We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2012 visit to Observation Rise, Scarborough”
Review of Observation Rise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Observation Rise
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have just finished staying at 183, west coast highway, Observation Rise. It was really excellent and I am definitely going to recommend it to others with families. We had a three bed, two bath apartment with large balcony overlooking the pool, ocean and waterfall. The pool even had a sandy beach end, which amused out little ones for hours. Very secure and good value when taking into consideration the facilities like tennis courts, pools indoor and out, spa, saunas, gym etc. There was even good internet and a fold up cot in the unit! As most of the units are privately owned, there are no staff on the desk out of office hours but we did not find this a problem.

Room Tip: Three different standards as all are privately owned and individually furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed in Observation Rise for 3 nights with colleagues while on a business trip to Perth. The standard of accommodataion is superb, with expensively furnished apartments of a very high standard. It was also a real pleasure to have a fully-equipped kitchen where everything seemed to be at one's finger tips, and our apartment was a much better choice than hotel style accommodation. Only negative on the room was the surprising lack of cable television.

As good as the apartment was, the real highlight was the view. 180 degrees of beachfront and ocean, with a spacious balcony to sit back with a glass of wine to take in the sunset. The main bedroom opened right up over the waves, with the only noise in the evening the sound of the surf.

Restaurants and cafes are within walking distance, and facilities seemed good, though it was too cold for swimming in the rather impressive looking pool. For the sports-inclined, the tennis courts looked in good condition and seemed to have good availability.

Rooms were not serviced and I saw no sign of staff throughout the entire stay.

On the whole, a really good option and a location that I would seriously consider for a family holiday in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I am shocked to see incorrectly posted information about Observation Rise, 183 West Coast Highway, Scarborough. Observation Rise is a wonderful complex which offers a range of self contained accommodation packages but IS NOT a hotel and DOES NOT have any restaurant facilites. Those reviews clearly belong to the Rendezvous Observation City hotel, which is outdated and not in any way connected the property at 183 West Coast Highway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveller255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2006

We stayed at Observation Rise and thought it was excellent. Awesome ocean views, lots to do and the facilities are great and very friendly. Tennis courts, spa, sauna gym, lagoon pool and indoor pool. Thoroughly recommend it!

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank mooster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

We stayed here and fell in love with the hotel, it had everything we needed and especially the lagoon, was a bit too cold to go in, but lovely to sit around and relax.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodstar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2005

We stayed at Observation Rise for 9 days in Jan when we visited and found that the 5 star hotel was really a 3 and a half star hotel...AVERAGE. However, when wanting to stay near the beach in Perth, Observation Rise is definitely the best accomodation. We walked several other hotels along the coast in Scarborough before deciding on this hotel. In addition, Qantas members get discounted rooms.
The room was very spacious, barely filled with any furniture and the in-room movies were only working some of the time. The only thing exciting were the wonderful views and close locality to late night bars and eateries.
With a 5 star rating you expect something beyond average.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank missyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
302 reviews
Scarborough
Ramada Vetroblu Scarborough Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indian Ocean Hotel
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
217 reviews
Seashells Scarborough
#1 of 9 in Scarborough
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observation Rise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observation Rise

Address: Observation Rise Apartments 183 West Coast Hwy, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Observation Rise offers fabulous holiday accommodation including two and three bedroom apartments in the popular coastal suburb of Scarborough in Western Australia. You can choose to holiday in a self-contained apartment which is available for a minimum stay of seven days. The two and three bedroom apartments all have panoramic views of the stunning coast plus you can enjoy a range of first class amenities and facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, heated indoor pool, outdoor tropical lagoon pool, spa, sauna, tennis courts (full and half court), barbeque areas and more. Observation Rise is also situated close to local restaurants, cafes, and bars with easy access and direct transport routes to a host of attractions in Perth, Fremantle and Hillarys. If you like the idea of waking to the sound of the surf each morning and winding down at the end of the day to a beautiful sunset, contact the friendly team at Observation Rise to make your booking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
All Seasons Observation Rise Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing