We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE STAR! AS PLANNED AND ANTICIPATED AND MUCH MORE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Walhalla's Star Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walhalla
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE STAR! AS PLANNED AND ANTICIPATED AND MUCH MORE!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Everything went to plan so smoothly from a best deal to administration before during and after. The warm management hospitality, local historical knowledge, accommodation presentation and facilities built into a nice package throughout the 4 days visit.

Plan ahead, know your stuff and you will have a magic holiday break at " Walhalla Star Hotel".

Room Tip: Ground Floor " Black Diamond" Super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLeaney, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Star and in Walhalla and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another relaxing break. Thanks, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    75
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
15
159
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Had two days stay and what an experience. The whole visit was enjoyable from the local history- hotel food and the pub!!!!. Michael and Russell- gave excellent service. Well worth a visit ,especially if you want a quite relaxed stay... Nick & Veronica

Room Tip: Don't use Sat Nav... Map only!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLeaney, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we're very pleased that you enjoyed your time here. Walhalla certainly have many facets and yon can always find so many things to enjoy...including the peace and quiet. We like your advice on the GPS / Sat Nav...very true around here. We are always happy to give detailed directions and maps to ensure people get to where they want to go...GPS can lead you a little astray sometimes in the mountains :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I went there to work and found it felt more like play! The Star is truly that - The Star! Food wonderful, Michael and Russell marvellous, Walhalla extraordinary and best of all, for such a small village with a handful of residents, it's non stop places to go, people to see. Enormous gratitude Star!
The place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLeaney, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your review, Russell and I are so pleased that we were able to make your stay with us feel less work and more play. We have so many people come to the Star and Walhalla for a break from their daily grind and to get some relaxation so it's really nice to hear that even when you're actually in town working you still get the same feelings of fun, peace, quiet and adventure. Look forward to having you return...whether it be for work or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Excellent all round. Stayed with my girlfriend for two nights. Great hosts, venue, location, food, amenities, town, very helpful tourist advice regarding Long Tunnel Extended Mine tour, Ghost tour, hiking tracks and surrounding areas. You may have tried the rest now try the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLeaney, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Star and in Walhalla. We look forward to welcoming you back to our little slice of paradise :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent a Friday night in town and stayed at the Star Hotel. The room was fine, clean, service was great BUT the hotel is not actually a hotel - there's no public bar / no public access, it's really best described as a Private Hotel or pretty flash B&B. The night was stayed, the Star restaurant wasn't doing meals. The other small cafe/restaurant in town has closed down. The only other place to eat is the "Waly Pub" which is a small country pub with great staff and limited resources - it's pretty small. We'd had lunch at the Pub but it was the only option was to have dinner there too. We were disappointed that as visitors we couldn't book a table at the pub, only to get there and find that locals could! Bit disappointing that tourists run second best! Overall, a fascinating place - just make sure the Star chef is on duty (there's only one) if you want to eat there too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 637Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalhallaVictoria, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Star. Yes, Walhalla's Star Hotel is a "Private Hotel". We have guest bars where our house guests can enjoy a drink 24/7 [if you wish] and enjoy the quiet ambiance of our lounge. If you're looking for a bustling public bar, I'm sorry, but we are not the place. I note that you booked via a 3rd party website and need to advise that we are often very limited with the detail we can include on these sites due to their "one size fits all" formats. We strongly recommend that people view our own website www.starhotel.com.au as this includes a detailed "fact sheet" about the hotel and our facilities and opening hours for our restaurant. Our website also gives details of Walhalla. Everyone must remember that Walhalla is a tiny town [population 15...yes fifteen] and therefore you won't get all the services of a city...but that's the reason people come here. We always advise that visitors do a little research to see if Walhalla and the Star hotel suits their needs so there is no confusion as to what is being delivered [ie no television or mobile phone service]. Regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

What a great little town hidden away in this beautiful, extreme valley setting.

We spent a night at the Star Hotel and it was perfect. We had the basic room which was very clean, bigger than the pictures suggested, and fit out with everything we required for our stay.

There are coffee and tea making facilities everywhere so you never go dry.

We were greeted by Russell at check in and everything was prompt and friendly. It was also recommended to make a booking if we wanted dinner so we took this opportunity and did so. The dinner seating times may seem a little early for some however it worked in well with the start of the ghost tour giving you just enough time to get from dinner to the meeting point.

The times worked our brilliantly for us and the Lamb Pie was sensational.

Upon leaving, we started speaking with the proprietor Michael who had some very interesting stories about some of the ornaments on display and where they came from. He even topped up my wine while we chatted and didn't charge for it, this made it feel like I was just at a friends place sharing a yarn.

All in all, would highly recommend the Start Hotel and when we visit Walhalla again in the future, will most certainly not look anywhere else for accommodation. Great people, great place, and beautiful town. Could asked for any more.

Thanks guys for a great stay, I've been telling everyone about it and I'm sure they'll look you up.

JL

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JUM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalhallaVictoria, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We're always happy to chat with guests...many of whom are very interested in Walhalla's history...as with no television, a yarn at the bar is important to us too LOL! Glad you enjoyed your dinner too. See you back at the Star soon. Regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent 2 very pleasant nights here last weekend booked via last minute. We were given a room on the long balcomy with views over the bandstand. It was just perfect. We were warmly greeted by a very knowledgable host and shown to our room with explanations where needed. Beware - their restaurant curiously does not open on Friday nights! We were able to eat down the road at the Wally Pub (which was fine) but I would hate to be stuck here with no way of having dinner/buying any food. We had a very fresh and delicious dinner in their restaurant on the Saturday night and they were extra helpful in looking after some dietary requirements that I have. (Thank you for that.) Any tendency to rip people off because of the remoteness had been avoided with prices for food and wine kept at very reasonable levels. Much appreciated!

The room was very spacious and nicely appointed and the communal tea and coffee and wine etc works very well.

Would very happily go back here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 03Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalhallaVictoria, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Star. Please note that our restaurant does not open on the Friday or Sunday night....why?...because our chef does need some time off and with many people doing 2 night stays on Fri/Sat or Sat/Sun people do like to try other options in town. Our "fact sheet" on www.starhotel.com.au gives full details of what we offer. We note that you booked via a 3rd party website and we do need to advise that we are often limited with what details we are able to provide via these sites...often there is only a "tick box" for "restaurant"...but we cannot list any hours of operation. Very pleased you enjoyed your meal on Saturday and that you found our pricing very reasonable. Thanks, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walhalla
20.7 mi away
Morwell Motel
Morwell Motel
#1 of 4 in Morwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
18.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Latrobe
18.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Traralgon
Comfort Inn Traralgon
#8 of 8 in Traralgon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Walhalla Lodge Hotel
Walhalla Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Walhalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
17.7 mi away
Montfort Manor
Montfort Manor
#1 of 4 in Traralgon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
18.0 mi away
Creek Cottage B&B
Creek Cottage B&B
#2 of 5 in Traralgon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walhalla's Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walhalla's Star Hotel

Property: Walhalla's Star Hotel
Address: 130 Main St | Walhalla Historic Township, Walhalla, Victoria 3825, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Walhalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walhalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Walhalla's Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the LCBTA "People's Choice" Award for 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. Located in the heart of Walhalla opposite the famous band rotunda, the Star Hotel provides boutique accommodation with large modern rooms all with ensuite, king beds [twins available], CD player and air-conditioning. A visit to Walhalla and the Star is about stepping back in time to relax and enjoy the unique atmosphere of this hidden mountain village. Leave your mobile phone at home as they don't work here...if you can't miss your favourite TV program Walhalla probably isn't a good choice as TVs don't work in the deep valley either! The internet is limited too, so it's great "tiime out" destimation. A trip to Walhalla and a stay at Walhalla's Star Hotel provides a chance unwind and explore the amazing gold-era history of the township including the mountain railway, daily gold mine tours, heritage walks and fascinating hillside cemetery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walhalla's Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Walhallas Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing