We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely retreat place - thank you”
other traveller has booked this property
Entrance to the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to the cottage
Queen bed with latex mattress
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Entrance to the cottage
Queen bed with latex mattress
Seating by the fire
Cosy kitchenette overlooking Stringer's Creek
Undercover porch, looking across to the Coach House
Cottage as seen from the main road, next to the Coach House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Walhalla, Gippsland, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dwithers2
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A lovely retreat place - thank you”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Anna, Stringers Cottage was a lovely place to come in the setting of historic Walhalla - a leisurely walk around town, a ride of the train, lovely tea at the pub.
The cottage was very comfortable and well appointed. Once the fire was burning, it quickly became a warm space to relax. Lack of mains electricity power was not a problem as the in-house system worked well.

One suggested improvement - some plunger coffee might have helped us!

A lovely retreat space to get away from it all and enjoy some peace and quiet up the secluded Walhalla valley.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Nice to hear! I'll see what I can do re the coffee, for next time ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby R
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another perfect stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is the third time we've been back to Stringer's Cottage and we were delighted to find the cottage waiting for us again this year. It is such a fantastic place to unwind from the trials and tribulations of the city and get back to what's important. Anna has really thought of everything you could need for a comfortable stay and we wouldn't change a thing. We'll be back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
Thanks once again for your kind review. It's not for everybody, but those who love it really get that it is a unique place to stay ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brimaz
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

While the cottage is cute, it's far smaller than we expected. Kitchen facilities are awkward to use, and the oven would not light no matter what we tried, meaning we had to pay for dinner at the local pub. The axe in the woodbox is blunt, and access to the cottage is difficult for older people. We were lucky that the people staying in the Coachhouse were happy for us to use the flat access to and from our car, otherwise we'd be stuck with the 39 steps to and from the road, then the very steep driveway down to where the car was parked. The bed was comfortable, the armchairs not too bad, but there's no comfortable way to use laptops. There's a radio, but it doesn't work. The lighting is dingy and depressing, and while we understand the limitations of available electricity, surely new light globes would improve this considerably. We did not expect to have to clean out the firebox when we first arrived. Overall, we were disappointed - for an additional $40 a night we could have rented the Coachhouse and had all the comforts of home in spacious, comfortable accommodation. It disturbs me that the owner wants only good reviews posted on this site, and not-so-good ones directed to her. In fairness, potential renters need to know the reality. Walhalla itself is worth a visit for anyone interested in the history of the goldfields. The train ride is great fun, and the mine tour and museums are fascinating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2018
Thanks Marion, sorry you were disappointed but the reason I suggest that if people have concerns they let me know rather them write them here is so I can fix them immediately. I've had the cleaner check the stove and it works, you just needed to use lighter rather than rely on the button start. Wood is cut to size so you shouldn't have need the hatchet, but that's easily fixed.Yes, the cottage is small- have you seen where it's built? Yes, it runs on 12v - I don't make the bulbs, I buy what's available at $30 a pop...Its a CD player, which works, as we don't get radio reception, which you might have noticed when driving in...The instructions specifically ask people not to clean out the fire as we live in an extremely fire prone area and I don't want hot ash and possible embers being dumped in the bush. If bookings are back to back, the cleaner won't do it either as I ask people to keep the fire going for the benefit of the next guests.I own the property next door and make it clear to renters that people might be using the path by the house, so I'm pleased the people in the Coach House read my notes and were accomodating. Nothing I say will stop people publishing a bad review, but as you can see, you are one of a handful who ever have. Please, by all means book the Coach House next time but you will have to bring your own linen unless you pay extra, and you will find some of the same issues as it is also an Eco house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterding...
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely charming.”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Our two nights in Stringer's Cottage made us want more - we will return! Not for those who want spas & dishwashers, this is an endearing, down-to-earth, beautifully presented little haven, with all the practical tools & implements required for living here. Good (small) kitchen, comfy bed, interesting collection of books, games, pictures, & a wonderful fireplace ( & firewood, kindling ,axe, newspaper, firelighters, matches...!). Easy to walk into Walhalla, a unique & fascinating place. Loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Great to hear such positive feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amrinder...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Divine Retreat”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A trip to Walhalla is incomplete without a stay in Coach House.
The interiors and the location of the cottage make one more receptive to experience the divinity of the wilderness. We will surely visit again and try to comprehend the hidden stories in each of the minute items/objects collected by Anna. The coach house indeed talks with right people. Thanks to Anna for giving us an opportunity to have a bonding with coach house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2018
Thanks for your positive feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrod J
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute little hideaway”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Stringers cottage was the perfect little hideaway for a couple weary shift workers wanting to escape the daily grind. It’s positioned perfectly amongst the bush but still only a quick stroll into the main tourist town of walhalla. We spent 3 nights here relaxing and using it as our base for exploring the area’s rich history. Will definitely recommend staying here to others

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thanks! great to hear
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil-Susa...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stringers Cottage - A gorgeous odle fashioend, small & beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Small little hideway in Walhalla, near to the tourist train station, the village, the creek everything. Turn back time and enjoy yourself the olde fashioned way. What could be better. It's rustic, clean & very cosy. Thanks Anna for making our holiday such a great experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2018
Cheers ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing