We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay when visiting Kangaroo Island”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beachcomber

Relaxing
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relaxing
Absolute beach frontage Master bedroom with ensuite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Relaxing
Absolute beach frontage
Master bedroom with ensuite
Second bedroom with sea views
Bunk room
living area with panoramic views
Outdoor dining with great beach and sea views
Sunrise in winter
privacy and view
Yacht racing
Local pelicans
Ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
norma590
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great place to stay when visiting Kangaroo Island”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Our extended family spent a wonderful few days at Beachcomber, which is located a few metres from a quiet beach, yet is in a great location to see the attractions at the Eastern end of the island.
The house is delightful and looks out over the water. It is spacious and beautifully decorated. Nothing has been overlooked and everything that you might need is there.
We will certainly stay at Beachcomber again, if we go back to Kangaroo Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the house
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2016
Thank you Norma. We are happy your family had such a good holiday at Beachcomber, it really does work for groups such as yours. We would love to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckett20...
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is a large well equipped house overlooking the beach, with a spacious and comfortable lounge area and a kitchen with everything you needed.
We stayed there for four nights which wasn't long enough to see everything on kangaroo island.
Although the house is at one end of the island don't be put off by that it's quite easy to get to flinders national park which is the other of the island.
One thing to bear in mind is there is a IGA in Penneshaw so you don't have to go into Kingscote for supplies.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review. We try to ensure we have everything guests would like to find in a holiday house so they are really comfortable. Island Beach is a great spot to enjoy what KI has to offer - you can visit the attractions and come back to a private & peaceful home. Yes, the IGA in Penneshaw does pretty much have all you need for your stay which can make life simpler when you are packing for your trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamdP
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great family accomodation”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We travelled with 6 adults and 4 young children and this holiday home was ideal for us. It is a peaceful location and the house has plenty of space which is comfortable for a crowd, a minute's walk from a pristine beach with wide shallows safe and inviting for children. There were wallabies outside the house and on nearby roads in the evening and, pelicans on the beach. The deck overlooks the beach and we could sit out there in the evenings and for meals. What we really liked was how generously equipped it was with all the bits and pieces, you might need on holiday with young children and forget to bring even including things like a roll of sticky tape and a torch. It is also well placed, not too far from the ferry and a good place for touring the island. The children also really enjoyed the hands on experience in the animal and bird parks on the island as well as the beaches of course.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
We are so pleased your family had such a great stay. I know the children love the wildlife experience with our local wallabies who really seem very unfazed about sharing their home with us humans, even to the point to helping themselves to my precious plants!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2014

We enjoyed the week we stayed and we booked this rental between two families for a week. We expected a bit more from this property than what we received in terms of the price we paid for peak season. For the price we paid for the week, and other comparable places we stayed in, we felt the kitchen utensils, linen and towels needed to be upgraded and of a higher quality for this style of property. Also from the photos we thought we had more of a 180 degree view than what was depicted.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review which dates back to January 2014. I am disappointed you felt the kitchen utensils and linen were not of the quality expected, since your stay they have been upgraded. We try to ensure we have all the kitchen items people require and regularly upgrade and add to the selection, unfortunately the wear and tear from large groups staying can cause items to deteriorate sooner than expected. Since your stay we have outsourced our linen from a laundry hire service, so this is of hotel standard.
With regard the views, we feel that we do have 180 degree views from the deck and pretty much from all the living area as do the majority of guests who have stayed here. All photos used to advertise our property have been taken from the property and are actual photos.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme997...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

House is comfortable and spacious with all equipment in good working order. Plenty of room for 4 x adults and 5 x children as we had. Fiona is very professional and easily contactable.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Thank you - it is great to be able to have a group of family & friends all together in the one property..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide hills
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing