We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights”
Review of Punthill Oakleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punthill Oakleigh
Certificate of Excellence
gold coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“3 nights”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights in sept,checking in was ridiculous as no one on the desk,so instructions were to phone a number on the house phone so did that and it rang and rang.after a good 20mins someone answered,they came down in the lift and smelled so highly of cigarette smoke,so it was obviously what they were doing.The room was lovely, very clean and a good size.Bed was way too soft for me but you can't please everyone.Noise from the roads outside was so loud so if you are a light sleeper don't stay here!Bathroom is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IIIIIIIIIall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear lllllllllall,
We are so sorry for the difficulties you experienced with the check-in procedure. We can only assume that you arrived quite late after our reception was closed for the evening.
Our beds have our signature mattress toppers on them which is supposed to feel as if you are 'sleeping on a cloud', but we can easily remove the topper for any guest upon request.
We certainly have apartments that face away from the road, so next time you book, please request one of these for your next stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    35
    19
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
29
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Relatively new apartment accommodation which offers a great stay option in Melbourne's east. Simple facility that has well presented, fitted out and comfortable rooms at a fair price.
I read a lot of reviews which said the rooms were noisy, particularly in the apartments facing the road, but I had no issues so unless you are a light sleeper you should be fine.
Recommended if you are looking for good quality accommodation in the east.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KRock_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear KRock_06,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Oakleigh on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I had a conference on at nearby Holmesglen TAFE and chose to stay at Punthill Oakleigh for four nights. Don't you just love it when your choice in accommodation is a winner?! Booking was a breeze ( I emailed to request a room on the car park side- make sure you do the same!- and it was happily met!) The lady on front reception was lovely! I am sorry I never got her name! Always greeted by a friendly smile and a "good morning!" The rooms are on the smallish side but not too small! The bed was very comfortable with a variety of pillows to suit all! The room was complete with a cute blackboard with a welcome message which was a nice touch! The TV could be bigger.. Great cupboard space, lovely HUGE bathroom (just needs more bench space), and a great little kitchenette! I didn't cook at all though so can't comment on the function of the kitchen. Speaking of food, there is nando's and a lovely Chinese restaurant downstairs. There is a servo over the road, subway, KFC close by, and not to mention the Chadstone Shopping Center is just down the road! The hotel also has a gym (small but good enough) and a lovely little spa! Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Request a room on the car park side- cant hear any traffic at all from this side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndell_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Lyndell_f,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Oakleigh.
The team will be so pleased to know that you thorougly enjoyed the apartment, facilities and service at Punthill Oakleigh and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed for two nights. I read the reviews here and some people complained of the traffic noise, but then I thought it cant be that bad. Big mistake. Its BAD!
We were in an apartment on the first floor, facing the road. The hotel is in a VERY busy intersection, and there was traffic all the time. The noise kept us up all night.
Also, the encoded key cards seem to be ridiculously sensitive to mobile phones and other equipment. I accidentally left the card next to my phone, and it wouldn't work. We couldn't get into the room, and because it was 8:20 pm, had to call reception from a phone in the lobby. Reception closes at 8pm, and there is a phone there with instructions to call them after hours. It took about 20 minutes for someone to show up and let us in. The lady who showed up was very grumpy, seems we had disturbed her card game. She encoded our cards again and literally shouted at us to follow instructions and not let any equipment like phones, laptops etc. come anywhere near those key cards.

Overall a pretty bad experience. They should really do something about the traffic noise. Will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. If you have to stay here ask for a room facing the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideGuy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear AdelaideGuy70

Thank you for your review.

Next time you stay please request an apartment that faces away from the road. Some guests are not at all bothered by some level of traffic noise - the apartments in fact have super thick laminated glass.

We are extremely sorry that you found a staff member grumpy and we will certainly address this matter. We really regret that your stay was unsatisfactory. If you do wish to stay in the future, please contact our General Manager - Tania Sreco. Tania will ensure that you have an excellent stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a nice place, close to Chadstone and easy enough driving for out of towners. Everything is new and clean. We stayed here last year and are staying a couple of nights again in about a months time. If I remember the beds were a bit on the firm side but everything else was completely comfortable and simply pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Dan H,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Oakleigh, and it is great to know that you are looking forward to your next stay at the property too.
Please request for a mattress topper on the bed and we are sure that you will be much more comfortable during your next visit.
We look forward to seeing you again at Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. There was plenty of room, nice size bathroom, Easy and good location for our visit. Plenty of eating places around. Block out could be better in the living room and some may not like the traffic noise. It didn't really bother us. Overall nice place we will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Barny21,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Punthill Oakleigh and thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

After reading multiple reviews on here I requested a room overlooking the carpark rather than the road, and for a harder bed. They happily accommodated my request. The room was modern and clean and had a lovely layout. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We checked in late at night and had to call a number to be let in which was no trouble at all. Would definitely stay there again. The chinese restaurant underneath the Punthill was also excellent - we ate there twice it was so good.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NatBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear NatBG,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Oakleigh on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at the property and that the service and apartments met all your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakleigh
Punthill Burwood
#2 of 3 in Burwood
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,058 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 159 in Melbourne
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Oakleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Oakleigh

Property: Punthill Oakleigh
Address: Crnr Princess Hwy & Warrigal Rd, Oakleigh, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Oakleigh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oakleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Oakleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Oakleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Oakleigh Australia - Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing