We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Re-launched hotel like new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Re-launched hotel like new”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having stayed at this hotel many times over the years, I have seen it go through many phases of its life. This was my first stay since its re-launch a few weeks ago, and I must say, it's like a brand new hotel. Now typical of Rendezvous all over Australia, NZ, and Asia, it has a pleasant bar, Straits cafe and a few restaurant specialties relating to the group's Singapore roots. All new rooms, spacious as always, and all the tired old furniture and decor has been replaced with everything sparkling and new. Back to being the west coast's showcase hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean. The sunset is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    1,365
    640
    259
    185
See reviews for
558
1,668
194
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As part of our world wind adventure in WA we had some downtime in Scarborough and headed to the Ren hotel. I must admit we had a few reservations after reading the reviews on here - well DONT READ THEM. This hotel was AWESOME. We had a room on floor 22 that overlooked the beach and was simply amazing!!! The room was massive and lush. Couldn't fault the hotel staff either, I guess the only thing I could have picked fault at was the car parking at it wasn't clearly marked, however this is a minor, minor thing. There are plenty of restaurants near the hotel and a few clubs and pubs!!! Great great hotel!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for level 22 and above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Points15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew R, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Points15,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am so glad that your experience with us went above and beyond your expectations, which is what we would like for each of our valued guests. I shall pass on your kind words to the team.

We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a great Three night stay here. The location, and the view from the 22nd floor, was amazing The room and the bed (and the pillows) were very spacious and comfortable, and the staff were very helpful and professional. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Just relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondielikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked a four night stay here through Qantas and unfortunately the hotel didn't meet expectations. On arrival the manager initially refused to check me in as my photo ID had expired. I provided several other forms of ID (including my staff ID from work) as back up and finally he agreed. All so strange. I had requested a quiet room and my room overlooked the highway and busy cross-street. I could hear the traffic roar as soon as I walked in. The room itself, while titled a 'deluxe king' was decidedly standard with sparse furnishings, and most disappointing of all, no chair on the large balcony. All of the hotel's publicity materials showed loungers on the balconies and I was really looking forward to sitting on the balcony watching the sunset in WA. When I asked the manager about this he said that patrons tended to throw the furniture off balconies so they had to take the furniture away ....! I wondered, what kind of patrons does this hotel attract ...!!! The manager then said that their new regulations have told them to not have balconies (this didn't improve my perception, I just thought to myself that there would be NO reason to stay here at all). I asked to be moved to a quieter room on the other side of the hotel and after explaining the false advertising the manager agreed. It was also bland, tired and sparse ... and a bit quieter. The room information booklet was out of date ... why continue to advertise a 'pillow selection service' and then not offer it? And when asked about it say "oh, yeah, we only have one type of pillow but I'll see if I can find something for you" and then never get back to me? Be aware they only have very big high hard pillows! On check-out the front-desk staff were just odd, no enthusiasm to assist, and it basically summed up the hotel .. tired and listless.

Room Tip: Request a high level room on the north side of the hotel as there is a bit less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyMissL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew R, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear SydneyMissL,

Thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay. I am very disappointed to hear you thought the hotel was tired and listless.

We do take identifying our guests quite seriously to ensure that privacy and safety is maintained at all times, this is typical Hotel procedure. But I understand how it may have come across as invasive and I apologise that this was the impression given, we do want our guests to feel at home at all times.

I apologise that your first room was not as quiet as you would have liked. We only allocate rooms the day of check in as room availability may vary depending on occupancy.
There is no excuse for the out-dated information in the rooms, nor for the poor service you received. I shall be following up with these issues to ensure they do not occur again. I would like to ask you to contact me at m.richardson@rendezvoushotels.com to further discuss your experience and to see if we can improve on your first experience at the Hotel.

Thank you again for your time and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is in need of some love and attention but generally its ok, mainly set up for business conferences etc the rooms are a good size, and are clean and comfortable.There are good eating places within the hotel complex and they are reasonably priced. At the right price the hotel is worth a stay.Located on the beach front it offer beach walks and entertainment on the weekends and has a patroled beach. Public transport is readily available outside.
The down sides are public car parking garage with little security A shower bath tub in some rooms. and a night club next door.If you like the beach, or a nice swimming pool then a stay is worth it.

Room Tip: The 10th floor is really the 1st which is the pool and gym area. So if you want views its best above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winmac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice hotel in a cracking location. Room was nice, plenty of space, great views over the ocean,

Free parking under the building, make sure you ask for an Ocean facing room to enjoy the view.

I stayed for 5 nights for business, will def stay there again next year.

Good bar with a great range of drinks. Room service was also good quality..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Probably recently renovated hotel with a modern theme. The lobby is large and new. At check in by a friendly lady, we were told the car park charge is waived and we can get to use wi-fi FOC too. That was a pleasant surprise.

The room is very spacious, renovated and comfortable. It has a small balcony which faces the pool and the sea. It was romantic to wake up to the sea surf daily. We watched sunset from the Observation Deck on level 24. The panaromic views of the coast and the beach are beautiful. The service was good throughout.

The only complaint is the creeky bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustardSeed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth's central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area's main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing