We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy enough”
Review of Sweetwater Cafe

Sweetwater Cafe
Reserve with
Sweetwater Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Yering
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not fancy enough”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Staying in the Yarra Valley area and after a long day out driving and visiting wineries, I just felt like a nice cup of tea. Passing by Yering Station and decided to drop in and have said cup of tea. Hubby & I walked in and were made to feel like second class citizens - admittedly we were wearing jeans but had nice shirts on and were casual but neat. We were asked what we were after and then ushered into a back room. Then someone came and took our order - tea for two and we sat and waited and waited. After 15 minutes hubby decided to investigate to see what the hold up was. He came back with the waiter in tow after about 5 minutes and we were promptly told we were unable to have tea with no explanation. We both looked at each other and simply walked out confused and disappointed with the service which we had expected would be of a high standard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    8
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I had a lovely lunch with my mum here. The service was great and the food delicious. Really nice place for a ladies lunch

Helpful?
Thank kells6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not What I had Expected”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We booked in for lunch at the Sweetwater Cafe at Yering Station in the Yarra Valley. A beautiful setting in lush gardens and attached to the lovely historic home! We ordered Tempura Zucchini Flowers (2) with Persian Fetta and Tomato Relish and it was sublime. The cheese melted as the knife cut through the delicate tempura batter. Yum! Our second entree chosen from the Snack menu was Lamb Kromeski with Eggplant Relish, gribiche and Watercress (2). Another delicious snack and two empty plates done! Our main courses were selected and we chose Roasted Pork Belly, Spiced Carrot Purée, Braised Fennel and Pork Jus and a Pumpkin and Sage Pappardelle, Chestnuts, Wild Mushrooms and Grand Padano.
Our meals arrived. Instead of the Pappardelle dish, my parter was served the Wild Mushroom and Duck Risotto Dish. When we pointed out the mistake the waitress apologised and said she would change it. My bloke however, always Mr Nice, offered to keep the Risotto dish which he did and enjoyed. My Roasted Pork Belly was a huge disappointment. The pork was not nice with the skin soft and spongy and the thick fat layer unrendered . There was no crispy pork skin. There was a strange taste to the pork jus with unbalanced flavours and it was vinegary.
The fennel was ok and the broccoli well cooked and with crunch.
Because I ate little we decided on desserts and elected to have the Banana Tart Tatin and a Chocolate and Earl Grey Creme Brûlée. Both were nice.
Our waitress did not charge us for our desserts because of the mix up with his meal and inedability of mine.
Maybe an off day in the kitchen!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
465 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting in the Yarra Valley”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Sweetwater Cafe is a contemporary style restaurant located in the Chateau Yering historic homestead which is found in the Yarra Valley. A great place for a stopover either for a simple lunch or for a relaxing weekend in stunning surrounds. The "winter" menu was adequate whilst not overly extensive. The food was well presented, but very "rich in taste". The staff were able to cater for gluten free options. We found it to be a nice place to have an enjoyable lunch with friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A nice lunch stopover”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Chateau Yering so ate at Sweetwater a couple of times. The breakfast was included in the tariff and was excellent. We only had a light lunch but the food was innovative and well presented and the service was very good. A nice place to lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillPSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweetwater Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sweetwater Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing