving out to the lighthouse, then dropping in for lunch here afterwards.

Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam H, Manager at Dudley Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our cellar door. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Cheers, the team @ Dudley :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dudley Cellar Door also viewed

Cygnet River, Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
Seal Bay, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Dudley Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing