We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back again.”
Review of Observation Rise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Observation Rise
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Will be back again.”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We booked 2 rooms here - one was a 3 bedroom (ground floor) and the other was a 2 bedroom on the 4th floor overlooking the ocean. Apartments were nicely spaced out for both 2 and 3 bedroom. There was a dryer, washer, oven, kettle - everything was catered for. I had asked for a replacement kettle as the one in the apartment was black and looked like fungus had dried up on the inside - a new one appeared outside my door the next day!

Both apartments had showers and jacuzzi as well which was great fun for my kids when they weren't in the pool.The pool was quite nice with a sandy base and sunbeds scattered around. There was also an indoor pool with heated water (I believe).The place is quite well equipped all round - indoor gym looking out into the ocean. Equipment in the gym might need a little TLC but does the job.

The place is safe as you need a fob to get through the doors inside the building all round. You'll also need a fob to get in and out of the parking lot. I was glad that I chose this place as it not only is very conveniently by the beach but also a short walk to the mall which has a supermarket, cafe and chemist. What I wasn't aware was how expensive everything was compared to London!

In general, I was quite happy with all and Perth is very child friendly (I have a 2 and 5 year old). My only gripe would be that cleanliness could be upped a notch. Otherwise, would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Specify if you prefer an ocean view - it is actually amazing!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeus697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom apartments (M311) overlooking the pool and ocean views. This particular apartment had a huge balcony/courtyard which our 4 year old son loved playing cars out on. Brilliant sunsets right from the lounge! The apartment itself was spacious, modern and clean although there was some obvious maintenance issues when we stayed there but this did not detract from the overall feel of the unit. Facilities are fantastic. Gymnasium was well equiped and the choice of 3 pools is a bonus.

Fantastic location. We based ourselves at this complex whilst we looked for something more permanent and found we were pretty central to everything.

The only gripe I have is that for 3 of the 14 days we stayed here there was scaffolding and painters on our balcony. This was a total intrusion on our privacy and we had to have the curtains drawn the whole time. We weren't warned of this at the time and when I approached the lady at the front desk to enquire about how long the painters were expected to be on our balcony the response was very cold and indifferent. No apology whatsoever.

In saying that though, I can't fault anything else about my stay at Observation Rise (do not confuse this with the Rendevous Hotel - Observation City which is on the next block). I would highly reccomend this complex for anyone looking for a spacious self contained unit. We are going to stay here again in January till our permanent accomodation comes vacant.

Room Tip: Unit M311 is very spacious, more than we needed for a family of 4! Facing the ocean so you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SchultzFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have just finished staying at 183, west coast highway, Observation Rise. It was really excellent and I am definitely going to recommend it to others with families. We had a three bed, two bath apartment with large balcony overlooking the pool, ocean and waterfall. The pool even had a sandy beach end, which amused out little ones for hours. Very secure and good value when taking into consideration the facilities like tennis courts, pools indoor and out, spa, saunas, gym etc. There was even good internet and a fold up cot in the unit! As most of the units are privately owned, there are no staff on the desk out of office hours but we did not find this a problem.

Room Tip: Three different standards as all are privately owned and individually furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed in Observation Rise for 3 nights with colleagues while on a business trip to Perth. The standard of accommodataion is superb, with expensively furnished apartments of a very high standard. It was also a real pleasure to have a fully-equipped kitchen where everything seemed to be at one's finger tips, and our apartment was a much better choice than hotel style accommodation. Only negative on the room was the surprising lack of cable television.

As good as the apartment was, the real highlight was the view. 180 degrees of beachfront and ocean, with a spacious balcony to sit back with a glass of wine to take in the sunset. The main bedroom opened right up over the waves, with the only noise in the evening the sound of the surf.

Restaurants and cafes are within walking distance, and facilities seemed good, though it was too cold for swimming in the rather impressive looking pool. For the sports-inclined, the tennis courts looked in good condition and seemed to have good availability.

Rooms were not serviced and I saw no sign of staff throughout the entire stay.

On the whole, a really good option and a location that I would seriously consider for a family holiday in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I am shocked to see incorrectly posted information about Observation Rise, 183 West Coast Highway, Scarborough. Observation Rise is a wonderful complex which offers a range of self contained accommodation packages but IS NOT a hotel and DOES NOT have any restaurant facilites. Those reviews clearly belong to the Rendezvous Observation City hotel, which is outdated and not in any way connected the property at 183 West Coast Highway.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2006

We stayed at Observation Rise and thought it was excellent. Awesome ocean views, lots to do and the facilities are great and very friendly. Tennis courts, spa, sauna gym, lagoon pool and indoor pool. Thoroughly recommend it!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank mooster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hedland, western australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2006

We stayed here and fell in love with the hotel, it had everything we needed and especially the lagoon, was a bit too cold to go in, but lovely to sit around and relax.

  • Liked — spacious apartment
  • Stayed November 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodstar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Indian Ocean Hotel
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
201 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seashells Scarborough
Seashells Scarborough
#1 of 9 in Scarborough
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observation Rise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observation Rise

Property: Observation Rise
Address: Observation Rise Apartments 183 West Coast Hwy, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Observation Rise offers fabulous holiday accommodation including two and three bedroom apartments in the popular coastal suburb of Scarborough in Western Australia. You can choose to holiday in a self-contained apartment which is available for a minimum stay of seven days. The two and three bedroom apartments all have panoramic views of the stunning coast plus you can enjoy a range of first class amenities and facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, heated indoor pool, outdoor tropical lagoon pool, spa, sauna, tennis courts (full and half court), barbeque areas and more. Observation Rise is also situated close to local restaurants, cafes, and bars with easy access and direct transport routes to a host of attractions in Perth, Fremantle and Hillarys. If you like the idea of waking to the sound of the surf each morning and winding down at the end of the day to a beautiful sunset, contact the friendly team at Observation Rise to make your booking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
All Seasons Observation Rise Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing