We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casuarina Coastal Units(American River)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn(Kingscote)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apollon Motor Inn(Victor Harbor)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
92
184
94
37
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
184
94
37
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalthe pubkangaroo islandpenneshaw hotelbreakfast roomgarden villasmall hotelcomfortable hotelbreakfast was includedpenguin centreone night staystayed two nightsconvenient locationenjoyed my stayupstairs roomeggs cooked to orderpenguin tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed 3 nights in January 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the place. Room was spotless, well appointed and exactly as advertised. Bed great, balcony great, aircon great. Staff were polite, honest, courteous and attentive and exhibit that 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude that is so rare these days. View from the room stunning. Continental breakfast hearty and unfussed. It was a delight to stay in this secure well managed property and I would highly recommend it to anybody travelling to Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This was my first trip to Kangaroo Island (KI). It is beautiful, very rural and based around nature and wildlife. But that is one of the reasons we chose KI.

To me it is more of a 'hotel' than a 'resort'. The photos that are on the internet spruce it up to more than what it looks like in person. However, in saying that it is in close proximity to the ferry and the penguin walks. We were not there in the season for the penguins but I hear it is something to put on the 'to do' list if you can.

The room we stayed in was pretty basic but it was clean and tidy. I think the value for what we paid was slightly under par. A couple of nights it sounded as if there was a cyclone outside but upon closer inspection it was because the weather stripping on the door was partially ripped off. So just double check on the way in.

The staff and the owner 'Richard' are very accommodating and very friendly. The pub up the road is where we ate at for most of our meals due to the hotel restaurant being closed over the Christmas period.There was a good selection of food but it didn't change much so we also tried out the fish and chips takeaway shop just down towards the ferry that was also pretty good.

KI is pretty spread out so be prepared to drive and I suggest at least 4 days to see everything on the island. The location of the Seafront is out on the peninsula so it is about 20kms just to get back into the main part of the island. However, some may see this as a positive because Penneshaw is a quaint town with freindly locals.

Friends of ours tried to book after us and the Seafront was fully booked. The found some other places but they were located in the middle of the island which was too far to drive. At teh last minute they found a bed and breakfast called 'The Rookery' which was just a short 10 minute walk from where we were staying. Sharon is the owner of that and it is quite a good alternative if you are looking for a self contained living area right on the water for around the same price.

Overall I would recommend KI and the Seafront to others, but just be aware that there is a fair amount of driving involved and with all the activities it is usually takes up a full day each time. Just be conscious that the rooms are very basic and the price we had to pay was likely because it was in peak season. You don't end up spending much time in the rooms anyhow.

If you go to see the Remarkable Rocks and Admirals Arch, make sure you stop off at Weirs Cove to have a look. It is in between those two and a great view! There is a bit of history there as well because it is where the lighthouse keepers had their food brought up on a pulley which you can still see where it was located.

Room Tip: We had an oceanview room which had great views but a small balcony. Ensure the weather stripping on the door has been fixed.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chad292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed ina villa two adults and one baby. The room was clean and live up to expectation. The staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful. We even left a bracelet behind and they rang us to advise us they would be sending it in the post ! The resort itself is not a resort persay. Best to advertise its a hotel or motel nevertheless a great stay

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meaganl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Kangaroo Island is suffering from the recession in late 2011, but despite the cutbacks the Seafront Resort is a very nice place to be. It is about 30 KM out on a peninsula, so your mileage can add up, but the tranquality and friendliness of the area more than make up for the distance. We enjoyed a great breakfast, and great rooms at the motel, plus it was walking distance from the penguin walk. Note to 2012 travellers, however, the park department is shutting down its hosted walks for awhile to let the penguin population restore itself. It seems the penguines are declining (the seal population is also rising, so there are other reasons for the decline!)
If you are looking for a great place to stay and relax, this is one to consider.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Had a sea-front room and pleasant enough but all more basic than they make out. Hardly any staff. Don't really need to book on penguin viewing as they are all over the place. Had better meal down the road in the local pub with bigger portions.

They have photographed their hotel with a special lens which makes it look much larger and more imposing than it is.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews