We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for stopover.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Christchurch,New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for stopover.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great proximity to airport buildings. Room average but clean. Restaurant adequate. Not open over Easter period for dinner but still able to order from menu. Airport shuttle waste of time because drop off point till leaves walk to departure. Easier and quicker to walk from hotel via car park building.

Room Tip: All rooms adequate but need upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Cozboz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted our location suited your travel well. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We certainly regret the shortcomings you experienced. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will address these to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    483
    208
    38
    23
See reviews for
175
324
103
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our room and very small bath were a bit tired. (Wardrobe door looked like it had been repainted (poorly) many, many times). Decent beds, choice of pillows. Room was quiet. Dinner menu was limited and pricey. We ordered hamburgers in the restaurant and were informed there would be a $6 upcharge per person to eat in the restaurant in which most of the tables were empty. $25 hamburgers seemed unreasonable, so we ate in the overcrowded bar at uncomfortable, low tables, instead. The hamburgers and even the buns were dripping with grease and barely edible. Airport shuttle service was good, and staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You may wish to consider the nearby Park Royal if they have a vacancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourWinds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear FourWinds_11,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted you found our staff and shuttle service highly commendable. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations ins some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is easily accessed by footpath from the front of the terminal. I really feel its a great option for someone with a long stopover in Melbourne. The rooms are very comfortable, great comfy beds, sometimes a sofa too. Good quality furnishings, spacious functional bathroom and lots of towels and soaps etc. Microwave and plates etc in the room. 24hr McDonalds and convenience store at the gas station just opposite the hotel as well as a bar and restaurant downstairs. Would defo. stay again but its not suited to anyone wanting to explore Melbourne as the travel options to the city are limited to an expensive shuttle bus service from the terminal or a long 1 hour journey each way via bus and transfer to a train (basically, you need to stay in the CBD :) ).

Room Tip: All rooms have good soundproofing from the airport noise, maybe try get a room with a sofa?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigdickson85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
337 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for the one night but left our vehicle with them (park and stay deal, 7 nights parking included) for 5 nights. Easy to find and just a 400m walk through the multistorey car park to the airport itself, although a mini bus transports you there and back. McDonalds and fuel station just across the road. Room was quiet, clean, fresh and very comfortable. (Loved the bed & pillows - had a great night's sleep). Surprised we heard no plane/traffic noise at all. When we returned to collect our car after the five days, we simply called them and a mini bus promptly came to collect us. They validated our parking card and off we went. So easy. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malleegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
195 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

As with many others, I stayed here for a one-night airport layover. The location couldn't be more convenient--pretty much right across the street from the airport. But if you're worried about airport noise, don't. The room was a bit dated and could use a thorough makeover, but comfort wasn't a problem. I don't need luxury when it's a one-night layover. I can't report on the eating options. I was a bit surprised that when I returned to the airport, the shuttle was not able to pull right up to the terminal curb. I had to walk back a ways with my luggage and cross a street before I could get into the terminal. It wasn't a big deal, really, since I didn't have a lot of luggage, but for those traveling heavy it could be an inconvenience. Other than that I had no problems, and overall the hotel is fine. I'll stay here again if I have another Melbourne layover.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MoseyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear MoseyOn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because the shuttle service was not able to bring you at the terminal. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late at night to check in. We were made to wait whilst the person behind reception finished checking Facebook on his phone. As it was late we ordered room service. The food arrived (of which I ordered pizza) it was the worst pizza I had every tasted. It was like they had gotten a bottle of dried spices and poured the whole of it on the pizza just to give it taste. Also, the do not disturb sign on the door to housekeeping means "please come and knock on the door and wake us up". Stayed many times on a corporate account and treated really well. This is the first I have booked for personal stay and I certainly won't be doing it again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djmciver2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear djmciver2003,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We have taken note of the points you've raised in this review and these shall be reviewed by our Management team.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Holiday Inn Airport Hotel is located behind the Parkroyal Hotel and the car park, so it takes you -with hand luggage -approx. 10 minutes' walk or you call for the hotel shuttle bus. We arrived late, restaurant and bar were just closing, so we opted for room service and it was really good. Quick and the food fresh and hot and of good quality.
The room is typical for Holiday Inn with comfortable beds, the bathroom is very small.

Unfortunately there was a fire alarm at aprox. 1:00 am without any further information via loud speaker. So we went down by the emergency exit and stayed outside together with the other guests. Only when police and fire brigade left the staff of reception told us that we could go back to the rooms because it was a false alarm in the lobby area. During the whole time the elevators were used in both directions. The next day we heard the is was not the first false alarm due to an oversensitive sensor somewhere near the lobby. I think the management is urgently requested to improve the procedure in such a case of emergency because the next alarm could be for real.

The breakfast offer was quite okay, full buffet for 25 AUD, just toast and jam for 5 AUD.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear voyager-liese,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that you were satisfied with the room service. On the other hand, my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the fire alarm. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullamarine
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
1.3 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
Address: 10-14 Centre Road, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport is the only full-service global brand hotel at the airport. When you see our familiar green sign, you're minutes away from the great value, comfort and service of our trusted brand. We're also the only full-service hotel here offering a loyalty program with which you can earn points towards flights and accommodation. And we give IHG Rewards Club members extra perks too, such as free high-speed Internet and late checkouts. The hotel is just a 400m stroll from the terminals, with a free round-the-clock airport shuttle service. Live flight information displayed in the lobby and guestrooms will help you fine tune your departure. Spacious well-appointed guestrooms are sound-proofed and provide the deeply comforting sleep experience travellers expect from Holiday Inn. Dining in your room or relaxing in Vargas bar and Vargas restaurant, you can rely on great meals made from the best ingredients. Take advantage of 'Kids Stay and Eat Free' for unbeatable family value. Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport. Trust the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing