We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Ride and Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bogong Horseback Adventures

Bogong Horseback Adventures
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tawonga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring horse riding holidays in the spectacular Australian High Country of North East Victoria. Combining great horses with the natural splendor of the Bogongs, we have operated our award winning rides for over 20 years. From two hour trail rides to multi day pack horse expeditions into the Alpine National Park.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Ride and Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I took the 5 day ride in December and loved it. What a great experience. These people really know horses and the high country. Great hospitality too. Lin and Daisy led the ride and we had plenty of help along the way including some very helpful natural horsemanship training.
We started from the farm which has recently built high quality accommodation. A dinner together on the Sunday night set the scene for our 5 day ride together. Everything was carried on pack horses except our own essentials in saddle bags. I really appreciated the trouble they went to in horse selection. Well trained horses who handle the varying terrain with ease. The ride is an adventure, beautiful scenery, sometimes a challenge but always fun. I had not ridden for some time but it comes back easily. Cantering across the high plains was a buzz. The camps were in beautiful locations with great food, wine, a camp fire with good company. The swag is an excellent solution for the sometimes cold nights. I could not recommend this ride adventure ride highly enough. So if you love horses, and want to get back to it, and enjoy a challenge - then this is for you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    10
    2
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to spend cup day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My daughter and I went on a 3 hour trail ride cup day and had a fabulous time .. I was extremely impressed with how professional the staff were , also what impressed me was the exelent condition the horses were in ,clearly well looked after . Their theory of natural horsemanship , their breading and breaking in of their own horses certainly made our experience just perfect . I can't wait to return and am looking forward to the cabins to be finished so we can enjoy a weekend of horse riding .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieabroad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our party involved 5 families of varying ages (10+) and everyone, without exception, had an awesome time. This highly professional outfit provides a level of instruction and on-ride support that makes everyone feel safe and for the first time ever, I felt in control. The are beautifully looked after horses that will move with the rider (even those of us with basic instruction) as opposed to hacks that follow in a line regardless of instructions. I can't wait to see cabins complete so we can return for long. Well done!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eskimosmuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
2 reviews
“Perfect for both experienced & beginner riders!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I teach horse riding and my friend has only ridden a horse once and we both had the best time in a group of other riders. The horses are extremely happy and well looked after which is always my concern with trail riding centres. The staff were totally professional and knowledgeble, making the ride very safe and lots of fun. Everyone in the group walked, trotted and cantered competently even though some had never been on a horse, which is all down to the amazing preparation of each horse and the care taken in looking after everything. I loved talking with Daisy and was very inspired by what they've created there, we had such a great time we stayed for lunch and chatted to everyone. We can't wait to go back and will be booking early for a week's camping and riding in the mountains - woo hoo!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
“What an amazing afternoon horse riding in the high plains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our party of 5 teenage girls had a wonderful time horse riding for an afternoon with Daisy, Clay and the rest of the Bogong team. The ride started with a wonderful session on Natural Horsemanship and how to ride for the beginners in our party. After a short practice in the yards
learning how to trot and canter, the party set off on their adventure. The horses are very well trained and and are kept in beautiful condition. The stables are picturesque and the countryside is spectacular. The staff are so helpful and reassuring and provide every rider with an opportunity to 'have a go'.We will definitely be going back for another ride once the 'soon to be finished' accommodation is complete. This place is a standout.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bogong Horseback Adventures also viewed

Mount Beauty, Victoria
Tawonga South, Mount Beauty
 

Been to Bogong Horseback Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing