We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better second time around.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

It was my second time staying here prior to going overseas. I was a little apprehensive; on my previous stay our rooms’ bathroom was filthy. This time the room was perfectly clean and my stay was much more enjoyable, great way to start my holiday off. We were given an upgrade to a higher floor with a run way view. My 3 year old daughter loved watching the planes take off and land, kept her amused for a good hour! I like booking a Park and Stay Twin Room, we parked for 10 nights. You arrive home after a long flight walk across to the hotel, pay for parking, get in your car and head home. Very easy. Thanks Parkroyal, we will be back on our next trip O/S in 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashjay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Ashjay40,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
As a return guest, I was so glad to read you were well looked after by our team and enjoyed your stay in the hotel.
Thanks for the positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of our rooms; I will certainly pass your comments onto the team.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again in 2014.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,326)
There are newer reviews for PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 2,326 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

We were catching a flight to Bangkok which left late am and as we live in the country it was far easier to stay somewhere over night. We had stayed at the PARKROYAL last year so we decided that we would do it again. We weren't sorry!!!. We got upgraded to a higher room with a view of the runways. Our check in was so easy and efficient. As we hadnt had dinner we choose to have a few snacks in the bar. They were very good and the price was right. The room had all the trimmings minibar, snacks and also free WiFi.
The bed was very comfortable while the room was very quiet. The buffet breakfast in the morning had everything and more, while the staff were very friendly & efficient.

Room Tip: If you want to see planes taking off and landing get a runway view room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael93George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Michael93George,
Thank for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am so glad you decided to stay with us again, and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I will certainly pass your positive feedback onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed one night in a Family Room before our flight to the US the next day. Check in was quick and at this time we asked for the mini bar to be removed from the fridge in our room as we had our own water and drinks. The Parkroyal has one of those systems that if you move any mini bar item it is charged to your room.

Our room was large and looked back towards Melbourne. There was a king size bed on one side of the room and two single beds on the other. The bathroom had a bath and a separate shower. There was also a desk and chair. One thing we thought was strange was the two-seater couch positioned in front of the TV in the middle of the room. There was no way four people could fit on it! It was a family room, but some of the furniture did not really suit the intended occupants.

We had to call down twice to have ice delivered to the room as the mini fridge had no freezer section. We had ice packs that needed to be frozen for our flight in order to keep medication cold, so a freezer would have been very handy.

We also had to chase up the kid’s activity packs that were part of the room rate. They were nothing too exciting when we did eventually get them, but they kept the kids amused for awhile.

The beds were very comfortable and the room was quiet. We could hear muted sounds of aircraft taking off and landing, but it wasn’t a problem.

The kids had a swim in the hotel pool. The area around the pool needed a good clean or a bit of an upgrade. The floor surface looked dirty. The adjacent gym area was small but looked clean and well maintained.

We ate in the Airo Bar for dinner. There were tasty and well priced options available for both adults and kids.

Checkout the next morning was relatively quick, but we did have to wait until every single item from the mini bar was removed from our bill. So even though a member of staff had come to our room and removed everything from the fridge, it was still all charged to us. Once that was rectified, it was a quick five minute walk undercover to the terminals. Trolleys in the hotel foyer were handy in moving our considerable amount of luggage.

We stayed here for the convenience to the airport and overall the hotel was good. It was let down by a lack of communication between different staff areas and poor procedures.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyfun0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Familyfun0509,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers.
I was pleased to read you appreciated our convenient location to the airport and hotel facilities. I was however disappointed to hear that some of your experience did not meet your expectation. Please accept my sincere apologies, rest assured I have noted your comments and will pass your feedback onto the team.
Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused and we trust we can welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here pre an international trip with an early morning flight.
Is a very short walk across the airbridge to the terminals (100m maybe?) Easy, even with luggage.
Nice and new feel to it still , even though its been there awhile now.
Had a runway view room, loved it, sat and ate my room service dinner and watched the planes coming and going. Could not hear the planes at all - great sound proofing here.
Room service food was good quality, and promptly delivered.
Lovely modern room, spacious, well fitted out.
Would recommend, but it is quite pricey ($250 per night)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therockjedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear msjedsy,
Thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
I was glad you enjoyed our great location and hotel facilities, in particular the runway view and room service food. I will certainly pass your great feedback onto the team.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next traveling.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Located at Melbourne Airport just a very short stroll from the terminal, the ParkRoyal is great for a short stay either before or after a flight. The rooms are pretty well equipped and the service is good. One small gripe from my most recent stay was an old small but visible bloodstain from a previous guest on the duvet cover. The bed linen was clean but the stain was off putting to say the least. I called reception and the bedding was changed whilst I went out for the evening so I can't complain and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear natnats,
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad our team were able to rectify the linen problem immediately for you.
Once again, thank you for your feedback; I will certainly pass your positive comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

A generally nice place, convenient and well-insulated from the airport noise. However, a few things that could be improved: The bathrooms and extras (e.g. Ironing board) are starting to show their age and rust has moved past the introduction stage and is now thinking of getting serious and starting a family. Cleaning isn't getting into the nooks and crannies (e.g. Around taps and fittings) so the overall effect is decadence in decline, so hopefully that's the theme you're going for. The doors have such a heavy slam that you'd think the doors to hell were crashing permanently shut behind you every time somebody (whose parents didn't love them enough to teach them that a door can be closed using a door handle) decides to share their pain of a late arrival schedule with the rest of humanity. This isn't helped by the perfect acoustics in the hallway which can transfer a bellowed philosophical discussion at 2am down the other end of the hallway straight into your ear canal with no loss of sound quality. The blinds are operated by a system of pulley ropes that are complex and have a feral life of their own: possibly installed to cater for the autoerotic strangler demographic, but alas not much chop at opening or closing blinds. Final gripe is the bedding: it's a nice duvet-thing that not only retains heat but seems to generate masses of it. The hotel could source its heating needs from these duvets alone. That's all there is. You don't have another choice or choosing the lighter blanket or just the bedspread because that would in no way simulate the experience of burning in the bowels of hell (which nicely fits in to the door-slamming part that I referenced earlier).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Termines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Rooms are well appointed with all the standard amenities. Appreciate the separate shower, can't stand those combined both/shower things!

Check in/out was prompt and appreciate the discounted short term parking!

Will absolutely consider this hotel for any more early morning flights!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollo_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear rollo_100,
Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I was glad to read you enjoyed our great location and hotel facilities.
Once again, thank you so much for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport in the future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullamarine
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
2.1 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
623 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
2.0 mi away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport

Address: Arrival Drive, Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range: £139 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport Hotel. Feel connected at a hotel linked directly to the Melbourne Tullamarine Airport. PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport offers an unrivaled connection to Melbourne Tullamarine Airport. Rest before a flight or refresh yourself before heading home at our hotel, conveniently located adjacent to the airport with 276 spacious guest rooms. Enjoy city skyline and runway views then walk directly to the terminal via skybridge from the PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport Hotel. Our friendly PARKROYAL people are on hand to help you discover the area’s best kept secrets. You’re just minutes away from Melbourne’s top sights and attractions. Explore the local neighbourhood or take a 10 minute drive to discover the popular Sunbury Wine Region. Or venture a little further to experience the hustle and bustle of Melbourne city centre, a haven of secret cafes, fashion finds and lush parklands just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Melbourne Airport Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing