We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Rosevears Estate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rosevears
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosevears Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosevears
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We had high hopes for Rosevears. We were on our honeymoon with the plan of staying for 5 days. This did not happen.
Finding the property was fine - just off the main wine tour road. The view from the floor to ceiling windows was also pretty good, although the main road was right in front of us and was busier than I would have liked.
Entering the room was a disappointment. The website showed it to be modern, but the overall experience was of missing furniture and a tired feeling. The blinds were ripped and were not the blockout kind. This meant my husband and I had to wear sunglasses just to cope with the glare. The overall cleanliness was poor with bugs and spiders around the place. Since we were staying for a week we wanted to unpack our bags. However there was only limited hanging space and no drawers.
There was no telephone and the TV was old (CRT) with very bad reception.
The biggest disappointment though - and what made us leave - was the discovery of an inprint of a certain part of the male anatomy in the floor-to-ceiling windows. Obviously someone enjoyed the view, but not us after discovering this!
The receptionist was helpful in moving us, however the room they moved us to was just as shabby, with dirty dishes in the sink and some suspect stains on the blanket.
Horrible experience. a great disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutToDiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2009

Great self contained accommodation in a fantastic setting, comfy bed and views out over the vineyards and valley, even from the bath. Clean and modern. Very reasonably priced compared to some other accommodation in Tasmania

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmac62Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Our room had a view out over the Tamar River which was absolutely stunning - particularly as the sun set. There was a bit of a mix up with our room but they upgraded us instantly. We had a sitting room, mini kitchen, bedroom and separate bathroom. The wine at both this and the other Tamar Ridge winery was fantastic. There are a number of other wineries we enjoyed, the stand out was the Pinto Noir at the Bay of Fires. Lunch at the Daniel Alps restaurant (Ninth Island Winery) was great - particularly the strawberry and rhubarb delight! If you go to this winery don't bother with Pipers Brook - it's the same wines. Unfortunately not all the wineries are on one map - we used both the "Wine Route" brochure we got on the Spirit of Tasmania and the Tamar Valley wine route map (as well as asking for recommendations!)

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank eb19au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

What can we say. After payout out the nose at other hotels in Tassie, this wonderful hotel at the winery was by far the best on our trip. We only rented a studio apartment, which was more than enough for the two of us.

Breakfast was nothing too fancy, but was more than enough to get us going on our day. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open while we were there, but reception was happy to recommend other local restaurants for us.

The hotel is located right in the middle of the Tamar wine region, and is only 15 minutes from Launceston.

All the rooms have breathtaking views over the Tamar river which is beautiful to wake up to in the morning.

Overall, can't fault anything and will definitely go back on our next trip to Tassie.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szepfalusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

great idea to locate apartments over the vineyard, with fantastic view overlooking the Tamar River. the studio apartment we stayed at was cozy. while not luxurious, it was a welcome change from the usual hotel room. a good example of using imagination to create something novel for visitors without just spending heaps of money.

service was very good, but the only downside was restaurant value-for-money. all meals were almost $30 and unfortunately, while acceptable, the quality did not justify the price. that felt like a bit of a money extraction process.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Stayed at Rosevears for one night, and found the rooms to be comfortable. The views are really good and worth sitting to look at. Furniture was sparse and decent TVs wouldn't go astray, but overall a nice place. Don't plan on cooking much for yourself in the rooms as facilities are lacking. The price here was very reasonable and first impressions were very good, spending some money on the beds wouldn't go astray.
Parking was not the best.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank want2travel2-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Enter the vineyards at Rosevears via a dirt road and you eventually come to the cellar door and these wonderful apartments. Drive right up to the door and feel right at home in these modern well equipped chalets. The best value accomodation I have ever come accross anywhere in the world for these views and amenities. Sweeping views of the Tamar River with premium wine producers at your doosrstep including Rosevears-on site, Moores Hill, Ninth Island and a bit further up the road Delamere and Dalrymple wineries are a must. Buy some local wine from a cellar door, purchase the mini cheese platter available in your room mini bar and sit on you patio of Rosevears pondering life at a more relaxed pace. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starhotelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosevears
9.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 31 in Launceston
1,013 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#3 of 31 in Launceston
868 reviews
8 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rosevears Hotel - Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Grindelwald
626 reviews
18.3 mi away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosevears Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosevears Estate

Address: 1a Waldhorn Dr, Rosevears, Tasmania 7277, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Rosevears
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosevears
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Estate Hotel Rosevears

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing