We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convienient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“convienient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times now, and would use it again. Bathrooms are dated, but the beds comfortable.
We parked our car on a stay and park deal this time and this was well worth it. You just pay for extra nights if over the 7 days.
Have found it easy to navigate our way through the car park to the terminals. If you go straight, you come across the walking signs directing you. Or you can use the shuttle service.
Did notice some road noise this time -(room was on the side of the building that had the airport in road), but as I was getting up early, it was not really an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    483
    208
    38
    23
See reviews for
175
324
103
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We found ourselfs in the airport over night during a trip around the world and decided to have a night in a hotel to catch up on some sleep, we ended up here. The price was really expensive $150 for the night, but everything was great! The best bit was the breakfast, a great selection, from a fry up, to cereals, muffins, 10 different coffees and a lovely dining area. The hotel takes you to your terminal full and well rested!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the road on the west of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

A basic airport hotel which is middle of the road for the other options available.
We were told the twin room had two queen beds yet got into our room which was opposite the elevator (kind of exactly the opposite of the quiet room we had asked for) to find it was two double beds. Did not bode well for a good night sleep but we were just too tired with a small child in tow to bother heading downstairs again.
Clean bedding but goodness I hate lying there staring at that horrid ceiling!
Bathroom was clean but didn't appear so with discoloured grout.

Admittedly the Holiday Inn is a typical airport hotel (better than the Ibis, not quite as nice as the Parkroyal) but not up to the standard of a "normal" CBD Holiday Inn. It's just a bit tired and emotional at the moment....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missjane06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Missjane06,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your review. It is our utmost concern to make sure we provide our guests with clean and comfortable accommodations. I am sorry to hear that the room assigned to you did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been taken into serious account as these helps us find more ways on how we can make your stay exceptional.

Once again, thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Early morning flight seemed a good idea to use the Holiday Inn rather than get up at 3am.

Turned out to be a great decision. Firstly the property itself is all you need for an airport hotel. You can walk to the terminal if you dont have heavy suitcases, take the shuttle if you do. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Bathroom was clean and plenty of hot water. Didnt try the restaurant or room service as the terminal is too close to ignore.

Woke up in time to go over and check in to find flight delayed 5 hours....rolled over and went back to sleep. With a 1200 check out we were in a great spot to relax and then head over to the terminal and wait for the flight.

Definitely worth it especially for morning flights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Aegisint,

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your short time with us, it’s a shame your flight was delayed but great to be able to sleep in a bit

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are on an early flight

Kind regards

Stuart
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

If you are new to Melbourne and need fast accomodation or have a busy schedule and need to be close to the airport then this the hotel.

The rooms are clean and service is good. Shuttle service is available to the airport.

Vargas Restaurant offers a decent menu for lunch and dinner. The outdoor sitting area is nice esp. during the evenings.

Free internet service for one hour in the lobby.

The downside:
The building is old fashioned and the decor needs a makeover. Reminds me of my undergrad. dorm.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamzid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Tamzid F

I appreciate your feedback, I was happy to read that you were able to take advantage of the free shuttle service to the terminals and found the rooms clean and well serviced.

We do receive positive feedback regarding our Vargas bar and restaurant and I am glad you also enjoyed your time there. The Chefs are currently working on a new winter menu which you will have to try next time you head this way

Kind regards

Stuart
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had been travelling for 10 weeks in parts of Europe, then flown back to Australia. Due to connectivity between flights, we had to spend one night in Melbourne, and chose Holiday Inn for its convenience. The room was reasonably well fitted out, and had everything we needed, but there were lots of small points that made us think this was not a 4-star hotel. Let us start with getting to the hotel. Yes, there are signs, but right at the point where the path bifurcates, the signs for Holiday Inn stop. At night, even though we could see the building, we were unsure of which path to take, and ended up in an extra busy car park for McDonalds wondering which way was the best. Given that we were paying more than $280 for the night, we were surprised to find a large crack through the wall tiles of the bathroom, and badly applied grouting in a patch up job. The bottom of the door looked like it had been flooded a number of times, and had recently been repainted to hide its swollen appearance. When we decided to purchase a bottle of wine to celebrate our return to OZ, we were told that the hotel would not supply a bottle to the room, and we should use the less than impressive wine in the mini-bar. The staff at both check-in and check-out were just doing their job. There was little friendliness or interaction. We walked away thinking that this hotel needs to lift its game.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCr00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear The Crooks,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I would also like to apologize as by reading your feedback it is quite apparent that your stay was not up to the high standards we aim for and that you deserve.

Your comments regarding the signage at night is a point well made and we are currently reviewing them to make any necessary improvements to ensure our guests can make the short walk from the terminal to us without being confused. Please note that the hotel also has a free shuttle service to and from the airport so there is no need to walk.

I was disappointed to read that our team members did not convey the famous Holiday Inn hospitality and I will be using your comments as a reminder and a learning tool to ensure that we continue to improve in this area.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Stuart
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Only stayed the one night before flying out early morning, but found the Holiday Inn perfect for our requirements. Staff were friendly and helpful at check- in, they helped us with parking options that we were not aware of before hand. Our room was spotless and quiet and had everything we needed. Had dinner in the restaurant and it too was good value and enjoyable. Staff again on check - out were friendly, efficient and polite. We think the Holiday Inn is a great option when staying put at the airport

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clearclearclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello there Clearclearclear,

Thanks for the great review

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you need accommodation at the airport.

Kind regards

Stuart
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullamarine
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
1.3 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Motel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
Address: 10-14 Centre Road, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport is the only full-service global brand hotel at the airport. When you see our familiar green sign, you're minutes away from the great value, comfort and service of our trusted brand. We're also the only full-service hotel here offering a loyalty program with which you can earn points towards flights and accommodation. And we give IHG Rewards Club members extra perks too, such as free high-speed Internet and late checkouts. The hotel is just a 400m stroll from the terminals, with a free round-the-clock airport shuttle service. Live flight information displayed in the lobby and guestrooms will help you fine tune your departure. Spacious well-appointed guestrooms are sound-proofed and provide the deeply comforting sleep experience travellers expect from Holiday Inn. Dining in your room or relaxing in Vargas bar and Vargas restaurant, you can rely on great meals made from the best ingredients. Take advantage of 'Kids Stay and Eat Free' for unbeatable family value. Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport. Trust the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing