We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable wine with stunning scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dudley Cellar Door

Dudley Cellar Door
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Penneshaw
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dudley's cliff-top Cellar Door is situated on Kangaroo Island's stunning North Coast, just a few minutes drive from the Ferry Terminal in Penneshaw. Open 10am-5pm daily. Taste handcrafted K.I. wines in a spectacular location while enjoying a gourmet K.I. pizza or platter. Browse through our exquisite range of wool and natural fibre clothing, K.I. produce and artworks. Coffee and beer also available.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Reasonable wine with stunning scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the dirt road and long driveway in to Dudley Winery. Once you arrive the warm welcome and fabulous view makes it worthwhile. Our time was limited but we had a most enjoyable wine tasting and great coffee. The items for sale were high quality and service was efficient. We would have loved to stay to try some of the platters on offer. Definitely worth the drive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank brisvegas1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam H, Manager at Dudley Cellar Door, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit to our cellar door and look forward to your visit again sometime. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    42
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All that glitters, isn't gold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful cellar door, amazing views, love the decking overlooking this spectacular countryside..
Service was quite unfriendly and didn't feel very welcome.. Were the only customers in the place and felt like a nuisance! Food was very average and disappointing considering the high prices..
Fabulous surroundings and beautiful building..

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank B0bla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam H, Manager at Dudley Cellar Door, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for visiting our cellar door. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and wines. We are disappointed to hear that you found our service anything but excellent as we pride ourselves on friendly customer service. We apologise that you did not experience this whilst at our cellar door and we have certainly taken your feedback on board.
Cheers,
The team @ Dudley :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wine tasting at Dudley Cellar Door”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very pleasant atmosphere. Friendly and welcoming staff. Quality of wines sampled was excellent - will definitely be buying more online.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam H, Manager at Dudley Cellar Door, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Jake,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit to our cellar door and liked our wines too!
Cheers,
The Team @ Dudley :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, nice wines”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is the cellar door for a winery where the grape growing and wine production is carried out elsewhere. The tastings were well informed and we were impressed particularly with the reisling, sheep shed red and a shiraz, which we purchased and enjoyed later also. Lunch is available, we enjoyed a tasting plate of local cheese and dip and a delicious pizza.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam H, Manager at Dudley Cellar Door, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here and our wines. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Cheers!
The team @ Dudley :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Views to die for but not 5 stars, but worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The views are suburb, go for that alone, we had the gourmet meat pizza, nice but overpriced. The freshly cooked bread with the choose your own condiments is a winner, the bread was gone in no time - hot and fresh. What surprised us was the lack if help with the wines. Not even an offer for a tasting - it is a cellar door? We picked a Shiraz and a Cab Sav which were fine, but it would have been 5 star if a tasting was offered before sitting down to the food or selecting a wine with lunch, maybe staff a bit disengaged that day due to bring busy?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tam H, Manager at Dudley Cellar Door, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our "create your own platter" option with local & regional produce. This has certainly been a hit! We are sorry that you felt that our gourmet pizza's were overpriced. We certainly believe that $28 for a gourmet pizza incorporating Kangaroo Island produce that serves two people is good value for money. We are shocked and sorry to hear that you were not offered a wine tasting as soon as you walked in our doors as our wines are our top priority. We too can only put it down to that we were run off our feet the day you visited and we wish you had of brought this to our attention at the time as we would have loved for you to have tasted all of our wines. We hope to see you again some time soon.
Cheers!
The team @ Dudley :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dudley Cellar Door also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Dudley Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing