We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urgent Travel Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

If you are new to Melbourne and need fast accomodation or have a busy schedule and need to be close to the airport then this the hotel.

The rooms are clean and service is good. Shuttle service is available to the airport.

Vargas Restaurant offers a decent menu for lunch and dinner. The outdoor sitting area is nice esp. during the evenings.

Free internet service for one hour in the lobby.

The downside:
The building is old fashioned and the decor needs a makeover. Reminds me of my undergrad. dorm.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamzid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Tamzid F

I appreciate your feedback, I was happy to read that you were able to take advantage of the free shuttle service to the terminals and found the rooms clean and well serviced.

We do receive positive feedback regarding our Vargas bar and restaurant and I am glad you also enjoyed your time there. The Chefs are currently working on a new winter menu which you will have to try next time you head this way

Kind regards

Stuart
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had been travelling for 10 weeks in parts of Europe, then flown back to Australia. Due to connectivity between flights, we had to spend one night in Melbourne, and chose Holiday Inn for its convenience. The room was reasonably well fitted out, and had everything we needed, but there were lots of small points that made us think this was not a 4-star hotel. Let us start with getting to the hotel. Yes, there are signs, but right at the point where the path bifurcates, the signs for Holiday Inn stop. At night, even though we could see the building, we were unsure of which path to take, and ended up in an extra busy car park for McDonalds wondering which way was the best. Given that we were paying more than $280 for the night, we were surprised to find a large crack through the wall tiles of the bathroom, and badly applied grouting in a patch up job. The bottom of the door looked like it had been flooded a number of times, and had recently been repainted to hide its swollen appearance. When we decided to purchase a bottle of wine to celebrate our return to OZ, we were told that the hotel would not supply a bottle to the room, and we should use the less than impressive wine in the mini-bar. The staff at both check-in and check-out were just doing their job. There was little friendliness or interaction. We walked away thinking that this hotel needs to lift its game.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCr00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear The Crooks,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I would also like to apologize as by reading your feedback it is quite apparent that your stay was not up to the high standards we aim for and that you deserve.

Your comments regarding the signage at night is a point well made and we are currently reviewing them to make any necessary improvements to ensure our guests can make the short walk from the terminal to us without being confused. Please note that the hotel also has a free shuttle service to and from the airport so there is no need to walk.

I was disappointed to read that our team members did not convey the famous Holiday Inn hospitality and I will be using your comments as a reminder and a learning tool to ensure that we continue to improve in this area.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Stuart
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Only stayed the one night before flying out early morning, but found the Holiday Inn perfect for our requirements. Staff were friendly and helpful at check- in, they helped us with parking options that we were not aware of before hand. Our room was spotless and quiet and had everything we needed. Had dinner in the restaurant and it too was good value and enjoyable. Staff again on check - out were friendly, efficient and polite. We think the Holiday Inn is a great option when staying put at the airport

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clearclearclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hello there Clearclearclear,

Thanks for the great review

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you need accommodation at the airport.

Kind regards

Stuart
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A room with no working heating is hardly acceptable at $300 per night. So we were given a 6 inch fan heater to warm the room after a manager trying for half an hour to fix it. Not enjoyable at 19 degrees in the room, 8 degrees outside and with 2 children.
The staff seem to have taken on the winter chill and traits of the AC system because there was not a smile in site. At checkout we did not even get a thankyou.
The bathroom was filthy and in desperate need of maintenance and an upgrade. For $300 I do expect a toothbrush in the room amenities. Without having to go to reception and ask / pay.
Breakfast service and selection has gone down hill sadly since our last visit 6 moths ago.
On the positive ??????? The pillows and bedding is clean and comfortable. The parking at $10 a night should be included, BUT still better than $50 at the nearby airport and the adjoining Parkroyal.
I say to hotel staff, if you dont enjoy the hospitality industry........get out.
We wont be back.

Room Tip: Not room 326.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereswally2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Whereswally2010,

I can see for your review that there were a number of areas that did not meet your expectations. I would like to discuss this further with you and will contact you privately.

Kind regards

Stuart
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Accommodated here by accident due to airline problem. The facilities are clean and well maintained.
The staff were exemplary, especially the Duty Manager who helped us through a difficult situation.
Thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel. Only a 5 minute walk to airport departures or catch the hotel shuttle.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank miss_pats57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Miss_pats57,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us however obviously it’s a shame there was an issue with the airline that delayed your trip.

I hope that everything else regarding your trip went to plan and that we may see you back again (although not due to another airline delay).

Kind regards

Stuart
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Normally I would write a huge review - but ill be honest - there isnt much to say about this hotel.

Rooms - as expected. Clean, fresh, and air conditioning works.
Hotel - its an airport hotel - so the transient population will likely get you down if you are expecting a 'quality' stay - 2am alarm clocks, rolling suitcases and screaming children are the norm - so expect them.
Carparking - its only about 10 bucks a night and if you have a car, you cant beat it at Melbourne Airport - beats 50 bucks a day at the short term parking in the airport.
Room Service - the burgers are amazing - ALWAYS order the 'Inn' burger.....they are fantastic, and definately a good pick me up at 2am before your 5am international.
Reception - recognition of IHG membership is great - its nice to be treated special - especially before grabbing a 14 hour flight.

All in all - if you need a place close to the airport, thats relatively cheap, so that you can catch your redeye to LAX - this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway offer at least a view of the incoming flights - might catch an A380 or 2 du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TSVFreqFlyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear TSVFreqFlyer2,

I can tell from your review you stay in hotels and travel very frequently, I appreciate you taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay.

I was pleasing to read that you found the hotel to your satisfaction and were able to get a couple of extra hours sleep before taking the redeye to LAX. That’s a long flight

We hope to welcome you back next time to have to make the journey

Kind regards

Stuart
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for one night before heading overseas. Staff were very professional and super helpful, and the room was very comfortable and modern. Really enjoyed the breakfast, infact I loved it.. Would recommend the Holiday Inn to anyone who needs to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullamarine
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
1.9 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
643 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
1.9 mi away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport

Address: 10-14 Centre Road, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range: £94 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport is the only full-service global brand hotel at the airport. When you see our familiar green sign, you're minutes away from the great value, comfort and service of our trusted brand. We're also the only full-service hotel here offering a loyalty program with which you can earn points towards flights and accommodation. And we give IHG Rewards Club members extra perks too, such as free high-speed Internet and late checkouts. The hotel is just a 400m stroll from the terminals, with a free round-the-clock airport shuttle service. Live flight information displayed in the lobby and guestrooms will help you fine tune your departure. Spacious well-appointed guestrooms are sound-proofed and provide the deeply comforting sleep experience travellers expect from Holiday Inn. Dining in your room or relaxing in Vargas bar and Vargas restaurant, you can rely on great meals made from the best ingredients. Take advantage of 'Kids Stay and Eat Free' for unbeatable family value. Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport. Trust the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing