We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penneshaw
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not that good.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Old and tired despite all its own publicity. But did offer a good deal for accommodation, the ferry, breakfast, and a discount meal voucher.
The beachfront rooms are large with kingsize beds, the usual toiletries, a good view back to the mainland.
The rooms reaaly need a make over, they need to painted and redecorated to them bring into to line with, say Adelaide hotels.
Breakfast was OK, but not out of the ordinary.
There would be better accommodation on the island. eg Mercure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    169
    87
    36
    11
See reviews for
65
230
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and found it was perfect for two. The rooms are lovely, and clean and breakie was even better, with an appropriate variety of choice. Staff were fabulous, helping with transfers and tours. Their service was A++ as well. The hotel restaurant is down the road and delightful - again the service was great. Swimming in the pool and the little penguins were fantastic. Overall we where very impressed and look forward to our next stay! Thank you for making your getaway for two unforgettable!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stayed two nights in the new garden villas and was happy with how clean the rooms were and how comfy the bed was. The decor was neutral , tasteful and quite spacious. The bathroom was clean and there were tea , coffee facilities and even biscuits . These villas are quiet , cute and had a wonderful feel to them. We had breakfast and was overall happy with the choices of foods offered from the buffet . We walked both nights to the close by penneshaw pub which has the most amazing view , right on the ocean. We shared a delicious tasting platter on the first night and a huge schnitzel the next. both meals were just what we wanted so cant complain. We can't wait to go back and this time venture a little further than the pub.

Room Tip: Book the new garden villas out the back of the property for a quiet and comfortable stay amongst gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naybatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafront49, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Seafront, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review of the Seafront. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a fantastic experience on this beautiful Island.
Kind regards
The whole team at the Seafront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

What can I say, they market this as a resort, the place is run down and needs a full overhaul. We stayed in the villas for 10 nights, they are beautiful. The staff are friendly. They market this place as a resort, therefore I expected a resort, sadly no, the pool and spa weren't heated, when questioned we were told the heater had broken and would be fixed before new years eve, we left on the 6th of Jan and it still wasn't fixed. The villa's are serviced and one night when we got back our bins hadn't been emptied, when I asked reception she said "we don't do the bins" I said yes you do and they have been done everyday, she said "I'll come and do it myself" never saw her again. The 1/2 court tennis when asked yes you can use it, but you need to supply your own balls???? I didn't even ask about the mini golf, I was afraid of the answer!!! It's more like a one star motel...and expensive at that, I like to pay for what I get and we certainly didn't get what is advertised on the internet.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penneshaw hotels

uk vulcan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

stayed here to do the kangaroo island tours. Had a great time.
Hotel is comfortable and facilities acceptable. Breakfast was fine and all staff helpful and friendly. a good base. swimming pool looked OK but didnt use it as weather poor.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

This place markets itself as a resort when what it really is is a 3star motel that has had the rooms cheaply refurbished....and only the rooms. Everything about the place is tired and cheap yet they charge more than a lot of other places on the island. I don't mind paying for quality. But $220 for the room we were in was the biggest rip off of the century. Find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toppee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

It's all been said in other reviews on here. Photos are deceptive at best, we too spent a while looking for the nice hotel we were expecting only to find we had driven past it several times. It's very old and although the rooms have been given a makeover (bathroom ok) they are very small. A balcony outside our window was accesible at the end of the corridor and allowed people in other rooms to come and look right in our 1st floor room. A lift would have been expected as it's many years since i've carried four suitcases up stairs in a hotel. Very disappointing to say the least. Breakfast was served for a short time in the mornings and was quite pleasant. We had an appalling experience in the hotel's restaurant (a bar about 100yds down the road), the service was absolutely shocking, food not up to much and alright if you don't mind waiting for hours for a table and then again for your food.

There was a pool and jacuzzi, neither of which I would go in as they were really old and not in good shape which lead us to believe they were probably not healthily clean either - let alone being surrounded by lots of ants and wasps or other creepy crawlies. The sun loungers were well past their sell by date and again added to the disappointment...

All in all, I would say you simply don't NEED to visit the Island as there is nothing there, but this hotel is handy (2 min walk from ferry terminal) - just don't expect much at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penneshaw
66.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
9.9 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
414 reviews
17.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
17.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
13.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seafront

Property: Kangaroo Island Seafront
Address: 49 North Tce, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penneshaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kangaroo Island Seafront 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seafront is perfectly situated in Penneshaw - Gateway to Kangaroo Island, and overlooks the magnificent Backstairs Passage. Kangaroo Island is totally unspoilt with white beaches, stunning coastlines and home to an abundance of wildlife. If you're looking for four-star accommodation in an idyllic setting, this is surely the place, located on the Esplanade just 500 metres from the Sealink Ferry Terminal. The Kangaroo Island Seafront has 16 rooms and 12 Villas.....Choose from the 4star Sea Front Rooms with spectacular views and private balcony, 4star Sorrento's rooms located upstairs in the original guest building or the sanctuary of our Deluxe Villas. Bringing the family? Why not stay in one of our 1, 2 or 3 bedroom Villas. FREE WiFi for all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Seafront Hotel Penneshaw
Kangaroo Island Seafront Penneshaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing