We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic and cozy”
other traveller has booked this property
Entrance to the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to the cottage
Queen bed with latex mattress
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Entrance to the cottage
Queen bed with latex mattress
Seating by the fire
Cosy kitchenette overlooking Stringer's Creek
Undercover porch, looking across to the Coach House
Cottage as seen from the main road, next to the Coach House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Walhalla, Gippsland, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AgneseUni...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic and cozy”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The cottage is very pretty and beautifully located. We especially appreciated the fireplace on a rainy night. There are plenty of historical and natural attractions in the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Great to hear. Talk about weather extremes this Summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanSomers...
Somerset, Tasmania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy, quiet, unique and history”
Reviewed 17 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Perched on a cutting above the Walhalla Railway this small, quaint miner's cottage has all you need for a self-catering stay in Walhalla. The cottage is cosy, quiet, unique and historical.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2017
Thanks ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon L
1 review
“Stringer's Cottage”
Reviewed 17 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

If you truly want to feel at one with Walhalla, this is the Cottage to stay at. Awesome views, beautiful surrounds. Peace and quiet. Shelter from the elements. Cosy and warm. You'll want for nothing more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K
1 review
“Great little hide away”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Walhalla is a great place to get away from the rat race and the seclusion of Stringer's Cottage adds to this. As long as you can cope with no internet or TV and minimal mobile reception and power, you will love it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thanks Julie, it certainly doesn't suit everyone!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61KC23
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Picture perfect cottage & town”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

When you drive into Walhalla, Stringer's looks very conspicuous & very gorgeous on a side of a hill. No matter where you look or turn in Walhalla it's a step back in time. We felt warm & safe inside this cute cottage. The only thing we couldn't work out was the noise from the fire fan.There's probably a knack to it but in the end we had to turn the fan off. The surroundings of the cottage & coach house are really beautiful. We stayed in the cottage but we could see inside the coach house windows because no one was staying there when we were. It looked amazing and is a lot larger if you want more space. You really must visit Walhalla and Stringer's Cottage & Coach House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Thanks Caisee, I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the heads-up re fan. Maintenance guy taking a look today!
Might see you at the Coach House next time ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegirlat...
Bemm River
2 reviews
“Stress Free Relaxation”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a great time staying for 2 nights and it was wonderful to have all the tech things not available

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstin M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Mr ”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We loved Stringer's Cottage!

Wouldn't change anything except the bed. It's a little saggy in the middle.

It's a very special place and we can't wait to get back there. We need 4 nights instead of 2 next time though.

We did have a very funny and strange ghostly experience which wasn't scary in the slightest. We think the ghost who is documented in the guest book as being a long-haired woman is a bit flirty and mischievous

We got out of the car at night after visiting the town and my husband got the house key from his pocket and found his fingers covered in a sticky substance. He was baffled to find one of those motel sachets of honey in his pocket and it had split very recently in his pocket because there wasn't honey on the car seat.

Now, we dont eat honey (fructose dislike), didn't see a condiment sachet in the cottage and certainly didn't stash a sachet in pocket for later use.....ghost lady thinks my man is sweet

My man wouldn't go out to the car to find a pen for writing in guest book he was so spooked
Take a pen with you if you go there! A cross for protection is a good idea too!

Thanks for the big laughs ghost lady .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Glad you enjoyed it, including the special visit...
Will check the bed, it is latex so a very different feel to a normal mattress - it tends to mould around your body, good in a cold place like Walhalla!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing