We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge(American River)(Great Value!)
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$132
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Links Lady Bay Resort(Normanville)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$96
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victor(Victor Harbor)
US$111
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Casuarina Coastal Units(American River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
92
184
94
37
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
184
94
37
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalthe pubkangaroo islandpenneshaw hotelbreakfast roomgarden villasmall hotelcomfortable hotelbreakfast was includedpenguin centreone night staystayed two nightsconvenient locationenjoyed my stayupstairs roomeggs cooked to orderpenguin tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Tidy, secure, and breakfast included. Comfy stay with a great location, and kids love the swimming pool. Overall a great place to spend the night in Penneshaw. I look forward to staying here again next time I visit KI.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafront49, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seafront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Shan,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Kangaroo Island Seafront on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and our amenities at the hotel. Next time your planning a trip to KI please let us know so we can be of every assistance to make your next holiday just as enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We staid over new year, the rooms were clean, comfortable and with good amenities, nothing fancy but it's just what we needed. We even lingered in the hotel rooms emoting because of heavy rain and it was all good, even lots of channels on the TV. Breakfast was also nice, not a great choose, but everything was good, particularly the bacon

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafront49, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seafront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear AJ W

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking the time to share your thoughts.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Corinne Houchin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It's about a 200m walk from the ferry terminal. If necessary I believe they will collect you. A pleasant enough room with a sea view, fridge, and free wifi, and a helpful reception. They don't do food any more, just breakfast, which was good. There is a small fish shop nearby which has a good reputation, and you can either have a picnic on the lawns opposite (mind the seagulls) or take it to your room. Otherwise the local pub looks a good bet - very busy with a lovely terrace overlooking the ocean. There are a couple of other small cafés as an alternative.

Just down the road is the penguin centre which offers short tours (one at 9.00 pm and one at 10.00 pm) at a small cost. The guide takes you down to the rocks where you can see the fairy penguins waddle out of the sea to feed their chicks. There are only a handful of penguins left, most have been taken by seals, but we were told the colony is recovering.

We liked Penneshaw, and the Seafront Hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafront49, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seafront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Juan

Thankyou for choosing to stay at the Kangaroo Island Seafront. It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and had a great time touring around the Island taking in some of the spectacular scenery and culinary delights the Island has to offer.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Our fave hotel so far on this trip. It is great to see a hotel furnished and decorated with taste. Bedding beautiful. Lovely tropical gardens. It is not opposite ferry like some reviews say but maybe 100 m up the road and you can't see the terminal, only the boats going back and forth. Staff so friendly and will organise transfers for you at a discount. We had a villa which was spacious and had microwave plates and cutlery, small freezer. No minibar hooray, parents don't want to be nagged by kids wanting chocolate. Recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabanannake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafront49, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seafront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Anna,

IThankyou for staying at Kangaroo Island Seafront. It was good to read your room was above your expectations. We trust you had enjoyable time on Kangaroo Island. We look forward to seeing you again at Kangaroo Island Seafront.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

this is very well located for the ferry from the mainland and has some lovely self-contained cabins in the gardens with own kitchenette. good size rooms, clean and tidy. good place to stay when touring Kangaroo Island, even though is at eastern tip of the island. pleasant helpful staff.

Room Tip: go for a cabin rather than a room in the main hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSFleet_Hants_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafront49, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seafront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear John

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking the time to share your thoughts. The team really do appreciate being acknowledged for their efforts.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews