We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing property with fabulous attention to every detail”
Review of Balinese Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balinese Retreat
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing property with fabulous attention to every detail”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Balinese Retreat was an absolute highlight during our trip to Australia. It was better than the Internet pictures show and just an amazingly beautiful stay. Debra, the owner, has a keen sense of design and detail. We noticed and appreciated each and every detail. Debra told us that she designed the resort thinking about what a bride would most want for her wedding night. it is exactly what any bride would want. A taste of the beauty of Bali in the middle of the wine country. It is honestly the most beautiful and romantic resort that we have ever had the privilege to stay in. And my husband has traveled the world. The private dinner and in-room breakfast were both delicious and presented again in such a unique and special way. The grounds and pool are beautifully maintained. We had the couples aromatherapy massage as part of our stay and if i had any minor complaint it would be related to the massage. It was ok--nothing to really complain about but not a great massage. That did not affect our overall impressions though. The owner is expanding to build a new spa area (which i'm sure will address any spa services issues) and she is building a new bar/restaurant which is almost complete and just magnificent (again every detail is so well thought out). We did not use the hot springs (which are an extra cost) but the pool was lovely and private. Again this is the perfect retreat for couples, privacy, balinese luxury and relaxation. If you have a special event (wedding, proposal, vow renewal) or you just want a unique and relaxing get-away, we highly highly recommend the Balinese retreat. The location is ideal as it is less than an hour from Melbourne and in the heart of the wine country. We have wonderful memories of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chezleeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    1
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Balinese retreat celebrating our first wedding anniversary. Had the whole place all to ourselves and we were amazed at the thought and detail put into the Balinese house and also the beautiful gardens and water features. Great dinner and massages, lovely private pool filled with mineral water, and the mosaic spa bath inside the villa with a fern garden view was totally indulgent! The DIY breakfast with a bento box filled with all the ingredients to cook up a gourmet breakfast along with freshly baked bread delivered to our door in the morning was a really nice idea too.
The bedroom was so comfortable and how often can you wake up to the view of your own private waterfall?
We felt like we were far far away from Melbourne and left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated.
A perfect getaway for a special occasion, worth the price.

Thanks again to Deborah and the team.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seetha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Wow, what an experience. I booked the proposal package for one night and what a treat it was. My now fiance' was mesmerized by the experience from the layout of the balinese house and garden to the lake by the walking bridge to the massages that put us to sleep lolz and the tasty dinner inside a romanticly furnished balinese hut. Great experienced and awesome vision from yours truly, Deborah.

Thanks for making this possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filipe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had the pleasure of enjoying this retreat for our anniversary and it is an unforgettable experience . Its hard to believe that you are actually only 45 mins from Melbourne . Everything is perfect , and we both said that we were the most relaxed that we have been in ages! The massage is amazing, and the Thai banquet is awesome . We sat by the lake having a drink and enjoying the dips and nibbled that are included in the package . We felt like we were in Asia ! Yes, its expensive , but so,so worth it ...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moffatanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Booked one night in the Balinese Retreat in August as a surprise birthday present for my girlfriend.
I speak for both of us when I say it was truly one of the most amazing days either of us have ever had.

The couple massages upon arrival; the stunning villa with music playing and rose petals on the bed; the champagne, chocolate and strawberrys next to the ready fill spa; all amazing. The huge Thai banquet which was delivered to our door was honestly some of the best food we've ever had.
We're both very active people and i don't think either of us has ever been so relaxed for the whole day; we didn't have a care in the world. The detail and effort which has gone into making this place what it is, simply has to be experienced to be believed.

I proposed after dinner by the private lake under the moonlight; how could she say no!

I agree on the face of it's not cheap, but for a special one-off occassion I would recommend this in a heart beat, with no hesitation. I can't stress how much we loved our stay.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yoshiesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooroolbark
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I found this retreat to be very romantic and very private, it was like we were the only ones there, and thats what we needed. The massage was just perfect on arrival and the food was beautiful and plenty of it. The view from the bedroom was to die for and the view out the back was just beautiful. The pool area was private and secluded and a beautiful place to relax and just kick back.Staying there with my beautiful partner was a wonderful experience and would have loved to stay there longer. Thank you Deborah. Shane and Deb

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed for our 10th anniversary & have nothing but positive feedback about the amazing experience we had staying at the Balinese Retreat. Deborah & her staff were attentive & tended to our every need. Our massages upon arrival were amazing (thanks Andrea & Maddy), to the wonderful culinary delight of the Thai banquet served in our room, the ambience, the tranquility of our surroundings including the gorgeous ceiling to floor window in our bathroom overlooking the beautifully manicured gardens, the Balinese style Bale on our own little lake was so pretty & private, we truly felt like we had this whole magnificent place to ourselves. Waking up to a loaf of freshly baked homemade bread (still warm) at our doorstep was a lovely touch & we really enjoyed cooking our breakfast together in our kitchen that was stocked with evrything we needed. We wish Deborah & her partner all the best in fulfilling their dream & we will be recommending their retreat to anyone who listens!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kosta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
2.4 mi away
Linley Estate
Linley Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilsyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
7.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.9 mi away
York on Lilydale
York on Lilydale
#1 of 1 in Mount Evelyn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa
22.3 mi away
Woodlands Rainforest Retreat
3.2 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#4 of 13 in Olinda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balinese Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balinese Retreat

Property: Balinese Retreat
Address: 14 Mountain Cres, Montrose, Victoria 3765, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Montrose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Montrose
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing