We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great walking, beautiful views, great food - wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay of Fires Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount William National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay of Fires Lodge
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great walking, beautiful views, great food - wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

The Bay of Fires 4 day guided walk is a wonderful experience. The walking is not hard but is enough to make you feel you can enjoy without guilt the wonderful meals prepared by the guides. The beaches are breathtaking, and the swimming divine, although more time spent exploring the area behind the beach would have been welcome too. A day of kayaking adds some variety to the activities, or if you prefer you can spend a day lazing about at the lovely Bay of Fires lodge. It felt much longer than 4 days - in a good way! The focus on minimising the environmental impact of our visit was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Batistello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We totally enjoyed our time hiking to Mt. William Nat. Park in Tasmania, as the whole experience was so unique.

The modernist architecture of the lodge was appreciated after we arrived, with breathtaking views of the Tasman Sea from high on a hill top.

Our hiking guides were two lovely young ladies and they really new how to keep us amused and entertained, taking such good care of us during our entire tour.

The cuisine at the lodge was good, although, not great (excellent Tasmanian Pinot Noir made-up for this deficiency).

I’ll be back.

Sincerely,

Richard Maloney

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

The Bay of Fires four-day guided walk is a wonderful experience - every aspect is very well organised and it is led by very capable and caring guides. The food was delicious and plentiful. The lodge is a delight - sensitively designed in harmony with the environment, and a pleasure to stay in. For a truly memorable experience in a spectacular natural setting, with great facilities, great food and fantastic support, then the Bay of Fires has everything you want.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

The four day Bay of Fires trek was marketed as a luxury gourmet trek, and was priced as one as well. Our first night was spent sleeping on wooden planks in ripped sleeping bags, with a bbq cooked by our trekking guides. It reminded me of a school camp, with the guides as our teachers. The second and third night was spent at the Bay of Fires lodge, which was very basic. The rooms consisted of a pine bed & hooks on the wall. The shower windows opened onto the woodpile and watertanks, so anyone outside could see you showering. The "gourmet" meals were again cooked by our trekking guides. I wouldn't have minded all this if we got it for school camp prices, but it cost us around $1300 a night for the two of us.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank lilytomthumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

We loved the whole experience; the walk along incredible unspoilt coastline, the first night at Foresters camp hidden in the sand dunes, then the second and third nights at the amazing bay of Fires eco lodge. The food was great and the guides friendly informative and helpful throughout. Highly reccommended!

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Composting toilets!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount William National Park
20.6 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
21.4 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
17.1 mi away
Bed in the Treetops B&B
Bed in the Treetops B&B
#2 of 5 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#2 of 11 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
20.8 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hillcrest Tourist Park
Hillcrest Tourist Park
#10 of 11 in St Helens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Fires Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Fires Lodge

Property: Bay of Fires Lodge
Address: Nr Ansons Bay, Mount William National Park, Tasmania, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Mount William National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mount William National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay of Fires Lodge 2*
Also Known As:
Bay Of Fires Hotel Mount William National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing