We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country house style in the vineyards near Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Yering Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2006

We have stayed twice at Chateau Yeribg, in October 2005 and again this year. The country mansion which is the basis of this Relais et Chateaux-listed hotel dates from the 19th century. Some of the rooms are in the older portion, but most of the accommodation is in two two-storey wings added in the last 10-20 years. We preferred the upper level new rooms, which offer a substantial main room with beds, dining table, television/DVD etc, armchairs and couch and a substantial outside balcony (plus a separate bathroom and entry hall). Our friends found equal comfort in the ground floor rooms in the old stable area.

Breakfast is offered in a conservatory-style informal restaurant, which is light and airy and a great place to start the day (good weather or bad - we have had both). The main evening dining is in Elenore's restaurant - a first class silver service restaurant which as well as providing for the Chateau's guests is often used by locals for special dinners also. Next door is Yering Station, a major local vineyard which was previously the farm part of this property. It has its own splendid cafe for lunch (but not dinner) and often has art and sculpture exhibitions. Both are on an elevated ridge looking across fields and vineyards - very peaceful. We did not tackle the 4am departure sunrise balloon flight (around $A300 per head including champagne breakfast afterwards) but those who did were enthusiastic.

Nearby locations include Yarra Glen village, Healesville (with a famous Australian native wildlife sanctuary) and a further drive through beautiful forest to the small skiing village of Marysville. If you have a couple of spare days when in Melbourne this is a great place to relax and see a different side of Australia. There are some keenly-priced "short break" packages available at most times.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2006

I had heard about Chateau Yering for a long time and was excited to be going. I booked a week in advance and was disappointed that our room overlooked the restaurant rather than the countryside. Hardly a rural view of rolling hills. The room and particularly bathroom was lovely.
However, the television was quite old and the complementary cookies provided were stale. For some reason, housekeeping left their trolley in the hall near our room all night which was not ideal. The room service menu was very limited and no salt and pepper or condiments provided with the meal. Finally the coffee at breakfast was awful, even when we asked for a stronger latte it was weak and watery. So too, the restaurant is overpriced and overrated.
All in all, the hotel has it's charms, but the service needs to improve and perhaps the rates should go down. Had the room been $100 cheaper, I would not have minded the little irritations, but for the price, everything should be near perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holiday_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2006

Chateau Yering – stayed in October 2005 for 3 nights – very pleasant location and the rooms and public rooms very good. They have 2 restaurants which implies a choice but only one is open at any one time. Breakfasts excellent, dinner no better than ok – very fussy and not terribly well done. Whilst there we had two significant problems, neither of which was addressed, and probably showed the hotel in it’s true, pretty ineffective, colours. On the hottest day of the season the air conditioning in our room failed. Lots of prodding at the controls by reception staff got us nowhere. No maintenance on site and only available by telephone (which they tried to charge me for) and it never got fixed. One night there was a wedding party directly below us, and I mean directly below – why in heavens name they put us in that room I don’t know but for a quiet country location no soundproofing on this earth would have done the trick. I’m afraid the medley from Grease pounding after 11pm was too much for me and I complained. For both problems we just dealt with junior reception staff. I asked that a manager be made aware but we heard from no-one during our stay nor since – all very poor and quite disgraceful

Stayed: October 2005
7  Thank cotswoldstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 地理位置較偏遠,預約計程車往返較方便
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank danealkitty異想世界
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: alles mit Blick aufs Tal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGLFlensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank 8season
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SharkCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
5.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
561 reviews
16.5 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Yering Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Yering Hotel

Address: 42 Melba Hwy, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yering
Price Range: £179 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Yering Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Yering Hotel a Victorian Mansion built in 1854 and restored to 1997 is set in the heart of the Yarra Valley, Victoria's premier wine region. Chateau Yering Hotel is a gracious five star hotel featuring 32 luxurious suites individually decorated with antiques and fine furnishings. This welcoming property offers unsurpassed fine dining in Eleonore's Restaurant while Sweetwater Cafe serves breakfast daily and lunch Wednesday to Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Yering Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Yering Historic Hotel
Chateau Yering Historic Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing