We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yering Gorge Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“stay here!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Perfect stay in Yarra Valley. Beautiful accommodation and surroundings, and wonderful hosts. Waking up to stunning scenery & complete peace was an absolute joy & unforgettable. Do not hesitate to stay here - it will be the best decision you make.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ktailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternGolfClub, Assistant Cottages Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you KTailor for sharing your experience of Yering Gorge Cottages. Hopefully you got to spend some time enjoying all the food and wine the Yarra Valley has to offer.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Sharon Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    26
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
100
150
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Absolutely loved this place. Such a tranquil area to stay, animals right outside your door, welcoming staff on arrival, daily newspaper and breakfast basket. Our 1 bedroom cottage was huge, large kitchen/dining/lounge with wood fire, big bedroom and a modern bathroom with a huge corner spa. Close to lovely wineries, chocolaterie, cheese tastings and shops for general items. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsharry007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternGolfClub, Assistant Cottages Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you mrsHarry 007 for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are so lucky here in the Yarra Valley to have some of the finest food and wine establishments in the country and we are glad you got to sample just a few of them!

Looking forward to seeing you back at Yering Gorge Cottages again in the near future.

Sharon Campbell
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Such a lovely getaway and so close to the city too! We booked the "Wine, Woodfires & Wildlife" package and it was well worth it. We had the waterfall cottage and it was very private and romantic. The Roos came out to play everyday right up to the cottage, which was fun. Beautiful walks and relaxing green views.. the property is beautiful and well maintained. It's a great place for couples, families or a group of friends...
The lunch at DeBortoli Locale restaurant was delicious too!

Room Tip: Loved the Waterfall Cottage..nice and private. The Rangeview Cottage has beautiful views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Foodie_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternGolfClub, Assistant Cottages Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We do appreciate the time you have taken I_S_travels to review the property. Feedback regarding our packages is important especially when we are including other services & restaurants in The Yarra Valley that we recommend.

Seeing a kangaroo in the wild for the first time is special and I pleased you managed to see the white kangaroo (Marshmallow) too.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sharon Campbell
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This place is gorgeous! The tranquility that envelopes you the moment you step out of the car, the beautiful sunrise and sunset, the kangaroos that comes out to feed in the morning and evening, everything about this place is beautiful. Even the long drive in on uneven road adds a rustic charm to it. It is picture perfect. The ongoing construction nearby didn't bother us a single bit.

Sharon, our host, is a very smiley and friendly lady. She showed us to our cottage and ran things through. Felt extremely at ease and homely with her warm welcome. Much needed on a really cold winter's day!
We stayed at the Winneke for 4 days from 18-21 June with our 2 little girls and they were absolutely thrilled to see the kangaroos right outside our cottage's window. A breakfast hamper is provided and bread and papers are delivered daily.

We went to Healesville Sanctuary, wanted to visit Lake Mountain but didn't due to insufficient snow, hung out at Lilydale and Healesville, wine and dine at De Bortoli, visited the chocolaterie and went trout fishing at Buxton. It's a great base for all the activities we did. We even BBQ at the balcony in the evenings and it was just perfect.
Infact, everything is perfect abt this place. Couldn't ask for more.

I was really sad to leave this place after 4 nights. All good things come to an end and I really hope there will be a chance for me to visit Yering Gorge Cottages again.

To add on, initial liaising via email for booking enquiries wasn't very smooth with some emails left unreplied till I kept asking. Did felt stumped with service and unwelcomed even before the booking was confirmed. However, am glad everything turned out great for us eventually.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternGolfClub, Assistant Cottages Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
What a fantastic review! Thank you gingerleaf for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and got to enjoy everything that we and the Yarra Valley have to offer.

Looking forward to hearing from you again in the near future and welcoming you back to Yering Gorge Cottages.

Sharon Campbell
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here recently with my husband and our three month old daughter. We were looking to get out of the house for the weekend for the first time with her, and wanted somewhere we would enjoy, not just somewhere to stay to see the sights.

The cottage we stayed in was very clean and tidy. It had everything we needed to be able to cook a simple dinner as we didn't want to take our baby out at night. We received a phone call a few days before arrival to ask if we needed anything specific for our baby - very thoughtful!
The host was very welcoming on arrival, showing us around the cottage and giving suggestions on where to go for day trips.

We LOVED having a real fire to light and enjoy in the evenings. Also, the spa bath was absolutely lovely. It was pretty fantastic to see so many wild kangaroos outside the cottage too.

The breakfast hamper was very good - more than enough and saved having to find somewhere to have breakfast on the road - this was very handy for us. I especially like the use of all local produce.

The cottages are only a short trip from the city. We had a wonderful stay, pity the weather wasn't good enough to try the walking tracks, but - there is always next time! I have recommended the cottages to my parents group and will be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternGolfClub, Assistant Cottages Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much Louise B for posting a wonderful review about our beautiful property in the Yarra Valley.

The real fireplaces are a treat for our guests that add to the ambiance and relaxation of our accommodation.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you back soon at Yering Gorge Cottages.

Sharon Campbell
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely out favourite place to relax! Been here for the 3rd time. Perfect family getaway for those looking for serenity surrounded by wild kangaroos (including the two white rare ones!), native birds, we even saw a platypus during our walking. For those who want to be active, 3 walking trails available ranging from 1 km (river walk, great for the kids) - 3 km. Yarra Valley wineries are close by. The cottages are 4 - 5 stars standard, we stayed in Candlebark 2 bedroom cottages with spa (the kids loved having bath there, lots of windows and glass doors to look at the surrounding nature. Plenty of freebies such as breakfast of bread (given fresh every morning along with newspaper), jams, cereals and lots more, juice. Upon arrival we're provided with chocolates and local wine from the Yarra Valley region. The place has a reception place to hold a small function (weddings, conferences, anniversaries). Couldn't ask for better hosts of Ross and Sharon who have always been attentive, personal, and perfectionist when it comes to serving guests. Thank you guys, you never disappoint us.... Convenient travel time for us, only 1 hour from Melbourne. Even better, they're developing 27 holes golf course now at the front without compromising the peacefulness of the cottages behind it. Next time, my husband would want to play golf there as well :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternGolfClub, Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Sherly Z,

Thank you for such a great review. As always, both Sharon and I really enjoy looking after you and the family.

I often mention to all of our guests that there is a chance of seeing the platypus when on the river walk, so it is great to hear that you were able to see one.

Sherly, thank you also for mentioning that we are a perfect family location, as often we hear that there is not enough family orientated accommodation close to Melbourne. It was also pleasing to know that even during winter, your family all went out in the fresh air and enjoyed our bush walks.

We are looking forward to your next visit, hopefully our golf course will be finished by the next time your staying with us and your husband can enjoy a round of golf!

Kindest Regards

Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family: husband, son, daughter in law and grand daughter, during June for 3 nights. The kangaroos around the cottage were delightful. The central location has ease of access to many attractions, especially numerous Yarra vineyards, Lilydale, national parks, like the Dandenongs, and the National Rhondodendrum Gardens.
The Yering cottages facilities include super comfortable beds and a well appointed lounge. Heating, an open fire and hear pump, was very good and much appreciated as we experienced a cold snap. The area provides fresh produce and great wine so we chose to cook and eat in on those cold winter nights. The only issue I had were the cooking facilities at the cottage.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Platoinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternGolfClub, Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Platoinsingapore,

It is very refreshing to hear from a guest about some the magnificent gardens and national parks close to Yering Gorge Cottages. We often hear about how great the local wineries are, yet very seldom do we here about the other great attractions such as our gardens and parks.

It is also pleasing to hear that all 5 of you enjoyed your mid-year break with us. We have many Singaporean families visit us during the June and December school breaks, I will make sure that I remind them to visit the local gardens, national parks and fruit farms.

I hope you can come back and visit us again in very near future, and thank you for posting such a great review.

Kindest Regards

Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yering
2.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
541 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
334 reviews
18.0 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
145 reviews
5.6 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yering Gorge Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yering Gorge Cottages

Property: Yering Gorge Cottages
Address: 215 Victoria Rd, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Yering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yering Gorge Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Victoria’s food and wine playground and just 45 minutes from Melbourne, is Yering Gorge Cottages by The Eastern Golf Club. Nestled into the hillside, alongside the Yarra River, overlooking the golf club, Yering Gorge Cottages includes 13 self-contained, luxuriously appointed, 1, 2 and 4 bedroom cottages. A suite of outdoor experiences and recreational activities are available to complement your stay including golf, tennis, bushwalking, mountain biking, fishing and Segway’s; all undertaken within the Club’s 120 acre Nature Reserve, home to over 200 Eastern Grey Kangaroos, Deer, Platypus, Echidna, Wombats and over 200 species of native bird life, providing guests with the rare opportunity to get up close and personal with some of Australia’s most iconic wildlife. Guests of Yering Gorge Cottages have priority access to Australia’s newest golf course, The Eastern Golf Club, designed by Greg Norman, and positioned in the stunning setting of the Yering Gorge, where bushland intersects with the Yarra River against the backdrop of the Christmas Hills and Dividing Ranges. With the first 18 of a planned 27 hole championship course already opened, The Eastern Golf Club has established a beautiful country estate within the peaceful environment of the Yarra Valley and on the doorstep of some of Victoria’s best wineries, eateries and tourism experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yering Gorge Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing