We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Yering Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed 1 night in November - great location and setting. Friendly staff and very helpful. Room looking very tired and badly in need of refurbishment. While I appreciate it is a period style hotel, there is no place in ensuite to leave toiled bag etc so dragged ironing board in ensuite. Food was very poor quality for 5 star accommodation - ordered room service - cheese & ham sandwich - very average - $10 charge to deliver to room. Breakfast the next day pretty much the same. A bit disappointed as the Yarra Valley is famous for fresh produce and did not get to experience any of that!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    75
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
32
244
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It was our Wedding Anniversary and I wanted to take my wife somewhere really special.
This venue did not let us down!!
We had the most AMAZING time in the most amazing, tranquil setting.
I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules68o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The room was a bit plushy and the outside terrace looked neglected (paint peeling off, not very clean). However, the restaurant food was good, albeit expensive, all in all a little keeping up appearances. Breakfast was good, despite the neg.reviews of some people. They should renovate/refurbish the place, I had the impression that our room smelled mouldy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Our 'Chandon package' was a wedding gift from friends and we enjoyed every moment. From the chilled bottle of champagne on arrival to the beautifully appointed room, every detail had been thought of. The king size bed and fluffy duvet made me feel that I was sleeping on clouds! Dinner at Eleanore's restaurant was superb, served by attentive, knowledgeable and attentive staff. Breakfast next morning in the Sweetwater Café was lovely with plenty of choice and generous cooked offerings. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the vista from the bedroom balcony across the valley, it is an amazing Chateau to experience
The staff were very professional and accommodating despite our very late arrival from the airport.
The breakfast was more than enjoyable, my poached eggs perfect
Well done to the team, I look forward to returning
Cheers
The Hon. Bob Baldwin MP

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BobBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gembrook, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and i just celebrated our "20th" Wedding Anniversary at Chateau Yering. We stayed in the "Yering Suite" which is unbelievable. We were made to feel very special from the moment we arrived to the time we left. Our package was for two nights including breakfast both mornings and also dinner at Eleonor's Restaurant. The food was amazing and the service was just at good. It's not something we could afford to do on a regular basis (although I would love to) but as far as value for money, it was worth every penny. The atmosphere, staff, food, and of course the wine made it a very memorable/special anniversary for us. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing wonderful few days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne - Australia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We ate at the cafe restaurant which resembles a sunroom with big windows looking out over the gorgeous garden. Staff are excellent and the menu is vast, meals can be ordered as either entree or main, such a lovely atmosphere, prices are exceptionally good, if you are looking for a special spot for lunch, look no further.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
5.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
542 reviews
16.5 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
133 reviews
22.8 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
1,973 reviews
2.9 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Yering Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Yering Hotel

Property: Chateau Yering Hotel
Address: 42 Melba Hwy, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Yering Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Yering Hotel a Victorian Mansion built in 1854 and restored to 1997 is set in the heart of the Yarra Valley, Victoria's premier wine region. Chateau Yering Hotel is a gracious five star hotel featuring 32 luxurious suites individually decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. This welcoming property offers unsurpassed fine dining in Eleonore's Restaurant while Sweetwater Cafe serves breakfast daily and lunch Wednesday to Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Yering Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Yering Historic Hotel
Chateau Yering Historic Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing