We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such great food in a peaceful setting”

Goanna Cafe and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Quindalup
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Australian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A family run bush café serving gourmet breakfast, seasonally inspired lunch, homemade cakes & organic fair trade coffee. Goanna Gallery features beautiful Australian design and quality gift ware.All this surrounded by native Australian bushland and our Sculpture Walk; a natural playground for all ages. Our menu changes seasonally and reflects the fantastic local produce of the Margaret River-Yallingup region.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such great food in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a really delicious meal here during our trip to the south-west last week.
After ordering our food we browsed the lovely gallery gift shop, and loved the tasteful selection of goods on display. There is so much to choose from, and I chose a really pretty pendant which was a gift for my birthday, and a hand-made beautifully dyed scarf as a present to take home. These articles had been hand-crafted, and were very reasonably priced for the quality.

When lunch was ready we were called to our table by the friendly waitress. I had the steak sandwich, which was oozing with flavour, with a really tasty avocado dressing. We were assured that all ingredients are locally sourced and home made at Goanna. To follow we shared the wonderful orange polenta cake and excellent coffee.

The natural bush ambience, and friendliness of the kitchen team and waitress made our experience memorable. Thank-you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    85
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
161 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My family and I visited for afternoon tea after viewing the lunch menu online and realising my Aussie family would not find anything suitable for them to eat here. We ordered scones with jam and cream for afternoon tea and received stale scones. The jam and cream were acceptable. The service was very slow even though there was only one other small group present. We viewed the gallery and everything was too expensive. My daughter liked a women's wallet only to find it was $160! I would not recommend this café.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 711happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goanna C, Manager at Goanna Cafe and Gallery, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are sorry to hear of that you are disappointed with your recent experience at Goanna Cafe and Gallery. A great deal of time and research goes into creating our menu to ensure that we offer a selection of fresh, locally sourced ingredients. We take pride in ensuring that our menu offers a selection of items that reflect the region and appeal to a wide audience. In regards to not offering menu items for the 'Typical Australian Family' we do offer a Pulled Pork Sandwich (Burger) and Steak Sandwich which could both be deemed as traditional 'Aussie Fodder' however, feedback is always well appreciated and we are constantly reviewing our menu. Please also note that our scones are baked fresh daily and any issue with the product at the time could have been dealt with appropriately by our friendly staff with an offer of either a substitute or refund if unsatisfactory.

In regards to the selection of products on offer in our Gallery. Our Gallery aims to primarily support Australian made and hand crafted products. The focus in our Gallery (as in our kitchen) is to support local industry and we take pride in offering quality Australian Design and Art. The leather wallet that you refer to is one of these such products. Created from hand (vegetable) dyed and hand worked Australian Leather. We appreciate that cheaper, similar products that are mass produced offshore are available elsewhere and that not everyone values supporting local industry (and the cost of Australian handmade) but we take pride in supporting truly Australian products that showcase our homegrown creative talent and are timeless in design and quality. We also offer a wide choice of many other products at various price points that offer our customers something to suit all budgets.

Thanks for your taking the time to review us on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
1 review
“Great setting, great vegan food”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A very exciting cafe with great food and a really fantastic setting. Being a vegan, it is sometimes hard to get exciting food in restaurants etc, but here I was pleasantly surprised. I ordered the 'Fattoush salad' with no curd and it was delicious. In the spacious garden seating area, there are an assortment of animal sculptures which create a unique setting. The decor is very rustic and comforting which make the entire cafe and its surroundings very enjoyable to explore or to enjoy for a long while while seated within the well thought out garden area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goanna C, Manager at Goanna Cafe and Gallery, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for your review and we are glad that we could meet with your dietary requirements and that you could enjoy the beautiful surroundings of our unique venue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Same as usual!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have visited Goanna on numerous occasions in the past two years and I can happily report that this cafe continues to grow both in ambience and food standard.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rena4155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't be in a hurry”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The breakfast was average and reasonable but the service was hideously slow. When it takes 25 minutes to get a coffee that's pushing it for me and not just once but twice. Quick suggestion as well change your blend it burns too easily.

Helpful?
Thank Dsfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goanna C, Manager at Goanna Cafe and Gallery, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi DSfoody thank you for your feedback. We apologise for what must have been a frustrating experience. All our staff work hard at Goanna to minimise wait times on busy days and strive to ensure that all our customers have an enjoyable experience. We get consistently great feedback on our coffee, but your comments DSfoody have been duly noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goanna Cafe and Gallery also viewed

Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Dunsborough, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Goanna Cafe and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing