We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BIG4 Taggerty Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Taggerty Big4 Holiday Park from the 29th Dec till 3rd Jan. When we arrived we were greeted with a smile. After a brief explanation of the site, we were guided to our site( No 27), which was a tent site. The site was flat, clean and the families next to us were very welcoming. We pitched out tent and went for a walk. We were 40m from the Acheron river and only 20m from the toilet/shower block. Now for a holiday park that was very busy this time of year, the shower and toilet facilities were fantastic. They were cleaned daily, the showers were hot, and always accessible. Great place to stay, wonderful people around and the owners were genuine. Plenty of places to visit from wineries, go fishing, relax with a book, or bushwalk. Excellent time, pity we had to come home to go back to work.

Room Tip: If tenting it, choose site 27, as you don't get the morning sun and the trees provide shade in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We came away with 3 other families, the kids being all boys had a great time, running around and playing hide and seek. We had a special Christmas party at the park this weekend,Santa came, The Hot Pans played, classic wombat tossing competitions, raffles were drawb and a great bbq was supplied by the park. All round we had a good time. Cabins were clean and well fitted out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We enjoy coming down to ride our bikes at the Buxton Mountain Bike Park and prefer to stay at Big4 Taggerty since it is within easy driving distance. Nothing beats kicking back after a busy ride and enjoying the luxury of these cabins. Great service, very clean. Will come back time and time again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GezzaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Organised elopement to taggerty arrival at other accomodation, broken windows, rat faeces, torn beds etc went across road and Camille took me straight down to lovely spot by river where we got married the next day. She showed to lovely cabins upgrading us for free. The beds are divine I wish I could take it home, slept so well! Lovely spot, kids played all day at sensational playground and men went fishing! Mums got some peace! Thanks again Camille and Wayne!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nonighnighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I am sure this maybe a lovely place off peak but in peak season it is not only expensive it doesn't have the facilities to cope! We went with a group of 8 tents and were sent into what can only be described as the back paddock. Which in itself would be fine, but the only facilities within walking distance were a couple of portaloos. If I am paying $31 a night for 2 people on an unpowered site I expect better facilities. The site was packed, but there are only 8 showers and 8 toilets (4male/4female) and a selection of unlit portaloos dotted around the place. The pool advertised was tiny and with 100's of kids there was not going to be of any use to any adult at the site. To me it felt like the site was well over capacity and was a rip off. I am no glamper and am happy to rough it but not for $31 a night. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rellik666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We escaped the city for a weekend getaway and booked a cabin by the river at the taggerty Big 4 caravan park. A very welcoming and friendly greeting on arrival, cabin was clean and kids just loved the bunk beds! Such a beautiful and relaxing place, playground is new and jumping pillow was fun! We spent some time in Alexandra and enjoyed the famous Parma at the Commercial! Great weekend getway, and if you a looking for that short escape in a place that is relaxing, friendly and located right on the a beautiful river, Taggerty Big 4 is the place to go !

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin by the river - bunk beds were a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miranda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I forgot the key ingredient for my chicken pesto pasta...sour cream. I doubted whether the little shop at the front would sell it..and they didn't. However, the manager said .'hang on, I've got some in my fridge, you can have that.' So definitely 5 stars for friendliness and helpfullness!

We went there with a group booking from our local primary school, having a mixture of cabins and camping. Shame about the weather as it poured all day but I've camped here before and had great weather. A bonus is being able to have campfires in drums, which you can hire from the office.

There's a great river at the campgrounds, a jumping pillow for the kids and a playground. Also horse riding not too far away. Gandalf the grey is the very friendly store owner in the Taggerty store.

This time we hired a basic cabin, which was quite basic but had everything we needed ie shelter from the rain and heating! There were 3 sets of bunks in one room and a double in the other. My only complaint would be that the bed squeaked very loudly even if you sat on it.

A good place to take the kids or for groups. Not too crowded and nice and green, with beautiful scenery. There is a swimming pool but it's not heated so it was closed this time. Also camp kitchen was being renovated but there were bbq's, a shelter with picnic tables and a games room.

Room Tip: The deluxe cabins were much roomier. Depends how much you want to spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catupover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taggerty
13.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
2,080 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tower Motel
Tower Motel
#2 of 2 in Marysville
269 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Marysville Caravan & Holiday Park
17.0 mi away
Yea Riverside Caravan Park
12.7 mi away
Eildon Pondage Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Taggerty Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Taggerty Holiday Park

Address: 3380 Maroondah Hwy, Taggerty, Victoria 3714, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Taggerty
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Taggerty
Price Range: £55 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Taggerty holiday park is the perfect place for a weekend revival or stay for weeks for a complete rejuvenation. Featuring over 1km of Acheron river with the majestic Cathedral Ranger as your back drop, you can experience nature at its best. Be it fishing on the banks of local rivers, touring valleys, or enjoying the excitement of the water skiing on lake Eildon. Meander through the romantic village streets of Marysville or experience the snow at Lake Mountain in winter. Discover hidden treasures in Alexandra, Yea, Eildon or just kick back, relax and unwind. To keep the kids entertained we have a jumping pillow, playground, tennis courts, swimming pool, recreation room and mini golf. Just 1.5 Hours north east of Melbourne it's all here waiting for you at BIG4 Taggerty Holiday Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Taggerty Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing