We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traffic aallll night”
Review of Punthill Oakleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punthill Oakleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traffic aallll night”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My gf and I stayed here for 2 nights. 10mins walk to Oakleigh central / train station.. with take away, pubs & restaurants even closer. We loved the spacious apartment, but found it difficult to sleep as its situated on the corner of two main roads.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wudibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Wudibell,

Thank you for your review of Punthill Oakleigh. We are glad that you liked your apartment, but sorry to hear that you found it difficult to get a good night's sleep. Some guests are not at all bothered by some level of traffic noise - the apartments in fact have extremely thick laminated glass. However, the next time you stay, please request an apartment that faces away from the road. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    37
    19
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
29
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The apartment was well designed and well equipped with all we needed for a weekend stay. All fixtures and fittings were up to date and in good condition.
It is very convenient location for shopping at Chadstone Shopping Centre and trains to central Melbourne are a short walk away. Good location to stay if you have business east of the city to save travel time.
Punthill Oakleigh is on the junction of two major roads, but we got a quiet apartment away from the road as we requested, so noise was definitely not a problem.
We found the base room rate no cheaper than central city hotels, but inclusion of free onsite parking saves up to $20 per night, compared with similar properties in the city.
Reception staff were pleasant and helpful.
There is a chinese restaurant and a Nandos onsite. We didn't try them, but it could be useful if you don't want to cook.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and quiet apartment to be away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Kittie01,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Oakleigh on TripAdvisor.
Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed on the long weekend, A very nice place , good location close to Chadstone.
the Gentleman on the front desk was very helpful and pleasant.
My room was spacious and someone had the thought to turn on the air conditioner.
that was great.

Room Tip: go for a room facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randyotoole2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear randyotoole2003,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Oakleigh.
Great to hear that you felt so well looked after and enjoyed the apartments and facilities at this apartment hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

The gentleman on the front desk is an absolute disgrace to this establishment. The hotel itself it's perfect but I would purely never stay again due to this gentlemans attitude. No smile, no hello, no thank you no nothing's. It such a shame. I hope whoever reads this instigates some change in front desk because him alone will ruin this place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthgal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Perthgal13,
We are incredibly sorry - we are aware of the situation and are making a change as soon as we possibly can. The person concerned is a relief manager who has been with us for only 2 weeks and will not be with us much longer. The permanent managers will be back next week.
Again, we are so sorry, and we do hope to welcome you back soon to our usual warm and responsive staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We took one week business trip and booked a 2 bedroom apartment. The rooms are well-equipped. Especially the kitchen and kitchenware are really help us prepare many meals in that week. The lounge is also helpful that we can continue our work when we came back apartment. And the reception is really friendly and help us a lot. We really appreciate their help in many things, like book cab for us every morning. Another reason we want to recommend is that Punthill Oakleigh is well-located. We just walk about 10 mins to Chadstone and there are many stores and supermarkets. oh, the last thing, the Chinese restaurant and Nado's upstairs are worth to visit, they are both delicious.

Room Tip: If you are really sensitive to noisy, you may ask for room far away from roads, because there are ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yi-Wen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Yi-Wen C,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Oakleigh.
Great to hear that the apartments, service and location all met your expectations during your recent week-long stay at the property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We visited friends in the area and booked the 2 bedroom option. The one bedder was adequately equipped with kitchenware, good sized bedroom and lounge, the bathroom was on the small side and you needed to be a hurdler to get over the bath to have a shower. All the room lights worked and the unit was very clean. The adjoining motel style room to complete the two bedroom option was again a good size and equally well appointed. We spent most of the day out, then found the bonus of an onsite Chinese restaurent and Nando's takeaway for the easy meal option. Well equipped, well priced and spot on location for us means that we will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear TikiRoo,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Oakleigh.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights in sept,checking in was ridiculous as no one on the desk,so instructions were to phone a number on the house phone so did that and it rang and rang.after a good 20mins someone answered,they came down in the lift and smelled so highly of cigarette smoke,so it was obviously what they were doing.The room was lovely, very clean and a good size.Bed was way too soft for me but you can't please everyone.Noise from the roads outside was so loud so if you are a light sleeper don't stay here!Bathroom is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IIIIIIIIIall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Oakleigh, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear lllllllllall,
We are so sorry for the difficulties you experienced with the check-in procedure. We can only assume that you arrived quite late after our reception was closed for the evening.
Our beds have our signature mattress toppers on them which is supposed to feel as if you are 'sleeping on a cloud', but we can easily remove the topper for any guest upon request.
We certainly have apartments that face away from the road, so next time you book, please request one of these for your next stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakleigh
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
3.4 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#1 of 3 in Burwood
62 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Buckingham International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
4.3 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chadstone Executive Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Oakleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Oakleigh

Property: Punthill Oakleigh
Address: Crnr Princess Hwy & Warrigal Rd, Oakleigh, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Oakleigh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oakleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Oakleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Oakleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Oakleigh Australia - Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing