We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must to visit in The Barossa”
Review of Seiber Road Wines

Seiber Road Wines
Sydney. Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A must to visit in The Barossa”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sieber Wines was highly recommended and did not let us down. From the moment we stepped into their cellar door , it was an experience of excellent wines and fantastic service. Val truly made our day with expert advice and friendly service. This winery itself has spacious grounds, the tasting room is comfortable and relaxing and the wines of a high standard. Cannot thank you enough Val for a wonderful start to our Barossa experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Advicetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of a winery.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Sieber Wines is what wine tasting in the Barossa is all about.

It's a small boutique family owned winery that makes beautiful, hand crafted wine at a very good price.
Their flagship Barossa 'Ernest' shiraz at $25 a bottle would easily rank alongside some of the more popular wines in the region that are 3 or 4 times the price.

It's the complete winery experience at Sieber that sets it apart from the others.
The large tasting room feels more like a family room with a leather lounge suite, dining table and the added warmth of a fire. The large floor to ceiling windows have beautiful views of the immaculate gardens and surrounding countryside.
The tasting area itself is a long bar with 5 or 6 stools, perfect for relaxing and enjoying their lovely wines.
This a nice place to spend some time and it's easy to feel very comfortable here.

But it's the people that make this winery such a great place to visit.
Val, the matriarch of the Sieber clan is the perfect winery host and an absolute delight.
Her genuine warmth and affection for every person that takes the time to call in is a testament to her beautiful nature. Val loves a yarn and is a bit of a storyteller, but is equally at home listening to tasters. She is genuinely interested in anything they want to talk about and very keen to hear about them and where they're from.

Her tasting pours are generous and if you have your own lovely little story to tell she's likely to see you off with a parting gift of a bottle such is her truly generous nature and love of anyone who walks through those doors. She talks from the heart everytime and is instantly likeable.
We've been to Sieber several times now over the last 6 or so years and she remembers our names everytime.

We only ever intend to do a quick 'pop in and hello' and taste a few wines but always end up staying over an hour. We're always glad we came.

It's a little off the beaten track and you have to travel down a dirt road off Gomersal Road to get there but it's well worth the effort and it'll be time well spent.
I'll wager that the 'Sieber Experience' will be your most endearing memory of the Barossa.

Sieber Wines has now become almost a pilgrimage for us every time we're passing through this beautiful valley.

Thanks Val. Love you to bits.

Steve and Mary xxx

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank skiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing service”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

An ex-Adelaide friend of my daughter recommended Sieber Rd wine for a work colleague based in Singapore visiting Sydney. I duly went on the Sieber Wine website and had it couriered to my work. Amazing, efficiently, friendly service. Many thanks Val.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tot240509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun cellar door, great wine”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a bit of a hidden gem of a winery, worth the drive along the dirt track. The setting is beautiful, the wines quality and good value. Its a family-owned winery and Val runs the cellar door. She essentially performs a stand-up comedy routine while you taste the wine, she's absolutely hilarious. Such a fun visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarrawonga, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

An outstanding winery - the cellar door, wines, friendly and informative owners and value for money - is up there with the best of the Barossa.

Don't let the dirt track put you off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seiber Road Wines also viewed

Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Seiber Road Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing