We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shall miss it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seashells Scarborough
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Shall miss it”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for 12 days and were very happy with our stay. On arrival we had a warm helpful welcoming and were given the keys to our apartment, WOW! what a view to look at every morning, the apartment itself could perhaps done with a little bit of T&C in places but it had everything we could need for our stay and was very clean and comfortable, the pool was great for our son and it had plenty of sun loungers to relax on. Also there was a outdoor sauna was great to use and then dip into the pool to cool off. If you are holidaying at scarborough and looking for somewhere to stay then this is your place, you will not be disappointed. Seashells thank you for a pleasant stay, we will miss you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yatna110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    137
    50
    27
    17
See reviews for
184
74
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at these apartments & cannot recommend them enough.
Checking in is easy and the 2 ladies on reception were smiling happy & told us everything we needed to know answered all our questions including tips on what was going on around the resort.
The rooms are great with everything we need.
The pools small but safe clean & tidy 1 has it's own BBQ facility.
Best of all the location Perfect the views the room breath taking.
17/12/2013


Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank neil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This place is perfectly situated but I felt this meant some complacency had set in. The decor was tired, it was impossible to get a decent shower and the barbecue didn't work. We reported this and we were recommended to use another BBQ in an adjacent block. Even more than this these the apartments are not secure & people came in off the street to use the pool. For example on one occasion there was a pool party at 2am and on another evening 20 people came in and used the pool and had a picnic. There were cobwebs in the sitting room which meant it didn't look clean and there was barely enough crockery or glasses for 4 of us. All in all a very poor experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeDandelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSS, General Manager at Seashells Scarborough, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Good Afternoon Elizabeth,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here with us. It is disappointing to learn that you have not left having had a good Seashells experience. We always endeavour to ensure our standards are upheld to the highest degree to ensure the comfort and wellbeing of our guests at all times. Should anything arise during your stay we always encourage any queries to be reported to our friendly reception staff in order for the issues to be promptly rectified.

Here at Seashells Scarborough Beach we have a full team on deck 7 days a week consisting of housekeeping, maintenance and front desk staff, they are here to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. We also have a 24 hour caretaker who can be contacted to attend at any time should any queries arise after office hours.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Seashells. Do not hesitate to contact me on 9341 6644 should you wish to discuss.

Kind regards
Jemma Moran
Seashells Scarborough Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had 8 (5 adults plus 3 kids) and got the 3 bedroom apartment for 4 nights.

The outlook of the Sandcastles building is dated but I assure you that it's well kept and clean. First impressions of the apartment is that we have everything we need. 3 rooms with a queen sized bed in 2 of them and 2 singles in the last. We had a jacuzzi in the master bedroom toilet with very very nice. The kitchen is well equipped with an normal oven, microwave oven, ceramic cooker, full set of utensils. cooking ware (pots and pans included) and cutlery. Everything is looking good so far. Parking is convenient as there's an underground car park for residents There's also parking just in front of the apartment which is free of charge. The view from the balcony was magnificent which overlooks the Indian Ocean. The staff were friendly and managed to get us checked in an hour earlier than the standard 2pm check in time.

Wifi is not free so do check with the counter staff on how to activate it before you head to your apartment. Coles is just next to the apartment which is less than 2 mins away if you walked slowly. Just take note of their operating hours (especially on weekends). We got spreads, sausages and breads and that saved us quite a bit. Meals in Perth aren't cheap unless you are constantly eating Domino's or Red Rooster.

Overall this is a great place to stay if you visit Perth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel_leecf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was here recently for 6 nights (8 November - 14 November 2013). I was visiting my son and his girlfriend who live in Scarborough. I opted for a 2 bedroom apartment. I was placed in 107 on the first floor with a very large verandah which captured sensational daytime views of the beach and sensational sunsets. The apartment was very large and well equipped. I agree some of the furnishings were a little dated but it was very clean and well presented. The bedding was sublime. If I was to be picky I would say that the paint needs to be freshened up but overall I thought it was amazing value for money. I paid approximately $235 dollars a night. The only real problem was a little noise from the people next door and a privacy screen between verandahs wouldnt go astray. Overall though I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesrollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had stayed here 10 years ago and had a very pleasant experience. They were our 1st choice of accommodation this time around when I booked our Perth trip. Unfortunately, I had booked the wrong month (for 2 of the hotels) for our trip. I discovered my mistake when the booking agent called to say that I was a 'no show' and that I would be charged accordingly. I emailed the hotel and apologised for the oversight and enquired if I could have the date altered to the following month. I received a rather curt email the following day asking me to deal directly with the booking agent concerned. I am aware that Seashells is not obligated in any way to do so as per hotel's policy but it would have been greatly appreciated if they had accommodated my request. I had made the same mistake with another hotel in Margaret River but the Proprietors were very kind to alter the reservation to the following month as she said there was a vacancy for the date I had requested. I have been in the hospitality service for many years and would know how a customer feels when they are accommodated.

I was charged with a no-show but emailed the hotel again to see if I could re book for the following month as I know that my husband really loves this property. Taking this into account, it really is a gross oversight on my part and not just a lame excuse as I could have booked with many of the other properties along Scarborough Beach. We stayed there for a couple of nights.

Based on my personal opinion, the service has slipped and leaves much to be desired. The reception and housekeeping staff were all very unfriendly. Most of all, I am very disappointed with the way they have handled my situation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GWalters88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisV6019, Manager at Seashells Scarborough, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Seashells Scarborough. We are always so pleased to welcome back return guests, however in this case we are most disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the reservation process.
Whilst we do empathise with your booking the incorrect dates, unfortunately when reservations are made through third party websites, we are unable to make amendments for you direct at the hotel, as you have paid funds to the third party. We do encourage all guests to carefully check and read their confirmation paperwork when making reservations. We do feel that we have taken the correct channels of communication in this instance; however agree that including yourself in all correspondence could have improved on any confusion or delay in reconfirming your reservation.
Thank you again for your feedback. Should you be travelling to Perth again we would love to welcome you back to Seashells Scarborough and I would be only too pleased to personally take care of your reservation.

Regards
Jemma Moran
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Had 2 rooms 304 and 305 for my family members. Both of these are 2 bedrm service apartments located on the 3rd floor.

1. Apartment were clean and generally comfortable. However do not expect modern furnishings. As per subject title, decent place at a decent price.

2. Wi Fi in the apt as to be bought. However you can purchase a sim card from any telcos eg: telstra, optus, vodafone at around AUD50 and you can get around 1000 dollars of calls and 1gig data which can be shared among friends or family via hotspot.

3. Did not use the pool on the 1st floor but looks pretty nice.

4. The view from my rooms were absolutely breathtaking. You can see and hear the waves just about 30m away from the apartments. The view in the evening and the view in the morning gives a different perspective of life and chilling out at your balcony will definitely make you feel relaxed and free of worries.

5. Supermarket like Coles is within crawling distance. And don't forget to try a bacon and cheese hamburger right beside a fish and chip store near Coles.

I will recommend this to families looking for a few days to chill at this lovely beach.


Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indian Ocean Hotel
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
81 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashells Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Scarborough

Property: Seashells Scarborough
Address: 178 The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seashells Scarborough 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashells Scarborough is located on Western Australia’s Sunset Coast, only a short 15 minute drive from Perth city centre, Fremantle, Hillary’s Harbour and Challenge Stadium. Directly overlooking Scarborough Beach, each Seashells apartment enjoys stunning ocean views from individual and spacious balconies. Whether you’re watching yachts sail by, or simply enjoying the surf and beach – it’s the ultimate place to relax as the sun slowly sets over the Indian Ocean. A short stroll away there are plenty of shops to explore, beachfront cafes, restaurants and lively bars. Our apartments have been renovated in 2011 to create even more unspoilt beach views and up market furnishings, fixtures and fittings. Seashells Scarborough is the national winner of the 2003/04 Australian Tourism Awards, in the category Deluxe Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Seashells Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Seashells Serviced Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing